We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Bramber
Price range: $16 - $41
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Commonly described as a visual á la carte, our award winning Carvery Restaurant offers an amazing choice of locally sourced, seasonal food. For starters we have delicious homemade soups, a variety of hot appetisers and our famous hors d’oeuvres selection including wonderful smoked fish.For main course choose as much as you like from beautifully cooked joints of meat and tasty hot dishes including fish, casseroles, pies and vegetarian options.In addition to daily Rib of Beef, Chef will select from the following succulent roasts:Lamb, Roast Pork with Crackling, Honey Roasted Gammon, Turkey Crown, Chicken, Duckling , Game and more.To compliment your chosen dishes there is always a great choice of freshly steamed or roasted vegetables on offer which are constantly being replenished to maximise their texture and flavour. Everyone's favourite is Yorkshire pudding cooked to perfection, plus our delicious sauces, gravies and oven-baked stuffing. Don’t forget to make room for one of our delicious hot or cold puddings. You can try a little of as many of them as you like! If you prefer you can choose cheese and biscuits with juicy grapes and celery which is offered complimentary within any two and three course menu option.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We used to love this restaurant but we visited recently and were quite disappointed! The starter section used to have so many different weird and wonderful things from stuffed apricot halves, curried eggs, loads of salad things, pasta's pâtés .... You name it ....... they had it, there was something for everyone! Now this has changed to a basically fish section, rollmops, herrings, shell fish (all kinds) etc. If you don't like fish or are allergic to fish, there isn't much to choose from other than the basic salad items you can do at home!
The carvery food is lovely although if you like to taste two meats (or even go for all four!) helpings are quite big and we saw several people unable to finish their plates.
The puddings are not very interesting and not much choice! Coffees were pricey too!
On a positive note the staff were lovely, very friendly and helpful and mostly cheerful! The only one we found quite miserable was the chef carving the meat, he needs to raise a smile and at least try to look happy in his job! My husband tried to have a little joke with him (as did a few others) and he didn't even answer or smile. Cheer up mate!
It's a shame such a nice place has gone downhill, I know several people who have vowed not to go back, such a shame.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Banquebop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Restaurant, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for your review we do take our customers comments seriously and I will pass your comments to the chef re the cold table. We do of course have quite a selection of starters in addition to the smoked salmon and fish dishes that you mention. I would be very happy to discuss your experience with you if you would like to contact me personally.

kind rgards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    100
    65
    38
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Use the Voucher”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We regularly visit the Old Tollgate carvery - using the voucher that you can download from their website. We normally have one course as this is more than enough and the offer is around £6.00 - £6.50 for one course. I have the cold starters as a main as this is my favourite and I can have roast any day of the week. Ask for a cold dinner plate and enjoy ! The only slightly awkward thing is other diners do not realise that this is your main and elderly ladies make loud comments on the size of your starter.
My husband always plumps for the roast beef and friends that dine with us ( party of 10 normally) , all say the casseroles etc are delicious. We tend not to have coffee as the price is out of proportion with the rest of the meal (over £4.00 ). When it is a Birthday celebration they are more than happy to allow a cake to be brought in - and they provide plates ,knapkins and a knife - they even light the candles and serve it when you give them the nod.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SussexMartina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Restaurant, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments, the carvery is extremely good value when you have a voucher. Your comment re the coffee price is not correct though - we do not charge £4.00 for coffee. Our current offer is available on our website. Look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch at The Old Tollgate”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Was treated to a Sunday Lunch at the Old Tollgate and was very pleased with the food and the atmosphere. Starters, as usual were excellent, and the carvery I felt was very good (although the red cabbage could have been better).

On the whole a very pleasant experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigBlueBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Restaurant, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your lunch here at The Old Tollgate. We shall look forward to welcoming you back soon.

kind regards
Maggie Parsons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burgess hill
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“very dissapointed!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

well you will see i was here a year ago and stayed the night,this visit was for a late Sunday Lunch! On arrival we walked past the carvery and the first thing i noticed was the sorry looking peas and carrots then came the view of the pasta in a tomato sauce which looked more like a over dry pasta bake so i was dubious of the rest of the evening!
We were shown to our table in the newer part but as i didn't have my sunglasses with me i asked for a table in the old part of the restaurant which has the wood panelled walls and a bit more of an atmosphere!
We had to wait for the rest of the party to arrive and so ordered drinks to have in the lounge.
The lounge was freezing cold as all the windows were open with empty glasses left around.This was going downhill rapidly.
When the remaining guests arrived we went to our table and the waiter asked if we had been before and know the set up? Yes we have thankyou and that was it!
We weren't asked if we wanted to see a wine list or would anyone like a drink so i went to the bar to get some drinks which were taken to the table and we asked for a wine list.
So it was off to the cold buffet selection which didnt look too bad but you could tell it had been out a while but ok.
Starter course cleared it was off for the carvery and oh yes "can we see the wine list please"
The meats on the carvery looked ok but the beef was well cooked but remember the peas and carrots? Well the peas i passed on and opted for carrots and roast potatoes.
The carrots were tasteless and nearly mushed and the roast potatoes were the opposite being large and hard in the middle. The whole meal was very bland and not enjoyed by any of us.Oh and by the way we never saw a wine list but asked for a bottle of house red which was delivered just as we finished our main course.
Desserts were ok and so was the complimentry cheese and biscuits.
We settled our bill and departed.
I have to see out of the twenty or so years i have visited this had to be the worse and i would be very reluctant to go again as there as far better places at half the price!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bobthehamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Restaurant, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments, our guests feedback is extremely important to us. I apologise that your experience was not upto our usual high standard. I have forwarded your review to both the Chefs and the Restaurant team and would like to assure you that your comments will be acted upon. Please contact me personally whereby we can discuss the matter further.

kind regards
Maggie Parsons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great value for a night”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and I booked a room with dinner and breakfast, we got such a good rate that by the time we would have paid for dinner and breakfast we would have only paid £10 for the room, so it was fantastic value for money.
We have stayed on this offer in the past, but this year was an even better price, this time we had a superior room, the room was very clean and comfortable, the bed was way to soft for us, but did not cause us any real problems.
The carvery dinner was very good, we had three courses, the starter was not as good as it has been in the past, there did not seem as much choice this time, the carvery was good and desert was ok, but I do think that if we did not have the room and breakfast deal the dinner seems a bit expensive on its own.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the service was very good from all of the staff at dinner and at breakfast.
Overall this was a good break and excellent value for money and we would go again if the same offer was on foir the same sort of price.
A good selection of red wines were available, we tried two of them and they were both very good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sasimmo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Restaurant, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
I am delighted to read you have enjoyed your visit to The Old Tollgate. We shall look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

kind regards
Maggie Parsons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Restaurant also viewed

 
Steyning, West Sussex
Steyning, West Sussex
 
Steyning, West Sussex
 

Been to BEST WESTERN Old Tollgate Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing