We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another good meal”
Review of Mae Ping - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mae Ping
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“another good meal”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We went back for a family lunch as my parents had never been to a thai restaurant. They both loved the food. The service was good and the staff was more friendly and smiling than in our previous visit. Wine by the glass still not very exciting. Good vegetarian options. Light food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mmerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Forest Row, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Top Thai”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This restaurant is tucked away in a side street in East Grinstead and would be hard to come across by a casual passer-by - which is a shame as it is absolutely superb. Décor, food and service are all faultless and this establishment wouldn't be out of place in London's West End. My wife and I visited on Tuesday evening and the restaurant was very quiet - which is a shame because no business, however good, can survive without money coming in. Another restaurant in East Grinstead, given high ratings on Trip Advisor, had to close recently due to lack of custom. It would be a great shame if something similar happened to Mae Ping, so you really should consider giving them a try. I'm sure that you won't regret it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic visit on £15 fresh buffet Sunday”
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

I came here with my wife having ordered take aways in the past and loved them.

Sunday turns out to be a buffet meal. It's £15 per person and you can order from their buffet menu as much as you like, providing you are not wasting dishes.

The food is amazing. It's cooked fresh and they were more than happy to recommend more dishes and keep us eating! The flavours are great and the staff were friendly. The green currey has a very clean flavour and the king prawn dish was generous with its helpings, the prawns cooked to be juicy and not overdone.

It was a shame for the restaurant that on our visit it was fairly empty, but it was 3pm on a Sunday. For £15 a head it really is a bargain buffet for "A La Carte" dishes.

I thoroughly recommend Mae Ping as a treat or Sunday special.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveJWarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“For once completely authentic”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We greatly enjoyed our visit to the Mae Ping. The cuisine is from Chiang Mai in Northern Thailand where we holiday every year. My wife has done a number of cookery courses there and we can confirm that this is authentic, well prepared Lanna food.
Five stars would have been given but for the painfully slow service; the restaurant was full and maybe the kitchen overstretched. This was easily the best meal we had in East Grinstead, and without any doubt we will be going back on our next visit,

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wingfield73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food but very over priced drink very expensive then 10% automatically added.”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Went out with my wife for a meal. Service good ,food excellent. But no real atmosphere and was a bit shocked at the bill small bottle of beer £3.50 then 10% added to that for service. Would use again but for special event

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mae Ping also viewed

East Grinstead, West Sussex
East Grinstead, West Sussex
 
East Grinstead, West Sussex
East Grinstead, West Sussex
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing