We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful”
Review of Cranston House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cranston House
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Difficult to imagine that in a busy 'south of London' dormitory town it would be possible to find peace and tranquility, but drive into the off-road car park, and suddenly the local road and life chaos simply disappears. We were visiting relatives and spent three nights a week ago. the husband-and-wife team were always available, yet discreet. The rooms were clean and well-presented, and the (optional) breakfasts, buffet, or full-English were excellent. The amount of local information available is amazing and re-assuring for someone coming to the area for the first time. All in all we would certainly happily use it again.

Room Tip: Any room is quiet with the position of Cranston, but the views over the back garden extend to the No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarryandKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranstonhouse, Owner at Cranston House, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you for your very pleasing review. You are quite right Cranston House is in a peaceful part of the town even although it is near the centre.

We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy the North Down views and our breakfasts.

Aileen and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 84 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

Brian and Aileen's English hospitality has made me and my boyfriend want to stay in England indefinitely! We stayed at the Cranston House for 10 days in mid September 2012 and enjoyed every moment of it. It was the 3rd time for him staying there and he has quite a high regard of the place. It was my first time to visit England so I did not know what to expect, yet the moment I walk in the door it felt like home.

Three main things I loved the most while staying there: Friendly owners, great English breakfast(which is now one of my fave); and felt so pampered everyday coming home to a nicely cleaned room including beds made after a long day of exploring London and the English countryside. Would definitely come back!

Room Tip: Room suite #1 has big windows that filters sunlight in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smithlally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranstonhouse, Owner at Cranston House, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Many thanks for your review of your stay at Cranston House. Aileen and I are pleased that you found it an enjoyable base for exploration in London and the English countryside. We look forward to your return to the UK when you will be able to enjoy more English breakfasts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

only stayed one night with 2 friends for a friends wedding, the room was very spacious and bright and clean.
The beds were very comfortable and there was plenty of room for 3 girls to get ready.
reccomend this lovely guest house.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank shelley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranstonhouse, Owner at Cranston House, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

We are glad that you found our large triple room spaceous and comfortable. We hope you have need to visit East Grinstead again when you will be welcome to come and stay at Cranston House for a second time! Aileen and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This guest house was recommended to me by the owner of place I had stopped at previously but she was booked up so she suggested the Cranston Guest House. Lovely place, very clean and great rooms. Will definitely come again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranstonhouse, Owner at Cranston House, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Thank you for your very positive review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to receiving you again at Cranston House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My fiancé and I stayed here for Valentine's day. We had room 7 and judging by the pictures, I wouldn't have wanted any other room! The room was cosy and you get a little mint chocolate on your towels. DVD's are available to watch for free, which I thought was a great little perk. They also included local fast food leaflets in the welcome pack for us to look at! Also being Valentine's day we figured we'd have a lot of noise to put up with, but there wasn't. There was a couple chatting in the room next to us, but not loud enough for it to get irritating. I liked the lighting in the room, which is always important yet a touch often forgotten when it comes to B&B's. The bedside lamps were just right, making the room warm and comfortable on a cold feb night. I just found the bottled water expensive (50p per, when it's the pack of 12 from aldi that costs £1 something) So i'll remember my own bottle next time. Also, you have to turn the fridge off as it's noisy.

Can't judge the breakfast.

It was a really cosy room and would like to go back. (We tried to but he booked the wrong date ¬¬)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dani G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranstonhouse, Owner at Cranston House, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Thank you for your positive review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay on St Valentine's day. Sorry we could not accommodate you on your second attempt to stay with us. Hope to be able to help you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

A freakishly sunny May weekend saw us descend on Cranston House for a family get together. I have noticed that Cranston Hse is heavily cited by Trip Advisor which prompted me to generate a review myself – and why not! First, I would like to stress this is not our first time at the house (and probably wont be the last). This trip we stayed in Room 3 (we have stayed in this room before – a year or so ago) and the room has not changed one iota. This is fine – why change a good thing. However, one of the nightmarish things to happen with our stay in room 3 was the fact that due to the fact that there are no blackout blinds in the window we found ourselves in a situation where we were awake at 4 AM when the sun rose. A seriously painful situation and as we were staying for two nights a situation that simpley exacerbated itself. One of the glorious points about Cranston house is the fact that there is free Wi-Fi. Indeed, there are actually two Wi-Fi servers built into the house and you’re free to select the one that provides you with a stronger signal. This is actually a major plus point because it allows you to have your smart phone, iPad connected throughout the duration of your stay. Remarkably, free Wi-Fi is still not provided in major spots around East Grinstead and if you want to check your e-mail you are forced to go round to café nero on the high street. Another plus point with the house is the fact that the proprietors do indeed ensure that it is a very welcoming place. There are hundreds of DVDs behind the counter that you’re more than welcome to borrow should you find yourself spending a little more time than usual in your room. If you need any kind of herbal tea you are recommended to request it from behind the counter and the owners will be more than happy to oblige. A couple of points that I don’t really feel comfortable with both: firstly, the gardens. There are clearly some beautiful gardens on this house there are well looked after an astounding to look at. However, to my knowledge guests simply aren’t allowed out there. This is a great shame. Especially on a day when the sun tries to come out. It would be a major plus point if it is at all possible for guests to have breakfast out in the garden may be set up a gazebo some kind? Still, they are beautiful to look out from the window in the stairwell ! next, bring your own toiletries. The toiletries on hand are perfect but from a personal point of view (and it is personal) I simply don’t like to wash my hair with shampoo that somebody else may have used In a hotel. But this is indeed a personal thing. The breakfasts are ideal in the house. That you have an option to take your breakfast the night before by merely indicating that on the form and then leaving on the landing outside your room before you sleep. In fact, my partner suggested that we do not have breakfast quoting value for money etc. However, if you have been to East Grinstead then you’ll know that the opportunity to have a decent breakfast inside you is few and far so in this case I would definitely recommend that you take the breakfast. By the way this particular hotel is 20 mins taxi ride from Gatwick …..got an early flight in the morning then you cant do worse than stay here !

Room Tip: have the breakfast and see the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carl427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranstonhouse, Owner at Cranston House, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2012

Thank you for your comprehensive review. We did not appreciate that the early morning sun was such a problem in room 3 and are pleased that you have drawn this problem to our attention. . Next time you return to Cranston House you will be happy to see that we have installed a blackout blind behind the roman blind in this room so that early morning sleep in the summer will now be uninterrupted. We are glad that you had good free access to the internet. This is an aspect of accommodation that we particularly require when we are away from Cranston House and so we expect it to be available for our visitors. We would like to make more use of our garden. Unfortunately access to it is through some of our more private areas! We look forward to receiving you again when you will be able to have a more restful stay in room 3 or our other rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed for 12 nights. and it was a great stay... It was peaceful, calm yet close to the Town center, you have everything you need, when tired you sleep like a baby as the bed is v. comfortable, clean, our room was spaceous and sunny, helpful and friendly hosts. You just feel at home. A great experience, thanks Brian and Aileen. Will be back...:)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyclamen_lblb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranstonhouse, Owner at Cranston House, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2012

Thank you for your very positive review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to receiving you again at Cranston House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Grinstead
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
1,331 reviews
3.0 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
2.9 mi away
Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
3.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
3.5 mi away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranston House

Address: Cranston House Cranston Road, East Grinstead RH19 3HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > East Grinstead
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in East Grinstead
Price Range: $67 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranston House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Cranston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranston House East Grinstead, West Sussex, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing