We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looks, Smells and Feels Really Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in East Grinstead
Certificate of Excellence
Saffron walden
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Looks, Smells and Feels Really Clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Very comfortable as to be expected from Premier Inn. The room smelt clean on opening the door and indeed proved to be very clean in both the bathroom and the bedroom. Good sized towels, larger than in some hotels and plenty of hot water. A great night's sleep ensued, helped by double glazing on windows as the hotel does stand close to a main road.
The restaurant next door did not, unfortunately, meet our expectations. The meals we chose were quickly presented and the pies were heavy and not suffiently tasty - a disappointment and so we declined breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back would not overlook a main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverTop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastGrinsteadPI, Manager at Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your review on Premier Inn East Grinstead.

I am happy to hear that you had a very comfortable stay with us. The Housekeeping Team work extremely hard to maintain high levels of the bedroom cleanliness you encountered. Your kind comments shall be passed on to the Team it is always rewarding for their hard work to be recognised by our Guests.

The Star Inn is a partnership to the Whitbread Group, they are owned by The Spirit Group. However, I am sad to here that this put you off the Breakfast, I can assure you that the Breakfast would have been up to the Premier Inn Brand Standard. If you paid and were not given a refund for your breakfast please get in contact with us directly on 01342 326089 and we can proceed this for you. Your feedback will be passed on to the Pub, if you would like to speak to The Star Inn please feel free to call us and we can give you their contact details.

Kind Regards,

Sara Pease
Operations Manager
Premier Inn
East Grinstead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    133
    57
    23
    8
See reviews for
105
118
22
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Good basic hotel - no frills, such as spa or gym, but excellent service, very clean, quite, good standard of service from pleasant helpful staff. Lovely big bath, nice fluffy towels, excellent hair dryer, very clean and well maintained room and comfy bed and pillows.

Liked the built in bottle opener.

Did not eat here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARYGEE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastGrinsteadPI, Manager at Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on Premier Inn East Grinstead.

I am happy to hear you experienced excellent service from the Team. We are glad you found the room to be of a good standard, with all the necessities that you would need for a comfortable nights stay, including the handy bottle opener and hair dryer. Each Team member works tirelessly to ensure every guest has a good stay with us.

We’d be delighted if you chose to stay with us again.

Kind Regards,

Sara Pease
Operations Manager
Premier Inn
East Grinstead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
116 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We recently stayed here for the weekend and we were extremely pleased with the quality of our stay. We have stayed at this particular Premier Inn before and both the service and accommodation have been consistently good.

Room Tip: We have stayed at the front and rear of the hotel and both were quiet due to the very effective glaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonycaegarw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastGrinsteadPI, Manager at Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review on Premier Inn East Grinstead.

I am enlightened to hear that you were extremely pleased with another one of your stays with us. It is so rewarding for all the Team to hear such good feedback. I will pass on your kind comments to everyone here at East Grinstead Premier Inn, as it drives the Team to continue to work to their high standards.

We would be delighted if you stayed with us again if you are ever in the area!

Kind Regards,

Sara Pease
Operations Manager
Premier Inn
East Grinstead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

I booked online early enough to get a great value room, and having stayed at other Premier Inns ,the hotel was pretty much as I expected. The location is convenient, rooms are clean and plenty of parking.

The only reason I wouldn't rate this as a 5, is that there was nobody to help me with luggage, which was extremely difficult when travelling alone with a 2 month old baby and a months worth of luggage (long trip!). I asked for assistance at reception but was told there was nobody who could help, and the girl on reception was pregnant so couldn't help me (which I totally understand). So I had to struggle with it all myself.

Aside from that, it is a perfectly fine place to stay and good value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastGrinsteadPI, Manager at Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your Review on Premier Inn East Grinstead.

I am pleased to hear that you found your stay to be good value for money. As we are the only budget Hotel in the area you are bound to find some fantastic savings with us.

I am sorry to say that we couldn’t help you with your bags on this occasion, if there were any other Team Members around we would have offered a helping hand!

From all the Team here at East Grinstead we are grateful for your review and glad you had a good place to stay with us.

If you’re ever in the area again, please feel free to make a booking with us directly on 01342 326089.


Kind Regards,

Sara Pease
Operations Manager
Premier Inn
East Grinstead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

the hotel was very clean and comfortable staff very friendly .My wife was in hospital she stayed with me on the second night when she was released from hospital .The staff where so kind and helpful did not eat at the pub near the hotel to dear.nice cafe near by half the price food good .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul444London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastGrinsteadPI, Manager at Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your review on Premier Inn East Grinstead.

I am happy to hear you had a comfortable stay with us and that the Team looked after you and your wife. Each Team member will always try to go that extra mile for all our guests’ individual needs.

All the Team here wish you both well.

Kind Regards,

Sara Pease
Operations Manager
Premier Inn
East Grinstead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here the night before catching early morning flight to Spain, room standard for Premier Inn, clean and comfortable. Excellent position for off site Gatwick parking, actually 4 minutes down the road. asked for alarm call at 3.30am and was told, there was no alarm but could have 'knock', luckily I was up because the 'knock' would not have woken me, however a week later had to stay again due to the snow and was told there was an alarm on the TV. Only issue with the room was there was no socket next to bed, so while charging phone had to get out of bed to answer it. There is no lift if you are on second floor, could be a problem with luggage. Food in restaurant next door was good, but had an issue when it came to paying, the waitress handed me a menu with 2 courses for £9.95 when it came to pay bill was loads more cos the menu was only Mon-Thurs not Fri, argued that it wasn't my fault, waitress gave me (and the next table) the menu, the lady taking the money argued but eventually knocked the price of the sweet off the bill. Was a bit upset that my first nights stay was £29 and 5 days later it was £48!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Levadas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastGrinsteadPI, Manager at Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your review on Premier Inn East Grinstead.

I am glad to hear that you had a good stay with us and found us to be in a convenient location before your flight from Gatwick.

I am sorry to hear that the wake up call wasn’t successful on this occasion, however I am happy to hear that the alarm on the TV was a suitable alternative for your wake up call.

The Team are always willing to go that extra mile for our Guests, a helping hand with your luggage wouldn’t be a problem and the Team would be more than willing to help.

On behalf of the pub I apologise for the confusion and I will be speaking to the Manager to make sure that this is made clear to customers so we can prevent it from happening again in the future. But I am glad to hear that the problem was eventually resolved.

Premier Inn always has the best available rates and on the first occasion your booking would have been made online. This particular booking would have been one of our saver deals. The £29 rooms are subject to availability and must be booked in advance online; this may have been the reason why there was a price difference?

If you ever find yourself flying from Gatwick again, please feel free to make your booking directly with the hotel and call us on 01342 326089 and a Team Member will be delighted to help!

Kind Regards

Sara Pease
Operations Manager
Premier Inn
East Grinstead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed four days, the staff were friendly, especially,Kim on reception . The rooms were kept very clean by the housekeepers, We told the reception that we would come back, and that a good recommendation would be given to all of our friends about the hotel.

My wife told Kim that we had a happy enjoyable time that we would be back, Also the staff in the adjacent restaurant all friendly and professional especially Valentine, Ryan and also the breakfast waiter (a black guy) all very nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mervyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastGrinsteadPI, Manager at Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your delightful feedback on Premier Inn East Grinstead.

I am glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and that the rooms were set to a high standard when you arrived. The housekeepers do work tirelessly to ensure that every room is set to the Premier Inn Brand Standard.

On behalf of all the staff here at Premier Inn East Grinstead and the adjacent pub The Star Inn we would like to thank you for your encouraging comments and they will be personally passed on to Kim, Valentin, Ryan and Lesley.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Sara Pease
Operations Manager
Premier Inn
East Grinstead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Grinstead
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.5 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
4.2 mi away
Brambletye Hotel
Brambletye Hotel
#2 of 2 in Forest Row
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel

Property: Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel
Address: London Road | Felbridge, East Grinstead RH19 2QR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > East Grinstead
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in East Grinstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just half an hour from Hever Castle and the Bluebell Railway - both big draws to this historic town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and Booking.com so you can book your Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel East Grinstead
Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel West Sussex, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing