We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect mid-week getaway :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in East Grinstead
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed at the Alexander House Hotel for the first time, and can say we will definitely be returning at some point. Before booking the hotel we were unsure where to stay, but needed someone to relax with a spa to get away from work pressures and stress.

We arrived at the hotel before booking to see if it would at all be possible to have a look around. The doorman Keith was so helpful and went above and beyond. He gave us a tour of the hotel, telling us all about the history of each room etc. He even managed to show us two different types of rooms available to book. After our tour with Keith we went straight home and booked it for the following night :)

On arrival to the hotel the following morning, any staff that we came across were so helpful and polite. Staying at the hotel during the week meant that the spa was lovely and quiet, for a while it became our own spa with no-one around. We booked two treatments whilst at the spa; Full body massage and Go guy facial. Cant recommend these enough!!! The therapists were lovely, and really helped us both relax.

When we stay again at the hotel, we hope to be able to use the outside Hot Tub, as unfortunately on our visit it was not working - one thing we were excited to use after all the raving comments we read on Tripadvisor prior to our visit. All in all I would recommended the hotel, was a perfect midweek getaway :)

Visited March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charmaine S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurca T, Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear CharmaineSS,

Thank you for so much praise! I have personally made sure that your comments have been forwarded to Keith Farley our Dorman, he was delighted to hear about your kind words .
I am glad to learn that you also enjoyed your treatments were able to indulge yourself in our Utopia Spa.
We very much look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best wishes
Tamas Jurca
Front Of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,147)
There are newer reviews for Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,306 - 1,312 of 2,147 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

We booked our room, only to set is at a highly discounted price on a 'deal' the next day. We were told that our £200 deposit was non refundable and they would not budge on reducing our room rate.

We arrived and had to wait a short while for our room. We were asked if we would like some tea / coffee - O yes that would be nice - shame we were charged for this on our bill, we thought it was complimentary.

One of our party had a fall by the outside Jacuzzi - this wasn't dealt with very well and we felt that mentioning it was all too much bother for the hotel. The said party now has damage to their legs which is clear some months on.

Vastly over priced for what it is.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurca T, Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Wendb69,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments about your stay with us. We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Alexander House Hotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Tamas Jurca
Front Of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed here on a Friday night as a treat for my wife's birthday.
It is an excellent hotel on every level. Starting with a warm welcome from the staff - they are all friendly and relaxed.
We stayed in Chalfont - this has a lovely 4 poster bed, wooden panelling and a pleasant bathroom. Another reviewer mentioned a droning noise - this is an air-con unit outside the window. You can hear it but it is not a problem, it is not loud.
We had drinks in the Champagne bar before eating in Reflections Restaurant. Again, everyone is friendly and the food is of a high standard. There is an extensive Champagne and wine selection available for all budgets.
The spa area is simply brilliant. Very very clean, fitted out to a very high standard, a fantastic whirlpool area with massage jets, another huge Jacuzzi as well, a large swimming pool - all in a roman style area. In the male changing rooms there are numerous showers, a steam room and a sauna. This place is very refreshing early in the morning.
There is a multitude of treatments available.
All in all a 1st class hotel in a wonderful building in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisBatterbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurca T, Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear ChrisBatterbee,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel to stay
We were very glad to hear that you were very much pleased with our standards and level of hospitality you experienced in our hotel during your stay.
We sincerely hope to see you back at Alexander House Hotel in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Tamas Jurca
Front Of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Booked a one night stay with my girlfriend to enjoy the spa, the restaurant and the surroundings. The moment we arrived we were very well looked after. Tom did an excellent job of making us feel welcome and giving us a tour of the hotel. The spa treatments were superb, as was the pool and jacuzzi. The room was a bit too warm but clean and well furnished with nice views. The champagne bar is the perfect place to spend a relaxing afternoon by the open fire or a couple of cocktails before dinner. We ate at AG's, the fine dining restaurant, and I have to say it wasn't particularly what I had hoped for. There was nothing wrong in general, and the staff were very attentive, but I wasn't blown away by the food and was left feeling a bit underwhelmed. Maybe I'm being a bit picky though. We finished the stay with a walk in the sunshine before lunch (the hotel provides boots!), down through some fields, past a large herd of deer to a lake and then back via the road as inexplicably we somehow managed to get lost! Overall a great stay and my only regret was not booking for 2 nights.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurca T, Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Phil G

I am delighted to note that you enjoyed your time with us Alexander House Hotel and Utopia Spa.

I really appreciate your positive feedback about our employee’s friendliness. I am extremely proud that our staff repeatedly provided personal and attentive service. It is a great feeling to learn from you we succeeded to create a memorable and unforgettable experience!

Kind regards,
Tamas Jurca
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We spent a night away from our children for the first time in three years and stayed in the Henley suite which was luxurious and catered well for our needs. Our eight course taster menu with paired wines was superb and we found the choices of wine exciting and inspired. We spent a week on a Michelin starred tour of Burgundy and have stayed in some of the top hotels in the world and found the accommodation, atmosphere and staff at Alexander house to be of an exceptional standard. The spa treatments were fabulous and we came away ready to embrace our children fully refreshed again - a particular nod to whoever trained the staff. Can't recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurca T, Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Sylvia P,

I would like to thank you for your generous feedback regarding your recent stay at Alexander House Hotel.
I was delighted to read that we managed to contribute to your relaxation.

First and foremost, please allow me to thank you for your recognition of our Alexander House staff for their efforts in making you felt so pampered and special.
.We look forward to welcoming you back

Tamas Jurca
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed for 1 night on the 10th of February as we were looking for a hotel with a good restaurant. The communication was good before we arrived, however the final details were not communicated with the restaurant which delayed our dinner quite a bit (I'm vegetarian and pregnant which meant I had to avoid items from the usual menu). We did have a fantastic meal in AG's as the restaurant manager was very helpful and managed to get the tasting menu organised, it was just a shame the message wasn't communicated from reception as promised.

Communication seems to be the main issue as we had items we didn't order added to our bill, and we cancelled the morning paper once in our room and this still arrived the next day.

The room was nice enough but I expected better for the level of hotel, and the bed wasn't so comfortable. Breakfast was great.

I would come back to visit AG's but the hotel part just didn't hit the spot or offer value for money compared to others locally we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Littlevik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurca T, Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Littlevik,

Thank you for choosing Alexander House Hotel and for providing us with useful feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you were pleased with our AG`s restaurant
I am however; very sorry to hear that the cancelled newspaper still arrived to you in the morning .
Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with this very helpful review

Best wishes
Tamas Jurca
Front Of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

A small group of us stayed at Alexander House Hotel just one night for a special occasion and overall the stay was enjoyable - staff, food and surroundings were nice. However, (and it's a biggie which ruined the experience), two of us were put in the Chalfont Suite on the ground floor, directly opposite the Champagne Bar. If you're booking a stay at this hotel I would strongly advise that you avoid this room.

When we settled down for the night we noticed a continual whirring, electrical hum that continued throughout the night. Then we had to contend with the noise from attendees of a medical convention who decide to make a ruckus until 4am (including playing the piano). We reported this but the staff simply closed the door to the bar opposite which didn't stop us being able to hear people going in and out (we could even make out their conversations).

In summary - the Chalfont Suite is not sound proofed, has an incessant hum, and will not provide you with a good night's sleep...

Room Tip: Avoid the Chalfont Suite!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ade0na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurca T, Manager at Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Ade0na,

Thank you for choosing Alexander House Hotel and for providing us with useful feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you were pleased with the warm welcome from our reception team and that you enjoyed our Spa experience.
I am however, very sorry to read of the disturbance you experienced in your room
Thank you once again for providing feedback and I do hope you will revisit us, giving us a chance to change your opinion of the Alexander House Hotel.

Best wishes
Tamas Jurca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Grinstead
24.1 mi away
Rowhill Grange Hotel & Utopia Spa
1.4 mi away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
10.7 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
5.4 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
21.2 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa

Address: East Street, East Grinstead RH10 4QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > East Grinstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in East Grinstead
Price Range: $240 - $838 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 170 acres of stunning private gardens and parkland, Alexander House Hotel in Sussex is both a boutique retreat and an unsurpassed destination spa hotel near London, UK, the heart of South England's countryside. With tastefully designed, luxurious bedrooms, award winning Utopia Spa and a 3 AA Rosette restaurant, Alexander House Hotel is ideal for a weekend luxury escape in Sussex countryside and is a perfectly appointed private function venue, wedding venue near London and business events venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander House And Utopia Spa
Alexander House & Utopia Hotel East Grinstead
Alexander Hotel Utopia
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa East Grinstead, West Sussex, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing