We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst Indian meal ever”

Undaal 2 - East Grinstead Branch
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Uckfield
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“worst Indian meal ever”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I should have been suspicious, "gourmet" claims and then venison curry etc on the menu, but still I went ahead and had a lamb curry, the lamb was tough, maybe some left over chop trimmings, thrown into a bulk standard sauce, just awful, the worst Indian meal I have ever had in over 50 years of eating them. True, my sone had a Tandoori chicken that he liked, and my wife had something she liked, but a one out of three failure is just not good enough. Awful.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PHUckfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    7
    3
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Flavours and spices of India!!!!”
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Me and family spent the afternoon today in east grinstead's Undaal 2. What can I say? The food was superb a blend of mouthwatering spices not overdone and cooked well. Now being Asian I'm a food snob. I know the lure of home cooked food traditional methods and recepies passed down. I was impressed!! It had it all! We got to taste and experiment their new menu I must say I'm excited! The staff were welcoming and polite in manner willing to accomdate our needs. Whilst the cool yet traditional themes of the setting and mild decor works well. It's exciting an adventure in taste I will be back!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tafsar01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Love this food”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This restaurant is well worth a visit. I have now visited the place twice and both times the food has been excellent. The staff are friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alison077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Top Class”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

me and my good lady gave the Sunday buffet a go about a month ago. The price was extremely reasonable , which was the main reason for at least giving it a try, but the quality of the food and friendliness of the staff, was exceptional. We decided to have a night out with a couple of friends last Saturday and have to say, (as a seasoned curryholic) this was one of the finest Curry's i have tasted. I went for the Chicken Naga (A must for any heat freak). deliciously hot but with amazing flavours too. My wife had the Dopiaza. (her usual) and said it was the best she had ever tasted. A great evening with good company,fantastic food and service, and a welcoming, warm and friendly atmosphere. Highly recommend. I can see many returns to this establishment

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GK63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Authentic curry”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The curry was authentic. Very good value for money. The ambience is excellent and the waiters are very courteous. I would go again and strongly recommend.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MacBal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Undaal 2 - East Grinstead Branch also viewed

East Grinstead, West Sussex
East Grinstead, West Sussex
 
East Grinstead, West Sussex
East Grinstead, West Sussex
 
East Grinstead, West Sussex
East Grinstead, West Sussex
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing