We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Castle Inn Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windsor Hotel(Worthing)(Great Value!)
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$145
$141
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (406)
Filter reviews
406 results
Traveler rating
216
144
31
7
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
216
144
31
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubsky tvbeer gardendowns linkfood was fantasticeggs benedictbeautiful villagewarm welcomegood sizewould stay againlovely mealstayed for one nightsouth downs wayfull english breakfastsandwichessunday lunchbreakfast was excellent
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
341 - 346 of 406 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2012

What a lovely Gem on our doorstep, had a lovely meal, genorous sizes, excellent service. The room was quite tired, but in all honestly it lived up to my expectations. The breakfast was lovely, proper Sussex sausage and bacon, again a proper portion. Nice country walks on the doorstep in a picturesque setting, coupled with good food and good service from the Castle Inn made it a memorable visit all for the right reasons.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJRHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I stayed at the Castle Inn at the end of April with my wife and dad when we were walking the Downs Link Path. It's situated in the village of Bramber which is absolutely idyllic - definitely worth checking out the ruins of Bramber Castle. The pub itself has got loads of character and the staff were really friendly and went out of their way to help. Before we ordered food, the chef came round to check we were happy with what was on the menu, as Sunday there's a limited menu - he offered to cook us something else if there wasn't anything we fancied. he did this at every table of diners which is definitely going above and beyond. The food was great by the way.

The beer here is excellent, tried the Harveys Sussex and London Pride, both very well kept. Breakfast was fantastic and really set us up for a day's walking. We met the owner Steve and his wife at breakfast and they were very welcoming.

I will definitely be going back and recommend it to anyone, particularly if you're walking or cycling the South Downs Way or Downslink.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HorshamDuckface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I cycled with friends from Winchester along the SDW. Day one was terrible and we didn't arrive until very late. Chris the head chef saw the state of us and said he couldn't give us only sandwiches. So a short time later we were tucking into a dellicious meal. Just what we needed.
Everyone else was just as freindly and helpful. A big breakfast the next morning set us up for another long day.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewFSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Good value for a stop along the SDW in a reasonable sized village that has a range of facilities and a bike shop closeby. Friendly staff, Steve looked after us and we got a room upgrade. Secure bike store. Simple, clean accommodation that exceeded expectations for the price. If you stay in the summer of 2012 be sure to check that Steve has done the SDW himself!

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

This was the first time we have visited the South Downs and the setting was absolutely perfect! The staff were extremely friendly and made both ourselves and our little dog feel very welcome, with the dog being given some little titbits which went down well. We enjoyed two evening meals during our stay which were very good and there was a good choice of menu. We would have eaten on our third night, but the hotel had run out of food due to a very busy Sunday lunchtime! My husband was there to run the Brighton Marathon and the owner was kind enough to put on a runners' breakfast which helped out a lot. The breakfast was great and also the room was very quiet and comfortable and although we thought it might be noisy due to smokers outside, didnt have any problems at all. We have booked again for next year and would recommend the hotel to our friends and family.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank sally h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews