We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,492)
Filter reviews
2,492 results
Traveler rating
1,580
465
280
102
65
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,580
465
280
102
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews reflections restaurant champagne bar hot tub garden suite beautiful hotel relaxation room changing rooms on arrival the fine dining restaurant full body massage ag restaurant cedar lodge birthday treat roll top bath outdoor sauna relaxing break junior suite
Filter
Updating list...
322 - 327 of 2,492 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2017 via mobile

My husband took me here for my birthday as we usually visit London spas but wanted to try something new and we had seen Alexander utopia all over social media so thought we’d give it a go.
The grounds are beautiful and staff seemed friendly. I found this spa very busy for a place which is meant to be 5* and the element of luxury was definitely missing. The place was very crowded! It was disappointing that the sauna and steam room were separated in to the changing rooms so couldn’t sit with my husband.
The 85 minute massage was fab however the two course lunch we received didn’t seem very appetising for a 5* place. Literally got a small bit of chicken and some vegetables and a soup which was similar to heniz. And my husband ordered a dish which arrived as a place of crispy salad. The server in the restaurant wasn’t the happiest person so it made us feel uncomfortable!
One thing which was nice was the out door hot tub and as it was a cold day was empty!
Sadly I did have higher expectations of this place so definitely over paid on this occasion (we were only here for a day and it was very pricey compared to what we have received from 5* spas in London)

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank bindiyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty R, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2017

Dear bindiyay,

Thank you for choosing Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa as your choice of spa hotel for your most recent spa break. I am disappointed to read that you found your experience with us to only be of the average standard.

Thank you for your feedback regarding our spa facilities, although disappointing, I am pleased that you enjoyed your treatments. I will ensure that your feedback is passed onto both our Food & Beverage Manager and Kitchen Brigade for their reference.

I do hope that this will not be your last visit to Alexander House Hotel, as we would not like this to be your lasting impression of us.

Kind regards,
Kirsty Richardson

Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2017

Perfect place for any special occasions, great food and very attentive staff in such beautiful surroundings. Had delicious lunch to celebrate birthday. Cannot fault it just amazing. Our second visit there and as perfect as our first which was at the spa

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nassehra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty R, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2017

Dear Nassehra V,

Thank you for choosing to join us for a special birthday celebration, and for taking your time to post your thoughts on our TripAdvisor page.

We can't wait to welcome you back for another spa day, lunch, or perhaps an overnight spa break.

Kindest regards,
Kirsty Richardson

Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2017

Had a fantastic experience here. Bought for me as a gift and it didn’t disappoint, from the moment we arrived the staff were so attentive friendly and helpful and the food was gorgeous. Set in a beautiful landscaped gardens, all very impressive.
Can’t wait for an excuse to come again.

Room Tip: Didn’t use hotel only dining areas for afternoon tea.
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NanaWheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty R, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2017

Dear NanaWheeler,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent afternoon tea experience. I am extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your afternoon tea.

We can't wait to welcome you back soon, maybe to sample our upcoming festive afternoon tea?

Kindest regards,
Kirsty Richardson

Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2017

Barnett Hill Hotel is the perfect place for a relaxing weekend away from the hustle and bustle of London life. We booked the Renew and Refresh package and it did exactly that. We had one of the best massages, enjoyed a delicious dinner in the restaurant and left feeling very relaxed and rejuvenated.

The staff at Barnett Hill Hotel were very friendly and extremely helpful and they made us feel very welcome.

We took a little stroll around the grounds the day we left and they really are beautiful. We will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JHP29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty R, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2017

Dear JHP29,

Thank you leaving us a kind review on our newest addition to the Alexander Hotels group, Barnett Hill. I will personally ensure their team are made fully aware of your TripAdvisor review.

Kindest regards,
Kirsty Richardson

Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2017

On arrival we were welcomed at the door by Charles who could not have been more helpful - even showed us around the hotel and gardens - his colleague Andy was equally helpful during our stay. The rooms - in particular the bathrooms - are well appointed and spacious. Had a lovely meal in the fine dining restaurant - relatively short menu but excellent none the less - recommend the Chateaubriand! Our respectives wives took advantage of the spa facilities and not surprisingly thoroughly enjoyed themselves.

Room Tip: First floor Oaks suite is excellent.
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BGG601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty R, Guest Relations Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2017

Dear BGG601,

Thank you for taking your time to provide us with feedback on our TripAdvisor page with regards to your recent stay with us.

We are extremely proud of our team here at Alexander House Hotel, so it is extremely pleasing to read that you found them to be so welcoming and friendly. It is great to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay from our award winning Utopia Spa to our AG's fine dining restaurant.

Kindest regards,
Kirsty Richardson

Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews