We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (486)
Filter reviews
487 results
Traveler rating
268
165
35
10
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
268
165
35
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub sky tv beer garden downs link sloping floors beautiful village warm welcome fish and chips pretty village stayed two nights saturday night an overnight stay full english breakfast breakfast service old building south downs way car park
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 487 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2016

Firstly the flowers on the front of this pub just make you feel good, although you will have to visit in summer to see them. The barman we met was a real character, the food was excellent & plentiful and you are spoilt for choice on where to sit, both indoors or out.
Very pleasant pub in a lovely village.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank invicta054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2016

I was lucky enough to have a surprise birthday party arranged here yesterday and this pub is just the best. If you are considering going - just go! - You'll love it! The food is great something for everyone, they have a great selection of beers, ales, wines etc and most important of all - The staff - everyone who works there really wants you to enjoy yourself and nothing is to much trouble. Although there are pubs closer to us this is our local and have never been disappointed by any aspect. They also have accomodation - what are you waiting for????

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2016

Visited the Castle Inn three times now and I can not fault this place. Great atmosphere, friendly Staff who you can have a laugh with, great food. Not expensive and big portions too What more could you ask for?

Haven't actually started at the Castle Inn as I only live a few miles away, but would definitely recommend a visit to this place.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank hykybrd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2016

Although the Castle is tucked away in such a small village, it was great. We love peace and quiet and we certainly found it here. We had a very warm welcome from the bar man, were shown to a spotless room, and from then on enjoyed great, friendly service from ALL the staff. We only had one evening meal, but that was delicious, as were the breakfasts. Cannot fault the hotel, service or value for money.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon_hemper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2016

A great location with great beer. The evening meal was first class, Salt and Pepper Squid followed by Ham and Eggs with Sweet Potato chips. The breakfast is a particular favourite of mine offering choices for everyone.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews