We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another pretty good Premier Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in East Grinstead
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another pretty good Premier Inn”
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Does what is says on the Tin really. Stayed here for a couple nights with a few friends because it was close to a Wedding we were all invited to. The Hotel is located on quite a busy road and there is quite a bit of traffic noise outside. The rooms were all a good size, fairly big bed, clean with standard Bathroom. As it was summer the room was quite hot, the rooms are not air conditioned but the hotel has provided a desk fan in each room which is better than nothing. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful, they organised Taxi's for us and stored our suitcases on our last day. There is a pub next to the Hotel, they provide breakfast if you want it, we didn't bother but some of our party did and said it was OK, we had dinner and lunch there, service varied massively, I'd be cautious to recommend the pub if they are busy.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    137
    57
    24
    9
See reviews for
109
123
24
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forest Row, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

I last stayed here in 2008 and posted a favourable review of this Premier Inn on that occasion. However, despite the cleanliness still being excellent and the beds very comfortable, we were disappointed.

The staff on reception were not at all friendly and were simply 'going through the motions'. The room was not air conditioned and was ridiculously hot. We hardly slept all night due to the heat, on the two nights we stayed. We were put in a ground floor roadside room and could not therefore leave the windows open overnight. I spoke to a member of staff on our last morning who told me that there had been vacant rooms away from the road, available during our stay. I cannot understand why we were not given one of these.

One minor point, we found it slightly irritating to have been given only enough milk for two drinks, a bit mean!

I have to say I would still recommend this Premier Inn, but only in the winter. I would also hope the staff could be a bit more friendly, last time we stayed they were fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tannoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2010

I stayed at Premier Inn East Grinstead recently with my partner and i was bowled over by the quality of my stay. The staff were amazing help. I couldn't find Lingfield race course on my sat nav so the receptionist printed directions for me.
The room was huge! I have stayed at the Felbridge hotel before and i could fit two of their rooms into one at this Premier Inn.
It isn't particularly modern or cutting edge but in terms of value for money, cleanliness and facilities it is worth a trip back.
Very Impressed!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gleek_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2010

Premier Inn - the same as all the others, does what it says and no frills - almost no water pressure as well! Shower was hopeless. Disappointing. Allow an extra 20 minutes to get out in the morning!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhoebeMathews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2010
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that our hotel met your expectations, we do apologise that you were not entirely satisfied with the water pressure in the shower. Your comments have been noted and will be duly followed up by the Management Team at our hotel. Once again thank you for you review we look forward to welcoming back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gywnedd
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2009

Stayed in room number 5 and we didn't sleep all night due to the bed being hard as rock. We had aches and pains all over in the morning and felt very tired. We complained to the staff on reception who delt with the complaint in a very friendly way and refunded us our money.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florence044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2009
Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn we are committed to providing all our guest with a high level of service and comfort. We are disappointed that you were not entirely satisfied with your room during your stay and you found the bed uncomfortable, however we hope that the refund under our Good Night Guarantee ensured you left us satisfied. Thank you once again for your review we hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2009

We chose this hotel to stay in after attending a wedding reception in East Grinstead.
Room was nice and clean, and quiet, even though it faces the A22.
Very comfortable bed ensured a good sleep, and TV had all the Freeview channels.
Wi-Fi is provided free in all rooms.
Excellent all you can eat breakfast in the on site pub,which will set you up for the day.
Friendly staff on reception, and very helpful.
You can't go wrong for £70 for two people with breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chang88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2009
Thanks for your feedback. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2009

This was our first time in a Premier inn, we were originally booked in at the chequers Inn Hotel in Forest row, but absolutely appalling reviews about the place (on this site) made us cancel.
The premier inn east grinstead is situated on the busy A22, this is either a good or bad thing, bad because of the traffic (this is the south east, after all) but good because you can get pretty much anywhere from here, and to tell the truth we didnt notice any unusal noise levels.
The room was clean with fresh sheets and towels and no sign of previous occupants.
The hotel staff were polite and helpful, we really couldnt fault the place. The complimentry tea/coffee facilities in the room were welcome, we however discovered that the milk in the packets was off. not a problem, the receptionist promptly gave us a jug full from the staff room milk supply, which was great service.
The "all you can eat" Breakfast served at the Star Inn next door was fantastic, you'd have to be seriously picky to find fault. croissants, cereal, juice, limitless tea/coffee, toast, muffins- and then your order is taken for a full English as well! it was all fresh and tasty and serving time was quick despite the fact only one server appeared to be working and had lots to do- she nevertheless was cheerful and helpful with our two young children. For £7.50 the breakfast represents excellent value for money for what you get.
We'd be more than happy to stay with this company again. It;s somewhere to use as a base of operations rather than somewhere to loiter all day killing time. with this is mind it's a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Grinstead
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
1,246 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.5 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
4.2 mi away
Brambletye Hotel
Brambletye Hotel
#2 of 2 in Forest Row
215 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Roebuck Hotel
The Roebuck Hotel
#1 of 2 in Forest Row
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel

Property: Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel
Address: London Road | Felbridge, East Grinstead RH19 2QR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > East Grinstead
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in East Grinstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just half an hour from Hever Castle and the Bluebell Railway - both big draws to this historic town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel East Grinstead
Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel West Sussex, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing