We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Saracens Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Towcester
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed for one night on a Friday and found all the staff really helpful, from the girls behind the bar letting us try a sample of the different ales (we are from 'up North after all),the two girls in the restaurant (Charlotte was one) and the other girl who went out of her way to make sure we enjoyed our meal. Mixed grill by the way; great! Followed by chocolate brownie and the cheese board; compliments to the chef that night!
Martin, the Assistant Manager kindly printed off our £5 food and drink voucher for signing up, and left it on our reserved table; nice touch.
The room was finished to a high standard, very warm and cosy, powerful shower and with a huge bed and enough coffee, tea, and hot chocolate to last through the stay. (Premier listening?)
Great breakfast and welcome from Charlotte again (doesn't anyone go home?).
Thanks again for all your efforts.

Room Tip: room 15 backing onto car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isteam54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your overwhelming feedback. Your comments will be passed on to our valuable team members and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    129
    59
    34
    27
See reviews for
82
157
7
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Visited yesterday for Sunday lunch... on arrival we were told our table was not ready... the young girl who I presume was management was very apologetic... and took us over to our table shortly after our arrival. The waitress was very friendly... as are the rest of the staff.. there was however a short delay on our drinks... Food here is consistently delicious... roast dinners are superb! The atmosphere here is great especially...when the sun is shining. Look forward to returning in summer....

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MFields1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Many thanks for your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us at the Saracens head. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blakesley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Anybody entering The Saracens Head restaurant for the first time would almost certainly feel a sense of excitement. The restaurant is impeccably furnished and gives off a decent vibe. But for me that's where the positives end. The food is average and the lack of real ale is a shame to me personally. The Saracens Head has potential in abundance but until the quality of the food increases I wouldn't dine here again.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank glennjames88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay with us at the Saracens Head Hotel. I am glad that you like the décor and feel of the Saracens head. I am sorry that our food was not up to our usual standard I will ensure that this is fed back to the kitchen team, we should be offering 4 real ales on our bar I will be looking in to why this was not the case on your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here the night before The Silverstone Half-Marathon. The room was clean and the bed extremely comfortable. A good choice at breakfast time and it was extremely pleasant to be served by a bright and breezy young lady, immediately the 8 a.m. Sunday breakfast became available. We returned after the marathon for a drink before heading back up north ... The bar is a little small for a hotel as popular as this Country Inn and could possibly take a table or two more (open up the room off the bar evenings/weekends if there are no conference bookings???). All-in-all, a great choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay with us at the Saracens Head Hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our high standards are being kept. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed there two nights. On arrival we were greeted by friendly and helpfull staff. The rooms were well presented but it was the bathroom that let it down. There was a bit of bathroom mould near the bath.
We never had an evening meal nut we did stay for breakfast which was very nice.
Would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shauntennant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I will ensure our bathrooms are cleaned to a higher standard. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Saracens Head.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Arrived at check in at 6pm, to be greeted by a miserable "yes" from the man at reception......we are at your hotel reception, with a bag in our hands.....what did you think we were there for ???...checked in and booked a table for dinner for 6.30 as they were having a large party in at 7.30..... any way....room was superb, warm and clean. Went for dinner, to find the same check in man looking rather confused at us, as though we should not of been there...when the penny dropped, and we were shown to a table, things started looking up...... We had French Onion soup for starters......absolutely superb......well done chef....I had Mixed grill for main, wife had Steak Solo cooked in garlic butter with an apple and celeric slaw....arrived at table very quickly and hot.....but.........Steak solo was not cooked in garlic butter, and no slaw in any format was on the plate....it was taken away and replaced within 5 minutes and was very good.......Breakfast was good the following morning....check out on the other hand was farcical.....printer was not working, so the girl went to find the manager to come sort it out, upon her return, she quite proudly told us that he "could'nt be bothered ".....where dear wife of mine decided that 15 minutes was long enough to wait, and he will be bothered, so stormed of to find him....after a couple of minutes, he sheepishly arrived, with wife in tow, to tell the receptionist that he had already printed the invoice out and it was in a back room.......and to top it all off....no dinner had been added to the bill, so we could not be bothered to pay......( we did tell him though, and again...he could be bothered to add it on)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. I am happy that you were comfortable in your room and enjoyed your evening meal & breakfast. I am taking steps to ensure our reception desk is more efficient and organised going forward. I take all feedback seriously and will ensure this does not happen again. We look forward to seeing you again at the Saracens head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stayed last night room excellent except plug for bath missing. Reception staff polite and helpful.
Went for dinner had mixed grill sausage burnt looked left over from breakfast, lamb chop rare., could not cut with a steak knife, waited for staff for 35 minutes, ignored wanted to order cheese board and 2 glasses of wine gave up paid bill left. Came down for breakfast in morning husband asked for a coffee put in milk, this curdled, smelt milk it was off, only had toast did not want to eat after last night, there were other unhappy people there as well. This was a birthday present for my husband.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueLeightonBuzzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Many thanks for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your room, my apologies for the unsatisfactory food and service. This is not our usual high standard that we strive to deliver; I will be fixing the problems mentioned here. I hope to welcome you back to the Saracens head in the Future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Towcester
3.7 mi away
Whittlebury Hall
Whittlebury Hall
#3 of 3 in Towcester
2,417 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Towcester Silverstone
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Northampton M1, Jct 15
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#4 of 4 in Buckingham
306 reviews
9.2 mi away
Villiers Hotel
Villiers Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buckingham
504 reviews
9.5 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saracens Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saracens Head Hotel

Property: The Saracens Head Hotel
Address: 219 Watling Street West, Towcester NN12 6BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Towcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Towcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Saracens Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Saracens Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saracens Head Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing