We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning rooms and helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gothic House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gothic House
York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Stunning rooms and helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

This was the second time staying at Gothic House.
We have stayed in both the cromwell and sackville rooms, which are both spacious and beautifully decorated, with the sackville room offering an en suite that wouldn't be out of place in a five star establishment.
All the staff were very helpful.
Although there was a little street noise on an evening, there was none from the coffeehouse/bar directly below, and we enjoyed making use of the bars terrace.
Breakfast was good and plenty of it, we will definately be returning.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraJo34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    24
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
8
32
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed in the Sackville room, which was very beautifully decorated, very charismatic. There was a very lovely, large free-standing bath which was our main attraction to the room, and the only one reason we booked this room in this hotel. The town, East Grinstead, is a very quiet and admirable town - especially the far end of the high street, which is where Gothic House is situated. The pub across the road did not bother us, and we could hardly hear their customers.
However, the facilities in the room and the staff failed to meet its boasted 4* expectations.As said above, the main reason we wanted this room was because of the free-standing bath, as it was New Years eve and my partner and I wanted to end the year relaxing together, not partying. Unfortunately, we never got to relax in the bath as the cold tap was hotter then the hot tap! The water was far too hot to sit in, and no matter how long we left the cold tap to run, it never got colder.

We booked the hotel a week before the night we stayed (New years eve) and check in said between 3pm and 9pm and breakfast would be served. However 3pm on the day of the stay, a man called from the hotel and told us we had to check in at 5pm as it was New Years Eve and the staff were going home at that time. I advised this was not possible as my partner had work, and we would not be able to check in until 8pm. The man then rang back a couple of hours later and advised 8pm will be fine, and that one of the staff will stay behind, however she had a taxi booked at 8:30pm because ''Its her New Years Eve too''. Hang on it a minute! If its his staffs ''New Years Eve too'' then why is he opening on New Years Eve?! And why not advise us of the different check -in times when we booked a week ago?
The breakfast was only available between 10 and 10:30am as it was the staffs ''New Years Day''.
Two other important points, the internet signal is very poor and we could not connect at all and the parking is not free - its a public pay and display down a pavementless poorly lit road about 5 minutes from the hotel.
All in all, a very very beautifully decorated room however its let down by its poor staff and poor facilities.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UKX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

we stayed there on 23rd Dec and the service, room and breakfast were spot on...well worth the affordable rates, would certainly go back

Room Tip: cromwell room very clean and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mheeaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

I made a reservation for the Sackville Room, as we were staying for a friend's wedding. Prior to our arrival, I contacted Gothic House in regards to parking and whether it was possible to check in early so we may get ready for the wedding. The staff were excellent and responded to our communication efficiently and agreed to allow us to check in early.
Although we could check in early, we were allowed in only 40 minutes before the wedding as the room was not ready when we arrived, so this didn't leave us much time to sort ourselves out. Although this was somewhat annoying, the owner did press my partner's shirt in record time and was extremely helpful. It was clear that they put every effort into making this place a very high standard indeed.
Our room, the Sackville Room, was finished to a very high standard. Lovely furnishings and fantastic en-suite.
On returning from the wedding, we sat below the rooms at CJ's bar which had a lovely atmosphere.
When we went up to our room, we found that the noise from the pub opposite Gothic House was absolutely awful. It was a karaoke night there, and what with Gothic House being a 14th Century building, it does not have double glazing. My partner and I thought we'd watch a DVD (Gothic House has a selection of books and DVD's for your entertainment, easily reached on the landing). However, the noise from the pub opposite meant that either we couldn't hear the DVD or we'd have to turn the TV up to a level which would have disturbed everyone else.
The karaoke night ended at 1am - then we experience further noise from a couple of drunk women shouting about their terrible boyfriends. It was a dreadful shame, as the bed was extremely comfortable and I really couldn't fault anything else!
Breakfast the next morning was excellent - we had the full English, and we left with full bellies, happy and relaxed.
The staff at Gothic House are all very friendly and extremely helpful, plus the room we stayed in was truly magical. Just a shame about the noise!!!!!!

Room Tip: Sackville Room is gorgeous - do stay mid week and not on a Friday or Saturday night!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SapphireGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in October in the Cromwell room. The room was beautifully decorated and was very comfortable. Tea/coffee/hot chocolate was presented upon arrival and housekeeping. Only one complaint: it can be noisy as you hear the comings and goings of the local businesses out back rolling beer barrels etc.

Breakfast was nice and tasty. Full english, tea/coffee and cereal provided.

We had a look in the Sackville room as we'd wanted to stay there originally. It is a magnificant room however it overlooks the main street so you would have traffic noise.

Excellent location near the museum and bus-stops. Around 15 minutes walk to train station.

Overall, a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank XenaWarriorPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Grinstead
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel
Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel
#3 of 4 in East Grinstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
2.9 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.4 mi away
Brambletye Hotel
Brambletye Hotel
#2 of 2 in Forest Row
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
3.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gothic House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gothic House

Property: Gothic House
Address: 55 High Street, East Grinstead RH19 3DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > East Grinstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in East Grinstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gothic House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Gothic House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gothic House East Grinstead, West Sussex, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing