We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad but true”
Review of The Emperor

The Emperor
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Sad but true”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We use to love coming here but sadly it has been going downhill for sometime. We now go to tammi Thai's or back to Croydon to the wing yip. It is too pricey for quite frankly average Chinese food. The staff seem miserable and they use to make such an effort with our family.
We first starting coming here in 2007 but had our last meal in January and won't be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nwmeredith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    14
    13
    8
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Crawley
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A reasonable meal at a reasonable price”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We haven't eaten here for some time and although it wasn't quite as good as previously, it was acceptable. The service was fine, the food hot and tasty. Our only complaint was that the restaurant was very cold when we first arrived and didn't warm up until most of the tables were occupied. One good point is that the tables are well separated and you don't feel as though you are on top of other peole or listening to others' conversations.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IanJoan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worth, United Kingdom
1 review
“We use to be regulars, not anymore!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We use to love going here but things have dramatically changed for the worst. They have lost the soul and heart that made them great. Atmosphere was terrible, the food was poor, and the cost was excessive for the quality. Would not recommend anyone eating here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We have eaten here many, many times over the last 15 years and it has always been good. Some time ago the restaurant was advertised for sale, and it seems the existing owners are already winding it down.
We ate here earlier this week, and the service, quality of food and general atmosphere have all taken a serious dive. A great shame that this once seriously good restaurant has changed from a 'must' to a 'if we really must'.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arakis11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent service and quality food”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Came to the restaurant couple weeks ago at the weekend, it wasn't particular busy but that didn't give any excuse for the restaurant to not perform 110% as usual. We try and come here as much as possible because it never disappoints!
Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reviewerel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Emperor also viewed

East Grinstead, West Sussex
East Grinstead, West Sussex
 
East Grinstead, West Sussex
East Grinstead, West Sussex
 
East Grinstead, West Sussex
East Grinstead, West Sussex
 

Been to The Emperor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing