We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,496)
Filter reviews
2,496 results
Traveler rating
1,581
466
282
102
65
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,581
466
282
102
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews reflections restaurant champagne bar hot tub garden suite beautiful hotel relaxation room changing rooms on arrival the fine dining restaurant full body massage ag restaurant cedar lodge birthday treat roll top bath outdoor sauna relaxing break junior suite
Filter
Updating list...
320 - 325 of 2,496 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2017

Friendly helpful staff and a delightful ambience. My stay was short as we were attending a wedding nearby but hope to return in the future. Attractive decor and the food good. We enjoyed walking around the beautiful grounds.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty R, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2017

Dear Christine D,

Thank you for taking your time to leave your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us on our TripAdvisor page. It is always a pleasure to read a review such as this.

We can't wait to welcome you back for a longer and more relaxing stay.

Kind regards,
Kirsty Richardson

Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017 via mobile

We organised to stay at the hotel for my parents 50th wedding anniversary, from the point of booking until we left we were very well looked after.

My parents were bowled over with their free room upgrade in light of the special occasion. In the run up to the stay I was liasing with Cameron and Matthew (big shout out to them) in concierge, I was able to arrange a number of touches to make my parents stay a memorable one, they were incredibly helpful, responsive and patient!

The highlight for us was the surprise of dinner that we had booked in AG's being moved to a private room for us, it meant we could chat easily as a family, this was such a nice touch, I won't forget my parents faces, so a very thank you for the happy memories for all of us as a family.

The rooms are of course luxurious, with high quality furnishings, toiletries etc. All the usual things you would expect but great to see them delivering on this. The cleaning and turn down staff are particularly discreet.

All in all a top-quality hotel and a delightful memorable stay.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank Blondie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty R, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2017

Dear Blondie31,

Thank you for choosing Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa as your choice of venue for your parents 50th Wedding Anniversary. It is a pleasure to read that they enjoyed all aspects of their stay, from their complimentary room upgrade to your evening meal in our AG's Restaurant.

Matthew and Cameron have personally read of your feedback and have expressed their sincere thanks for leaving them such a glowing review.

We can't wait to welcome you all back soon!

Kindest regards,
Kirsty Richardson

Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017

We had our wedding here a few years ago and it's always been a very special place for us, so we booked for afternoon tea as a treat.

The hotel remains as beautiful as ever, although we were disappointed to be seated in the general dining room rather than the much more beautiful lounge.

The service was top quality - Corina and Dora, our waitresses, were attentive, friendly, and very professional. The chef did a good job of making our afternoon teas suitable for vegetarians, though we were slightly disappointed that one of the sandwich options was simply a tomato sandwich - we'd been told it had avocado too, but we didn't find any! The cakes and scones, however, were delicious and the tea was very pleasant.

We did feel that the price was a little high for what you get - nearly £70 for the two of us; for such a high price we'd hoped for a little more refinement and quality but some of the food was rather basic (homous on toast, tomato sandwich, cucumber and cream cheese sandwich).

It was still a lovely afternoon tea in a very lovely hotel, with stunning views and lovely service. Worth doing, but be prepared to compromise a little on the quality compared to the price.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rob_and_Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty R, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2017

Dear Rob_and_Michael,

Thank you for choosing to visit us again at Alexander House Hotel, and for taking your time to leave us with feedback regarding your recent afternoon tea.

Dora and Corina will be overjoyed to read of your kind words, I will personally ensure that they are made fully aware. I am disappointed however that on this occasion you did not feel as though your afternoon tea itself was of our normal high quality.

Please do contact me personally at the hotel when choosing to visit us again, and I will ensure that you are well looked after.

Kindest regards,
Kirsty Richardson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2017 via mobile

I stayed at this venue as I was working in the area. Anna Louise looked after us at reception, quite possibly one of the most genuine receptions I've ever encountered, a real asset to you, thank you. The room was fabulous and We never wanted to leave the bed, so comfy!! Regretfully I only had an hour in the spa which was a real shame, but, the Spa, the breakfast, the service and the room are some of the many reasons we can wait to come back

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
Thank ANDYBSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty R, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Dear ANDYBSussex,

Thank you for choosing Alexander House Hotel for your choice of hotel base when working in the local area. Anna will be thrilled to read such kind feedback about her, and I have personally passed on your comments to her already.

We can't wait to welcome you back again soon, to enjoy more time in our Utopia Spa.

Kind regards,
Kirsty Richardson

Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2017 via mobile

We visited Alexander House on a beautiful summers day, the grounds a spectacular and lovely to walk around. We visited he hotel for afternoon tea which was very tasty and the staff were lovely. Great experience and lovely place to do afternoon tea!

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Emmaalex123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty R, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Dear Emmaalex123,

Thank you for posting such a lovely review on our TripAdvisor page with regards to your afternoon tea back in the summer. It is a pleasure that you enjoyed your afternoon with us and found our staff to be a pleasure.

We can't wait to welcome you back soon for another delicious afternoon tea!

Kindest regards,
Kirsty Richardson

Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews