We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chinese” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wing Wah Chinese Restaurant

Wing Wah Chinese Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Valenza, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Chinese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Nice atmosphere very kind people The meals came out sizzling hot which were placed on a candle heated grid The food was great .

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindavidean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    14
    5
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Live ants on the food. So what's in the food?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at 9.30 The staff were preparing to close as soon as our starters arrived, clearing tables, taking out rubbish, mopping floors. Not nice. Food not very good, just about edible. Staff then tried to serve the next course before we had finished eating the first! Then we were told that if we wanted to order a third course we had 5 mins before kitchen closed. At that point a live ant wandered out of the prawn crackers. Ants usually come in armies, not alone. At that point we left. We felt that no payment was warranted. Will NOT be going back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieGray123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Be wary of the 'opening hours'”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Advertises as open Sundays noon - 2.30 for lunch. Arrived around 1.30 and the place was completely empty. Half the restaurant was a mess, the waiter told us that they were getting ready for a large group/party that evening. Asked if we could sit at one of the tables in the area that was laid up. Waiter told us that they needed to get ready for the large group, asked if that meant they would not serve food and got a blunt no. No apology, we were left standing there and eventually left.
Obviously can't comment on the food but service extremely poor! Don't bother wasting time and money driving here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KentMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Row, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wouldn't go back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Had a takeaway. Firstly I discovered when I got home they'd left out one of my dishes (although they did charge me for it!), and it went from bad to worse. Pork balls were completely over fried and the sweet and sour sauce was virtually in edible. No flavour to the special fried rice at all. Not worth the trip out to collect. Disappointing, especially after all the good reviews.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AmyW196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Very nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is one of the nicest Chinese cuisines in East Grinstead! The food is very tasty, well presented and the restaurant are clean

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank C1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wing Wah Chinese Restaurant also viewed

East Grinstead, West Sussex
East Grinstead, West Sussex
 
East Grinstead, West Sussex
East Grinstead, West Sussex
 
East Grinstead, West Sussex
East Grinstead, West Sussex
 

Been to Wing Wah Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing