We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable.”
Review of Cranston House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cranston House
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed one night in order to attend my sister's 60th and niece's 40th combined party in East Grinstead. The property was close enough to walk into town and back for the party which took place at the Crow's Nest.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranstonhouse, Owner at Cranston House, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Hello Joe. Thank you for your positive review of Cranston House. I am glad that you found it's location convenient for visiting the centre of the town and the Crow's Nest. We look forward to receiving you again next time you need accommodation in East Grinstead. Brian Linacre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 85 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

Although we only stayed for 1 night we were made very welcome by Brian and Aileen and would definitely stay at Cranston House again if in the area.
Good location for many places of interest and good locals pubs and restaurants.
..

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank griffon36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranstonhouse, Owner at Cranston House, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Hello Griffon36.

Thank you for your positive review. We will be very pleased to welcome you back to Cranston House. We have just upgraded again the information in the guest rooms about places of interest, local pubs and restaurants. Best wishes Aileen and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed one night whilst on business in East Grinstead. Room 7 at the top was well kitted out. Great to have hot chocolate on offer as well as coffee. A good size wardrobe, comfortable bed and everything as it should be. Even extras like somewhere to hang your coat and a small fridge with cold drinks. Had to be careful not to bang my head on sloping roof in room / bathroom. Shower was rather weak powered, but adequate. Breakfast was really good and the system of ordering the night before seemed to work really well. Owners seemed very friendly. Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hisimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranstonhouse, Owner at Cranston House, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Hello Hisimp. We are pleased that you had a comfortable stay at Cranston House and found room 7 appropriately equipped. The breakfast booking system allows us to offer a good variety of cooked options where guests can be served without delay. The water tanks in the loft are about to be raised so when you return I hope you will experience greater water power in the shower. We are very happy that you would recommend Cranston House to other people visiting East Grinstead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My September 2011 review Goes into detail on the reasons we keep returning to this outstanding gem. When we returned in 2012 the access to and size of the off-street parking had been slightly improved making it even better than before. I am already booking this our 2013 visit. Benefits of staying here are convenient access to Gatwick airport and the channel ports, if you want to avoid a long journey at the start of an overseas holiday, But the things we prize the most are its tranquil setting close to the town centre and the superb service from the hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeldomReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranstonhouse, Owner at Cranston House, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Hello SeldomReview. Thank you for your very supportive review. We are pleased that you choose to make repeated visits to Cranston House. We are constantly striving to upgrade the accommodation and hope that you will notice further improvements on your return. We particularly selected Cranston House for our business as it is in a quiet residential area and yet within walking distance of the town centre. We are glad that you enjoy this aspect. Brian & Aileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Difficult to imagine that in a busy 'south of London' dormitory town it would be possible to find peace and tranquility, but drive into the off-road car park, and suddenly the local road and life chaos simply disappears. We were visiting relatives and spent three nights a week ago. the husband-and-wife team were always available, yet discreet. The rooms were clean and well-presented, and the (optional) breakfasts, buffet, or full-English were excellent. The amount of local information available is amazing and re-assuring for someone coming to the area for the first time. All in all we would certainly happily use it again.

Room Tip: Any room is quiet with the position of Cranston, but the views over the back garden extend to the No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarryandKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranstonhouse, Owner at Cranston House, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you for your very pleasing review. You are quite right Cranston House is in a peaceful part of the town even although it is near the centre.

We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy the North Down views and our breakfasts.

Aileen and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Brian and Aileen's English hospitality has made me and my boyfriend want to stay in England indefinitely! We stayed at the Cranston House for 10 days in mid September 2012 and enjoyed every moment of it. It was the 3rd time for him staying there and he has quite a high regard of the place. It was my first time to visit England so I did not know what to expect, yet the moment I walk in the door it felt like home.

Three main things I loved the most while staying there: Friendly owners, great English breakfast(which is now one of my fave); and felt so pampered everyday coming home to a nicely cleaned room including beds made after a long day of exploring London and the English countryside. Would definitely come back!

Room Tip: Room suite #1 has big windows that filters sunlight in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smithlally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranstonhouse, Owner at Cranston House, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Many thanks for your review of your stay at Cranston House. Aileen and I are pleased that you found it an enjoyable base for exploration in London and the English countryside. We look forward to your return to the UK when you will be able to enjoy more English breakfasts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

only stayed one night with 2 friends for a friends wedding, the room was very spacious and bright and clean.
The beds were very comfortable and there was plenty of room for 3 girls to get ready.
reccomend this lovely guest house.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank shelley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranstonhouse, Owner at Cranston House, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

We are glad that you found our large triple room spaceous and comfortable. We hope you have need to visit East Grinstead again when you will be welcome to come and stay at Cranston House for a second time! Aileen and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these East Grinstead hotels
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
1,357 reviews
3.1 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel
Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel
#3 of 4 in East Grinstead
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gothic House
Gothic House
#5 of 7 in East Grinstead
65 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Cranston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranston House

Address: Cranston House Cranston Road, East Grinstead RH19 3HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > East Grinstead
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in East Grinstead
Price Range: $67 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranston House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cranston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranston House East Grinstead, West Sussex, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing