We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliably excellent, clean comfortable and quiet with a warm welcome.”
Review of Cranston House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cranston House
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I have just booked our 2014 stopover. Our 2013 stay was just as good as in previous years, for which I have already given detailed reviews praising the quiet situation with good off-road parking, clean well-appointed rooms, delicious breakfasts and friendly efficient service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeldomReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranstonhouse, Owner at Cranston House, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for your most pleasing review and your loyalty to Cranston House. We are keen to maintain a high standard which will allow our guests to enjoy their repeated visits. We look forward to meeting you again this year. Regards, Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 86 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed just one night in Cranston, but it was faultless. Huge room, clean and with excellent facilities. We looked at a few places to stay in the area and this was recommended by locals, and it lived up to expectations. Also the slightly unusual for a hotel interior, in our room, gave a personal touch to the place which we liked.

And very importantly - there was no traffic noise or noise from other guests

Room Tip: Pay the extra 5 or £10.00 for a huge room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranstonhouse, Owner at Cranston House, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Hello Ann. We are very pleased that you felt that Cranston House was faultless. Our aim is to provide accommodation that our guests will enjoy and so your comments spur us on to maintain high standards. Do come again to experience more personal touches. Thank you, Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We needed a base in East Grinstead so we could visit our disabled daughter over the Christmas / New Year period. The room was very clean and tidy with tea and coffee facilities provided. The bathroom was clean with modern fittings, the only down side was that the shower worked off the bath taps and not being thermostatically controlled was a bit hit and miss. The welcome was friendly and helpful. I would use the hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranstonhouse, Owner at Cranston House, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Hello Peter, Thank you for your positive comments. The cleaning staff will appreciate your observations about the cleanliness of your room. Thank you for your feedback about the hot/cold water balance in your shower. I have brought in the plumber to solve the problem and he had fitted a pressure reducing valve on the cold supply making it much easier to obtain a range of acceptable temperatures when showering. Do come again and enjoy the new situation.
Brian and all at Cranston House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The owners of this guest house make quality look effortless. stayed for just one night but was the best nights sleep ive had in a hotel/B&B/guest house.
so very welcoming and bright and spacious super king room lovely huge shower .. yummy breakfast very good value for money. if we are ever to return to East Grinsted, we would choose the cranston x thanks guys great job

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranstonhouse, Owner at Cranston House, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Hi Claire. Many thanks for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in the superking room. We will be pleased to welcome you again to Cranston House when you next visit East Grinstead. Come again, Brian and Aileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Was a last minute stop over for a family event. Found the room to be clean and comfortable, had all the facility we would require. Welcome was warm. The breakfast was excellent. We could not find anything to fault. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranstonhouse, Owner at Cranston House, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Hello SammiAdrian. Thank you for your pleasing review. I am glad that you found Cranston House clean and comfortable and with all the facilities that you required. Do visit us again and enjoy another breakfast. Many thanks, Brian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Impressed by the room, bed was very comfortable shower was very good, a well presented room, Brian welcomed me in and was very helpful in finding the place I had come to visit also looking up the train times for my homeward journey, I stayed out until about 2 in the morning, no problem at all, my breakfast was excellent service quick. I shall definitely be back

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranstonhouse, Owner at Cranston House, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Hello Michael. I am glad that you found Cranston House to your liking and that I was able to help you gain the information that you needed. I look forward to your return. Many thanks, Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my family and four of us could find no fault with the facilities and accommodation provided. The organisation was flawless, lovely hosts and the surroundings to the hotel was lovely and quiet. Very glad we ended up staying here & I'd definitely recommend this place

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Berrysrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranstonhouse, Owner at Cranston House, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Hello Mr & Mrs Berry. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Cranston House and that it proved to be most appropriate accommodation while you were visiting places in this area. Do come again and stay with us when you visit more sites in the south East. Best wishes Brian & Aileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these East Grinstead hotels
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
1,377 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel
Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel
#3 of 4 in East Grinstead
407 reviews
3.1 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gothic House
Gothic House
#5 of 7 in East Grinstead
68 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Cranston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranston House

Address: Cranston House Cranston Road, East Grinstead RH19 3HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > East Grinstead
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in East Grinstead
Price Range: $83 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranston House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cranston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranston House East Grinstead, West Sussex, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing