We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed”

Monsoon Dining Rooms
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Visited this restaurant with my husband on 10th January on the back of the TA reviews.
We were however very dissapointed with the whole experience.
The food was mediocre and rather greasy, the waiter was indifferent and stood next to our table sniffing whilst we were eating! He seriously needed to blow his nose and it was very offputting in fact I couldn't finish my meal and couldn't wait to leave.
Definately won't be visiting here again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank c23spd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    30
    14
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best Indian Restaurant in South of England”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have been coming back to Monsoon for years. We now live in Buckinghamshire but for every birthday/ family celebration we come to Monsoon despite the 1.25 hour drive there and back each time.
The popadoms and garnish are "to die for". The red coconut relish is amazing.

You know that there will never be an "off day". The dishes are always delicious and the staff polite, speedyand helpful.

So much nicer than the local curry houses in the expensive area we live in ! I would prefer not to have to go so far for a great curry but that's life. You find a good place and stick with it.

Last visit Jan 2013. Next one, later this month.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hillyppp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Homely ambience. Good food”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Good menu and affordable, compared with some of the other nearby curry houses. I think locals often overlook this resturant because it is not glitzy or in-your-face. Enjoyed the food and service. Almost has a family feel. Will adapt food to personal choice.Can be cold if you sit by the door! Did not have to wait long for food and did not have to book on a Saturday evening. Toilets were spotless- always important! Would go there again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Utterly disgusting food - honestly avoid at all costs!”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I was staying at a hotel nearby and thought I would enjoy an Indian meal. The food was totally and utterly disgusting. The starter was cold and extremely greasy. The main (lamb biryani and keema naan) were both really greasy and very little meat in either item. Would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rimaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Row, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Better than your average Indian restaurant.”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Six of us (four adults and two children) visited early evening on Christmas Eve. It was our third choice as our first choice was closing BECAUSE it was Christmas Eve and our second choice was fully booked BECAUSE it was Christmas Eve. We were the evening's first customers at six o'clock but the restaurant soon started to fill up. The waiters were attentive and helpful without being pushy and we were given plenty of time to make our choices from the menu. The food arrived within a reasonable time and everyone agreed that it was quite delicious. The bill for six of us came to £88, including drinks, which I thought was quite reasonable. Monsoon is located in East Grinstead's historic High Street which adds to the general ambience. If you like Indian food, this restaurant is well worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monsoon Dining Rooms also viewed

East Grinstead, West Sussex
East Grinstead, West Sussex
 
East Grinstead, West Sussex
 

Been to Monsoon Dining Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing