We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - we'll go back to experience the whole package”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in East Grinstead
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - we'll go back to experience the whole package”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at the Felbridge having been to a private function in the restaurant. The hotel was very clean and much bigger than we had imagined. As such the distance to our room from reception and the facilities seemed as if we had walked to the next town to reach there. But having got there we were pleasantly surprised. Very spacious room with all the facilities we needed for an over night stay.

We then changed for dinner before heading to the restaurant for dinner. The meal was very tasty although it could have been hotter. Although I will give the chef the benefit of the doubt as there were 25 of us dining and therefore wanting our meals at the same time, as well as two weddings and a birthday party.

When we retired to the bar following our meal we found that the birthday party had taken over the bar with a reserve ration and therefore it was packed with just the end of the bar for us. Rather disappointing. Additionally it was a shame that the bar only sold keg beers no real ales.

At this point we retired to our room and it was incredibly hot in there. We tried to open the windows but afraid of using too much force we were unable to open them and decided to use the air conditioning. The air conditioning was faulty and would only blow out hot air within minutes the room was unbearbable. Finally we managed to open the windows and boy was it good.

The bed was incredibly comfortable with a memory foam topper over the mattress. However the pillows weren't so comfy.

Breakfast was fabulous, a proper Full English. The staff in the restaurant were incredibly helpful and courteous.

All in all a good hotel and we will go back to try the spa.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank griggs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VShrivastava, Manager at Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your beautiful comments on the hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our chefs are really pleased to read your good comments about food.

The only reason we don't offer cask ales is because there is very rare demand for it from the guests and we had bear a lot of wastage in the past however we do offer bottle ales.

I am extremely sorry for the inconvenience you had due to Air Conditioning, this was fixed on the same day after you left.

It is wonderful to read that you will be visiting us again to experience the whole package and we will be looking forward for your stay.

Yours Sincerely

Vikas Shrivastava

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    418
    225
    110
    75
See reviews for
129
607
27
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Having read the previous reviews, my husband and I were a little apprehensive about our stay. We'd booked the hotel for one night, pre holiday flight and 15 days parking.

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived, the hotel was easy to find and our welcome was warm and friendly. Our room overlooked the garden and was large.

The leisure facility was clean and enjoyable although the steam room seemed to have an issue.

We didn't have our evening meal at the hotel as we found the prices a little inflated! We went to the Chinese across the road. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbo1149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VShrivastava, Manager at Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive comments and I was pleased and appreciative to read that you enjoyed the service and facilities of the hotel so much. The hotel offers two Restaurants, The Baytree and The Anise fine dining and I would recommend you to dine in either on your next stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the hotel in near future.

Yours Sincerely
Vikas Shrivastava
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in September 2013 when I was attending a wedding.

The bedrooms have been updated and are comfortable, clean and acceptable. Most of the staff were very friendly apart from one receptionist who told me I didn't have a reservation when I arrived, even though I knew my friend had already checked in. He insisted I didn't have a room and asked me to call my friend to find out the room number! Then a colleague pointed out to him that the reservations screen went on to two pages (well, der) but he then acted as though it was my fault and was very off hand. That said, the duty manager realised that a member of the team was not being service oriented and offered to help me with the luggage and show me to my room.

The food in the restaruant is acceptable but the menu is dull and bland. From a price perspective, the food is expensive (especially room service). Again the waiting staff were friendly, but the waitress who bought our wine thought the it was a screw top bottle and when she realised that is wasn't, she had to find someone to open it for us - all of which took about 15 minutes. We had to ask for bread to be provided and we had both ordered a salad, which took over 40 minutes to arrive. Breakfast was mostly good, but don't have the scrambled eggs - they were very pale in colour and had zero flavour so it was probably powdered eggs.

Be warned that the spa facility is not open on a Sunday, which was somewhat surprising.

Would I go back? No, not unless I was attending another event at the venue, and even then, I would try to stay somewhere else locally.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinnieMaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VShrivastava, Manager at Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit to The Felbridge Hotel & Spa and for your feedback, which is very important to us in order to make improvements in our services and facilities we provide. I was extremely disappointed to read your comments regarding your check in experience and please accept my apologise for the same.

Our chefs takes pride in preparing food dishes for the guests and most of our guests do love dining here. I am surprised you found the menu dull and bland as we believe that all the menu dishes has been put n menu after very careful selection by our Executive chef with feedbacks of other food experts.

We will hope to welcome you again in near future.

Yours Sincerely

Vikas Shrivastava

Operations Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed at the Felbridge Hotel earlier this month as part of a wedding package and had a complimentary overnight room booking included.

Check-in was at 2pm but we were getting there earlier, the staff at reception were kind enough to arrange check-in a couple of hours earlier.

The room we had was a very good size, enough space for 2 arm chairs and a small sofa with a coffee table. The room and bathroom were very clean and spotless. Also had a walk out balcony which was a pleasant touch. The TV in the room had a personalised message for us both which was very sweet.

We did not eat at the hotel restaurant, instead went out to the local restaurants and found a lovely small Italian place.

Ordered midnight snacks from room service, which was very prompt and fairly reasonably priced.

In the morning we had a buffet breakfast, the selection of foods was very good, although the service was a little on the slow side, at one point we thought they may have forgotten our order.

Overall a great stay for the night, fab location, and to top it of free onsite parking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ObiRizKenobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VShrivastava, Manager at Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your descriptive positive comments. I was pleased and appreciative to read that you enjoyed the service and facilities of the hotel so much.

The hotel offers two Restaurants, The Baytree and The Anise fine dining and I would recommend you to dine in either on your next stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the hotel on the murder mystery weekend

Yours Sincerely

Vikas Shrivastava

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The previous reviews seem fair overall. Average hotel and okay value. Bizarrely, however, there is no wifi. Ethernet cable for sure - but that's of no help to tablet / smartphone users. Room seemed a bit hot even when air conditioning unit was on.

Room Tip: Suggest top floor - I think 3rd level - for readers who are happy to climb a few flights (no lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimW6London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VShrivastava, Manager at Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

Free high speed broadband is available in all bedrooms and free Wifi is available in all public areas and meeting rooms. We are currently working out on this project to get the Wifi through out the hotel which will be available in near future.

We will look forward in welcoming you back in not too distant future

Yours Sincerely

Vikas Shrivastava
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Partner and I visited for 2 night spa break and were hugely disappointed. 1st room we were given had a view of a brick wall and had no fridge as the receptionist told us someone must have stolen it. Staff were able to move us to another room which they said would be noisy due to the 2 weddings they had that evening. We agreed and on first glance room looked fine and spacious. Went for dinner and were told by waitress that they were short on silverware as when they have weddings people always come into the restaurant to take it. Next day we went to the spa and had an enjoyable experience there however,when we returned to room we noticed that the bedding had several rips and blood spots on the pillows and sheets. Obviously disgusted by the level of uncleanliness we asked for this to be changed immediately which they did. Manager assured us that we would be offered compensation on check out. At check out hotel manager tried to explain how the spots and rips on bedding must be from us as the rooms are apparently checked by 2 different people. After 30 minutes of discussion they offered an insulting £50 discount from 338/night junior suite. Level of service from staff is appalling and cleanliness of hotel is worrying. Whilst walking out terrible manager insulted us further by saying he would offer free parking for gatwick near by if needed. The terrible experience didn't end there as later that evening I received an email from the hotel saying that they had also made an error on the bill and would have to depit a further 25 pounds from my account as they hadn't added something from the spa. I would never return and would advise others to stay away as its such a waste of money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stace2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VShrivastava, Manager at Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Guest

It is very disappointing to read your personal review that you have put on Tripadvisor. As this is public website where people value true and honest feedbacks, this becomes my responsibility to put some light on your feedback.

We always endeavour to help our guests and you changed your room twice with the assistance of our Front Office Manager so we could meet your preferences. I am sorry it was only the spa that met your expectations and I was somewhat surprised by the staff comments you refer to.
Housekeeping is one of our strong points and these spots went unnoticed by you for over 24 hours and in that time the room was cleaned twice by our housekeeping team and further checked by a supervisor so I do believe these spots were not there before your arrival. We made the £50 gesture of goodwill to appease you but the full refund you demanded just seemed a bit unfair.

Vikas Shrivastava
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Booked the night before flying from Gatwick....Great location to APH car parking. At the hotel car park packed parked miles away from hotel entrance - annoying with luggage!! Checked in found the receptionists a bit snooty...Found our room clean and fresh but a bit on the small side so would reccommend booking a family room for the extra space as felt a bit boxed in...bathroom beautiful bath a bit on the small side...****TIP: Ask for higher floor****** Got kept awake by people above walking around but floor very squeaky and loud this was at around 2-3am very annoying wanted to complain but knew that there was no point as you cant ask people to stop walking around lol. Small double bed....Other than that great value :-)

Room Tip: Dont have ground floor room unless needed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jadey90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Grinstead
2.5 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
2.7 mi away
Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel
Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel
#3 of 4 in East Grinstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
10.2 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
13.1 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel

Property: Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Address: London Road, East Grinstead RH19 2BH, England (Formerly Felbridge Hotel and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > East Grinstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in East Grinstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than 10 miles from Gatwick Airport, the newly refurbished Crowne Plaza Felbridge is a convenient base for business and leisure, within easy access of the M25 and M23. The location of this stylish hotel, makes an ideally placed meeting and conference destination. The Crowne Plaza Felbridge is the perfect location for training, seminars, product launches, annual conferences, boardroom meetings, interviews, teambuilding and brainstorming events as well as small exhibitions. All the meeting rooms offer everything you would expect from a luxurious and contemporary hotel. Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, you will appreciate the excellent range of facilities at the Crowne Plaza Felbridge hotel, with its 116 bedrooms including accessible and family room availability and 8 purpose built meeting rooms. The hotel is conveniently located close to local attractions including the Bluebell Railway, Ashdown Forest, Tullys Farm, Lingfield Race Course, Chartwell House (home of Winston Churchill) and within 15 minutes of Gatwick Airport with direct links to London. It also boasts The Chakra Spa and Health Club which includes 5 treatment rooms, gym and leisure facilities. For eating and drinking, the Crowne Plaza Hotel restaurant, lounge and bar offer tempting international-style dishes - as well as some hearty British favourites. We offer 24-hour room service that will tingle your taste buds with locally sourced produce. With state-of-the-art AV systems, complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, free on-site parking, the luxurious Chakra Spa and Fitness Centre and delicious catering options, The Crowne Plaza Felbridge will be equipped to provide you with a seamless experience - setting you up for a productive stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felbridge Hotel East Grinstead
Felbridge East Grinstead
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel East Grinstead, West Sussex, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing