We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always enjoy staying here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bramber
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always enjoy staying here”
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here before with an elderly neighbour and we had the disabled room 215 I believe, which was very nice but my neighbour and I found getting into the bath to have a shower very difficult and I actually fell in the bath on one occasion! So on my last visit on the 9th November for two nights I requested a walk in shower which although it didn't have anything to hold on to, I actually found it easier!
My son and nephew shared a lovely room which was very spacious and they were very impressed with it, both rooms appeared very clean and lovely and warm.
Lovely breakfast with well cooked food and good service.
We had a voucher for our Friday night dinner which was very good but I would rather prefer more selection on menu as I don't always want a carvery so went to another local hotel for our second evening meal.
I left three items in my room so we phoned up and they said they would post them to me, Hoping it will arrive soon.
All in all a really nice hotel, but for disabled customers I would advise going somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winegum10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    206
    60
    22
    6
See reviews for
101
304
13
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at the Old Tollgate Hotel on the weekend of 3rd and 4th November 2012. We upgraded to a superor room and were not disappointed. Nice hotel, good room good breakfast. We did not have an evening meal at the hotel as we were visiting our daughter so eat out in Brighton. From what we could establish the resturant only does a cavery so at £24per person for 2 courses it appears expensive. We found it very close to Brighton so it was best for us to stay here and travel in. Lots of parking unlike being in the centre of brighton. We will definately stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: If available book B&B as the breakfast is excellent and it is cheaper if you do it as part of yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmattimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed hear on the 26/27 October 2012 as our daughter Lisa and her husband Nigel was having their wedding reception here. The hotel accomodation was excellent large room and reasonably priced. The meal we had with family on the friday was of a good standard, and breakfast was also to a good standard. The food at the wedding breakfast on 27 October was also of a good standard. The hotel has an old world feel about it. yes I like staying there , in fact I shall stay there again in 2013 they have walk leaflits so if you go for a long weekend or even longer you can do a diffrent walk every day, yes I was impressed. I can only advise, if you want a wedding reception at a hotel look no further, and ruins of Bramber Castle oppisite what a setting for photographs. I have done many reviews for tripadvisor praise is often hard to come by , but in this case praise is due well done.

Room Tip: All our guests had large rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scillybishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briisbane Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Very impressed with the size of this suite. Our room was at the end of the corridor and entry to the bedroom was through the lounge. The bed was larger than many we have stayed in on our vacation with plenty of room to move around, which we appreciated as coming to close of our vacation we needed some space to sort all the bits and pieces accumulated in our travels. TVs in both the lounge and bedroom was great as well. Breakfast was to a quality expected. Would recommend this to any one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denjudfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2012

As the father of the groom, attending a wedding reception at this Hotel recently, I would like to thank Maggie Parsons, (General Manager) and Robert ( Catering Manager) and ALL the staff, this Hotel is first class in every way, and it was so nice to attend a function with 60 persons, and not hear One complaint, the food, and service was excellent throughout, I highly recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of holding a function there or just going for a meal, you won't be disappointed .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I would just like to say how impresses I was with the quality of food we enjoyed on a recent Friday lunch at your establishment. I treated my husband to lunch for his birthday as he has always enjoyed coming to the tollgate for a long time now. We had a 2 course meal which consisted if a main and a dessert. My husband thoroughly enjoyed his beef and I can't say enough about the desserts. Everything was layer put amazingly as usual and the choice cannot be beaten. The chefs were very helpful. I would like to say a special thanks to James and Ian for there attentiveness to our needs. Thankyou to all your staff for a lovely day.

Janice and bob Laughton .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Just returned from a stay at this hotel with friends whilst doing the South Downs Way. We had an exec room which was lovely - great shower and really lovely room. Friends in the regualr rooms were less complimentary.

The breakfast was OK - especially when you realised to order any specials on arrival.

However the carvery was a nightmare - we arrived and planned to eat in the hotel, however quickly changed our minds. The smell was overpowering - boiled cabbage and burnt meat. Even to our friends non vegetarian noses, this wasn't good.

On Staurday night, the smell was compounded by the wedding disco that was loudly playing next to the bar - we were very glad that we had booked a restaurant in Steyning for dinner at this point.

The staff we dealt with were all perfectly pleasant and helpful, but the hotel just really wasn't our thing. I found myself wishing for the lovely B&B we had stayed in previously!!

Room Tip: Book an exec room using the advanced booking deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel. We are however also an extremely busy carvery restaurant. I note that you are vegetarians and would like to advise that we do have vegetarian options available.

Regards
Maggie Parsons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bramber
0.1 mi away
The Castle Inn Hotel
The Castle Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bramber
358 reviews
4.2 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
387 reviews
9.4 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Travelodge Worthing Seafront
7.0 mi away
Best Western Princes Marine Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Ardington Hotel
The Ardington Hotel
#2 of 11 in Worthing
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel
Address: The Street, Bramber BN44 3WE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Bramber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bramber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 miles north of Brighton, the Old Tollgate Hotel is one of the most popular 3 Star Country Hotels in West Sussex. Set within the idyllic Village of Bramber, Steyning at the foot of the Sussex Downs, you can expect wonderful customer service and comfort whilst enjoying the hotel’s old worldly charm. The modern traveller will benefit from Free Parking, Free WIFI and Flat Screen TVs in every guest room.Our award winning Carvery Restaurant offers a superb selection of perfectly roasted joints, a spectacular choice of hot dishes, smoked fish, salads and mouth watering desserts.An idyllic Wedding Reception Venue with a licence to host your Civil Ceremony. The ideal hotel near to the South Coast where you can rest your head after enjoying a shopping expedition in nearby Brighton. Perfect base for lovers of golf, walking, cycling, horse riding and for visiting the many nearby historic houses and gardens in East and West Sussex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bramber
Bramber Best Western
Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel Bramber, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing