We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (777)
Filter reviews
777 results
Traveler rating
415
262
70
23
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
415
262
70
23
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mini bar main course lovely hotel self service spa bath main building carvery restaurant buffet breakfast evening meal wide choice good size pretty village beef plenty of parking waiting staff carvery style starters and desserts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 777 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2019

We stayed overnight whilst doing the South Downs Way path. The room was very good for the money with nice bathroom and facilities adjacent to the main hotel building. Our room (102) was just opposite the entrance and we did experience some disturbance due to this both late and early.

The restaurant is quite old fashioned and is a carvery type affair. This suited us just fine given a long day on our feet and we tucked in with endeavour and enjoyment. The roast meats were gorgeous, but i wonder if a second or third night would be an issue as this is the main food offering so little variation available. The bar area is also tiny if you want a pre-dinner drink.

Breakfast was equally good in terms of a buffet (hot and cold). My wife thought that the scrambled eggs are the best she has ever had at a buffet!

So, slightly eclectic but we were more than happy. The staff looked after us well. We considered it good value for our requirements.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Barry H
Thank you for taking the time to post your review - I will pass your comments to the Tollgate Team.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2019

Recently stayed for 4 nights here on a Bed & Breakfast basis. This is a medium sized hotel situated in 2 main buildings within the attractive and historical village of Bramber, about 10 miles from Brighton. We were located Room 207 in the 'Westgate' building which overlooked the road, but the traffic was sparse and did not affect our stay. The room was clean , spacious and all facilities needed for an enjoyable stay.
Breakfast was eaten in the main building and the quality of the food was very good. There was an extensive choice of food and particular praise must be given to the bacon! Staff were friendly and helpful.
A good choice to stay in the South Downs region with plenty of interesting towns / villages to visit during your stay. If you want a 'car-free' day - the Route 2 bus (hourly) runs to Hove & Brighton and is a pleasant way to see the area, but do not be in a rush, as it takes about 75 minutes.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Eric S for taking the time to give us your feedback. We hope to see you again soon.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2019 via mobile

We stayed in this wonderful establishment as part of our trip cycling the South Downs Way over a 2 and a half day period. They were very accommodating, allowing us secure bike storage. The place is full of character. The staff were brilliant and the accommodation was second to none. 10/10

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank dragon_in_exile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We really appreciate your 5* review draqon-in-exile. Well done for your cycling efforts - it is no mean feat.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2019

We wanted to take our severely autistic son away with us and had sampled this hotel previously without him. We took the chance and it paid off handsomely. Thanks to some very creative thinking by Gemma at the Old Tollgate we had the perfect room and the perfect place for breakfasts and evening meals. To be able to eat privately meant we could all relax and other diners were not disturbed. The whole stay passed without any challenges. This was our longest stay in a hotel with our son all due to helpful staff, imagination and true customer care. Many many thanks.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jackie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Jackie c
I'm delighted to read that you all enjoyed your stay and that we made your dining experiences pleasurable.
We do hope that you visit again very soon.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2019 via mobile

Fabulous staff, relaxing stay and room and ensuite shower beautiful. Booked direct and found an excellent deal including dinner and breakfast, definitely recommend!was in countryside location but very near to coast and amenities.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Go816904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Sue for your 5* review. We really appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews