We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Bramber
Post
Inbox
Search

“Birthday”

The Old Tollgate Carvery Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Bramber
Price range: $16 - $41
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Commonly described as a visual á la carte, our award winning Carvery Restaurant offers an amazing choice of locally sourced, seasonal food. For starters we have delicious homemade soups, a variety of hot appetisers and our famous hors d’oeuvres selection including wonderful smoked fish.For main course choose as much as you like from beautifully cooked joints of meat and tasty hot dishes including fish, casseroles, pies and vegetarian options.In addition to daily Rib of Beef, Chef will select from the following succulent roasts:Lamb, Roast Pork with Crackling, Honey Roasted Gammon, Turkey Crown, Chicken, Duckling , Game and more.To compliment your chosen dishes there is always a great choice of freshly steamed or roasted vegetables on offer which are constantly being replenished to maximise their texture and flavour. Everyone's favourite is Yorkshire pudding cooked to perfection, plus our delicious sauces, gravies and oven-baked stuffing. Don’t forget to make room for one of our delicious hot or cold puddings. You can try a little of as many of them as you like! If you prefer you can choose cheese and biscuits with juicy grapes and celery which is offered complimentary within any two and three course menu option.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Overnight stay with b and b plus evening meal for two. Very good value, lovely room and staff who served us Manager with excellent personality (plus the white teeth) and Chrissy, accommodated us with an impromptu cake and candles! Really good service all round. Thank you.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank pinklinc20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaggieP32, General Manager at The Old Tollgate Carvery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you sandra m for your positive feedback.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (744)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 744 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Was very disappointed with my family visit tonight. The starter didn’t inspire any of us to have a go and have one. The carvery was okay not very hot however the very thin slices of meat was nice. Limited veg and not quite cooked.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank DAMottershead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaggieP32, General Manager at The Old Tollgate Carvery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear DAMottershead I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. If you had brought your comments to the attention of the manager on duty they would have done their utmost to ensure that you left happy. Please feel free to contact me to discuss further.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

no wonder people go there..to eat as much as they want ! regardless of the Food! looking at the dried up starters we declined. smoked salmon clunked together! Beef so tough unedible. couliflower under cooked. best thing were the desserts. service very good. but for 10 of us including 2 children and the Bill was over £200.. everyone around us seemed to enjoy but that I feel because they were earting as much as they wanted !!

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank barryjmishon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaggieP32, General Manager at The Old Tollgate Carvery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I'm sorry you did not enjoy your experience with us however as you can see so many of our reviews are 5*
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Everything ready when we arrived for coffee and the coffee topped up as we were thirsty. Returning on time they were ready for us and an extra bar man turned up - the Manager hinself - so all 60 of us served reasonablky promptly. Paula our designated staff member then explained how it all worked so we would not overload the carvery staff and table by table we went for it. Food options as usual excellent and all 60 were eating at the same time. Desserts followed with coffee and we all left very happy with our event. We will be back next January.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ChimneyCorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaggieP32, General Manager at The Old Tollgate Carvery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear heysham, thank you for sharing your satisfaction regarding your recent dining experience with us. It was a pleasure to look after your group once again and we appreciate your great comments regarding the team. I am pleased to read that you found the service they provided friendly and efficient. Thank you for choosing The Old Tollgate and we shall look forward to welcoming you back again next year.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I and my 17 friends had a delicious lunch some carvery and some cold table followed by perfect puddings and coffee and tea. The atmosphere was friendly and fun helped enormously by the attention of the Manager Chris supported by Paula.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Q8927KZkarenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaggieP32, General Manager at The Old Tollgate Carvery Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Karen M for sharing your feedback. I am delighted to read that your special lunch was a huge success.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Tollgate Carvery Restaurant also viewed

 
Steyning, Horsham District
Bramber, Horsham District
 
Steyning, Horsham District
Steyning, Horsham District
 

Been to The Old Tollgate Carvery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing