We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bramber
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had a large room in Sunny Croft, which had some original features including a fireplace. The bathroom was very modern with underfloor heating which was a real bonus. We had dinner in the hotel. I have dietary requirements and the staff were very helpful. We had two courses as that was all we could manage! Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. We will be staying here again when next in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Linda E
Thank you for your excellent review. Sunnycroft is our block of executive bedrooms all of which have been finisehd to a high standard. I am pleased to read that you found the room comfortable and you enjoyed dining in the restaurant.
We shall look forard to welcoming you back again soon.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

460 - 466 of 588 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

We spent one night in this hotel and found it did what it says on the tin!!! The room was clean and comfortable, the wine (house Merlot) was delicious and even better when the remains were taken home and drunk later after being 'aired', the sandwich lunch was excellent, and the dinner (carvery) was really very good for the money. Pleasing breakfast even under the hotplates and kind enthusiastic staff despite a misunderstanding over the evening drinks order.

We did have a problem with plumbing, hot towel rail erratic and the hot water to the shower must have been at the end of the system plus no light in the shower but they were willing to help. It is worth a visit if you are in that part of the world.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for, we asked for standard and it was fine. It over looked the 'main road b...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dancerstansted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Dancerstansted
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed both your stayin the hotel and the food in the restaurant. I shall pass your comments re the towel rail to our maintenance team.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Have just spent 1 night at the old tollgate in bramber. Firstly must say all the staff are excellent and very helpful. Rooms clean and very comfortable. Had a meal in the restuarant which was 3 course, the choice on offer was outstanding and the food very tasty and fresh. Dont forget to leave room for the great choice of puddings (you will be spoilt for choice) but as we were there on a Sunday we could go up as many times as we wanted. Had a good nights sleep but did not have room for the breakfast after the meal the night before. Will have to make a return visit to try this. All in all a great hotel at a great price. Give it a try .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MICK50125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Mick50125
Many thanks for your excellent review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and we shall look orward to welcoming you back again soon.
best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were looking for somewhere relatively close to Brighton for a couple of nights. We had a room in SunnyCroft, just a few steps away from the restaurant. Our room was very nice with a minibar, underfloor heating in the bathroom, and air conditioning. Everything we needed had been provided.
The bed was very comfortable and we both slept extremely well both nights we were here.
It is refreshing to be in a hotel restaurant that is buzzing with guests.
Breakfast was excellent. The was a good choice of cold and hot items. They serve fried bread here, which many hotels do not, and black pudding was on the breakfast menu.
Dinner was super. It was difficult to know what to choose.
I am not normally a fan of carvery restaurants, but here was very good. I thought the price for dinner was reasonable. My only criticism would be that dishes were not labelled and while I could ask about the main courses for dinner I had to guess which desert was which from the list on the blackboard.
The staff were very helpful and friendly.
We both look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summergee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear summergee
Many thanks for taking the time to write your excellent review. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed both your stay and the food.
We shall look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We booked a 2 night break via the Tesco Clubcard tokens and got a good bed and breakfast deal in a superior room. This turned out to be in Sunnycroft (an attractive large Victorian house adjacent to the hotel) and was spacious with a large shower room and a versatile air-conditioning / heating system. This kept the room very comfortable at a temperature that you could pre-program. The bed was at least king-sized, firm but very comfortable. The pillows were very hard but, as we always travel with our own, we slept very well. Tea/coffee facilities were good and fresh milk in a jug was available from reception which we kept in the minibar.
I am not a fan of carverys as the food is never really hot, especially the vegetables. However the choice was extensive, not just the normal meat joints, and the serving generous. The quality and value for money was excellent as shown by the fully booked restaurant on the Friday evening.
The self-service breakfast was more disappointing. Waiting for the communal toaster to disgorge its wares reminded us of a low cost tourist hotel in Spain. And the Full English served from the carvery warming trays is not the same as one ordered at and delivered to you table, possibly freshly cooked. It probably reduces the number of staff required but it doen't feel quite so special as being waited on.
The staff were very helpful and friendly and, if we needed to stay in the area again, we would probably return given the quiet location and quality of the room.

Room Tip: We had Room 314, at the back of 'Sunnycroft'.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PnPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Many thanks for writing your postive review. Sunnycroft is our executive block and I am very pleased to read that you found the rooms to be comfortable. We are an extremely busy carvery restaurant and I will pass your comments regarding breakfast to our chefs and restaurant manager.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Room great 4poster bed & jacuzzi in the corner of room!

Buffet breakfast very good, evening buffet great, fantastic choice of "help yourself" starters too many to list! Cavery with 4 roasts, & at least 6+ other mains. I had chicken dish one night, great beef 2nd night & duck in orange sauce tonight. Lots of choice on the desert buffet including steamed pud, summer pudding, ice cream (I only found that tonight!), etc.etc.etc........

All the staff are polite & helpful. All in all a good hotel for a weekend away, I guess any longer & you would get very fat

I strongly recomend this hotel

Room Tip: 107 has a jacuzzi! !!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fed_up_me_to
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thanks for your positive review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed our carvery and I shall pass your comments on to the chefs regarding the excellent food.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We booked a 3 night break via the Best Western website and got a very good deal for dinner, bed and breakfast. Our superior room in Sunnycroft (an attractive large Victorian house adjacent to the hotel) was spacious and had a good sized shower room with a heated floor. We were pleased to have a walk-in shower instead of one over a bath. The bed was extremely comfortable and we slept really well. Free WIFi was very efficient. Tea/coffee facilities were good and Andrew the Manager gave us some fresh milk in a jug which we kept in the minibar. There were extra pillows and blankets in the wardrobe. I had thought that having a carvery for 3 nights may have been too much but there was always a choice of fish, casseroles, pies, etc. The food was excellent. My only gripe was having the same fairly ordinary vegetables on offer each night but this was only a very minor niggle. All the staff were very helpful, cheerful and friendly and everyone we spoke to said they really enjoyed working there. Well done to the owner. We would recommend the Old Tollgate Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in Sunnycroft are large and comfortable but are accessed by stairs only.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyWanderers51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write your excellent review. It is always great to read comments such as yours as we always strive to exceed our customers expectations.
We shall look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bramber
0.1 mi away
The Castle Inn Hotel
The Castle Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bramber
368 reviews
9.4 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,648 reviews
7.0 mi away
Best Western Princes Marine Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Travelodge Worthing Seafront
4.2 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
407 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Ardington Hotel
The Ardington Hotel
#2 of 11 in Worthing
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel

Address: The Street, Bramber BN44 3WE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Bramber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bramber
Price Range: $93 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 miles north of Brighton, the Old Tollgate Hotel is one of the most popular 3 Star Country Hotels in West Sussex. Set within the idyllic Village of Bramber, Steyning at the foot of the Sussex Downs, you can expect wonderful customer service and comfort whilst enjoying the hotel’s old worldly charm. The modern traveller will benefit from Free Parking, Free WIFI and Flat Screen TVs in every guest room.Our award winning Carvery Restaurant offers a superb selection of perfectly roasted joints, a spectacular choice of hot dishes, smoked fish, salads and mouth watering desserts.An idyllic Wedding Reception Venue with a licence to host your Civil Ceremony. The ideal hotel near to the South Coast where you can rest your head after enjoying a shopping expedition in nearby Brighton. Perfect base for lovers of golf, walking, cycling, horse riding and for visiting the many nearby historic houses and gardens in East and West Sussex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bramber
Bramber Best Western
Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel Bramber, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing