We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
East Grinstead
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,785)
Filter reviews
2,785 results
Traveler rating
1,749
518
315
123
80
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,749
518
315
123
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviews reflections restaurant champagne bar garden suite hot tub afternoon tea cedar lodge beautiful hotel relaxation room changing rooms the fine dining restaurant ag restaurant full body massage outdoor sauna birthday treat roll top bath junior suite relaxing break
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 2,785 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A group of 4 friends we booked Afternoon Tea as a pre Christmas get together. One of our party had a voucher for Buyagift/Smart box. When I booked the date I gave the receptionist the voucher number and asked specifically if it was valid for Alexander House. I was told it was so I went ahead and booked. When we were presented with the bill of £128 we gave over the voucher only to be told it wasn’t valid. That it was a Smart box voucher not a Buyagift one. Needless to say we were extremely upset! We could not fault the service that day but the follow up handling of our complaint was abysmal. A promised return phone call never happened, emails not answered and in the end after persevering trying to get some sort of answer we were told to take it up with BuyaGift. So beware when using vouchers here do not take the word of the hotel staff that they are accepted. Check the very small print on the voucher itself. The tea was ok not outstanding and certainly the most expensive in the area. There are better value teas in very similar surroundings in and around the area. Sorry Alexander House but we will not be back.

Date of stay: December 2019
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurca T, General Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Sarah H,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am pleased to read that you were happy with the service on the day however it is disappointing to read you were left unhappy with the issue with the voucher and how this was dealt with.
Unfortunately our hotel is not included in the list of properties that accept smart box vouchers however we do accept buy a gift vouchers. It is my understanding that when booking it was mentioned the voucher your friend would be using was a buy a gift voucher and not a smart box voucher. I also understand that our guest services manager's have since spoken to both your friend and yourself on a number of occasions both on the phone and via email to explain this.
Thank you

Kind regards,

Tamas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel for the last 5 years and it just gets better and better! Their hospitality and service is outstanding and they will cater for your every need.. the spa and facilities are wonderful with a great range of treatments.. We have stayed at many 5star hotels and this has to be one of the very best, especially the exceptional service offered by the manager tamas who has provided an amazing service every time we visit, always going over and above expectations. Also Charles the head concierge who has been so welcoming and thoughtful to our requests on every single visit! You can tell the management (tamas) truly care about customers experience and I truly believe he breeds this through all this staff training hence such an an amazing hotel. Danny and Stephanie Garvey

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Stephyp13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SindarmyV, Guest Services Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Danny and Stephanie,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Alexander House Hotel and Utopia Spa.

Thank you for your lovely and very encouraging feedback. It is feedback like yours that keep us motivated to consistently provide the very best hospitality to all our guests.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Sindarmy Vingadassalom
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I felt overwhlemed by the number of staff onhand at all times of the day. I thought to myself, "If I ran a hotel, this is the way I'd manage it". We were upgraded to the Oak room, and I've never seen such a bathroom. The suite was fantastic, just like the Hollywood-portrayed penthouse suites in Las Vegas. The Spa treatments we tried were the massage, and the facial. Both were excellent and carried out by fully-competent trained professionals. I will return!

Date of stay: January 2020
Thank markjL2426DA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SindarmyV, Guest Services Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear markjL2426DA,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor following our recent stay at Alexander House Hotel and Utopia Spa.

We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful time with us and left feeling all relaxed and pampered. It is feedback like yours that keep us motivated to consistently provide the very best hospitality to all our guests.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Sindarmy Vingadassalom
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2020 via mobile

We recently stayed here for 1 night.
The grounds are stunning.
We didn’t have any treatments due to lack of time but used the spa which was lovely, especially the outside jacuzzi. It has two restaurants and we ate in AG’s as it was a special occasion. Our room (monkey puzzle) was spacious and comfortable with a lovely view.
All the staff we met were friendly and attentive.
You will not be disappointed if you stay here!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Menice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SindarmyV, Guest Services Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2020

Dear Menice,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers following your recent stay at Alexander House Hotel and Utopia Spa.

I was delighted to read that you had a wonderful time at the hotel and particularly enjoyed your dining experience in our fine dining restaurant AG's as well as our Utopia Spa facilities.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Sindarmy Vingadassalom
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2020 via mobile

We had a nice stay. The food was good, the staff in restaurants were great. The room was nice

But compared to a truly five star experience there is a long list of things that aren’t up to scratch
- cheap biscuits and basic toiletries in room
- slow clearing of room service in corridor
- missed turn down service one night (and coming in to room too early/quickly on another)
- weak handling of noise in our bedroom
- etc

But the price is certainly 5 star and restaurants are dear (and yes charging extra to use the pool is irritating)

So either budget is tight or management should improve.

But it’s good 4 star hotel and fine if you are relaxed about what you pay

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank EdmontonJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SindarmyV, Guest Services Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2020

Dear EdmontonJohn,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Alexander House Hotel and Utopia Spa.

I was pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your dining experience at the hotel. Naturally, I am disappointed to read that certain aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to extend our sincere apologies for the disappointment you have expressed.

We currently offer Borders Biscuits and L'Occitane toiletries products in all our guests bedrooms, which we believe are very good quality products. Room service trays are collected 5 times daily. We do offer a housekeeping turn down service in the evening unless a guest has placed a Do Not Disturb Sign or declined the service offer. Access to our Utopia Spa is not included on Room Only, Bed & Breakfast and Dinner Bed and Breakfast packages at Alexander House. This information is advertised on our hotel website and on our hotel partners websites. Spa access can be added for a small charge per person per night or included when booking a 55- or 85-minutes Utopia Spa Treatments per person.

Thank you once again for providing feedback and rest assured your comments will be shared with the team.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Sindarmy Vingadassalom
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews