We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor quality food lets the hotel down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Saracens Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Towcester
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Four of us stayed at the Saracens head as a stop over whilst travelling back up North from Europe. What a lovely hotel. Very clean, friendly staff and beautiful rooms(we had room 9).
The decor of the rooms and the rest of the hotel is of a very high standard with great attention to detail. Fabulous colour combinations on the furnishings,interesting mixes with different styles of furniture make it a relaxing and sumptious environment.
The menu looked as interesting as the hotel and one would expect it to be of the same high standard bearing in mind the high quality and attention to detail the hotel exudes.
Sadly this was not the case. The quality and presentation of the food was poor. We all had very average fair. I appreciate that we had spent time abroard eating freshly prepared food but this was a let down. Poor quality,poor presentation and fairly tasteless.
I would have thought if you had chosen a steak or something that had to be cooked on the spot that might have tasted better than the lamb shank that just looked and tasted as though it had come out of a bag.
Lovely hotel....poor quality food. What a shame.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joobles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thanks for your positive comments about the recent redevelopment at the Saracens Head, we have had great feedback about it. We aim to offer a great value food offer & I'm sorry that on this occasion it was not up to our usual standards. I hope this has not put you off visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
There are newer reviews for The Saracens Head Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 426 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at Saracens head for 3 nights in a very hot, small and very noisy room. Our room was at the very top of the hotel, at the end of a narrow corridor, and the corridor was so hot, you couldn't wait to get in your room to get some air but the window was very small and up high in the corner of the room, there was to much furniture you had to shuffle round, it should have been a single room not a double. I told reception how hot and claustrophobic it was ( it was 30c outside and hotter in our room) but they had no more rooms available . We asked for a fan but alas no they didn't have them either, so we had to go out and buy one our selves. The tv remote didn't work we told reception 3/4 times but it still wasn't working when we left. The reception staff were not helpful or very friendly at all. The noise and exhaust fumes was the traffic, the hotel is on the junction of the A5 at traffic lights, so lots of lorries and vans sitting waiting under our window from 5 in the morning till 7 at night. But the food and the staff in the restaurant and bar were brilliant the staff were so polite and helpful. The food was superb and the atmosphere was great.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

I would like to apologise for your recent experience at the hotel. We had exceptionally warm weather during your stay with us, & the historic nature of our building does tend to keep the heat in. We tried to locate additional desk fans all around the local area but they were sold out everywhere. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the food, service & atmosphere & hope you will visit again soon, hopefully with more temperate weather!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We chose the Saracens Head as close to Silverstone, because we had an early appointment at Silverstone. Very helpful staff, room clean and tidy. Unfortunately we were too late for evening dinner, but were offered good room service with some hot food available. Breakfast was overall very good quality. Staff helpful and friendly. Sorry to not spent longer there. Will definitely stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarvis1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment, it was a pity you couldn't have dinner with us. We have lots of great feedback about our facilities after our recent refurbishment. Hopefully you will stay with us again when you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My whole over view was one of good service .. There seemed to be a lot of younger staff who on the whole coped very well they were polite and very helpful.. And I feel they would make good managers and this could be worth looking at..

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anniej2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Visited because my first choice to eat was closed for business. Decided to think over my options and finished up eating here. Good choice menu with friendly affordable food on a busy night. Would visit again when in the area and happy to recommend to others. Bar also serves real ales.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Sjc24715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to comment. We have been much busier since our recent development & I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the food & service even though we were busy. I will pass on your comments to the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We chose The Saracens to eat on past experience,big mistake.Menus were mixed up some had finished the previous day I was told, and should have been taken off the table,so we were unable to have the starter we wanted,I noticed it was in very small print at the bottom subject to availability,but the menus should have been all the same.
The table was very sticky and appeared not to have been cleaned.Menus looking worse for wear,?chocolate sauce over one which was not recent.
We saw too many youngsters who were meant to be waiters covering a lot of ground but not achieving much.
Not sure who the manager was it may have been the one who was telling the staff not very quietly if any one moans about the menus being mixed up,then stopped in mid sentence as we were looking?
When my starter appeared the lettuce was warm and limp the garlic mushrooms were over cooked.The main course was not much better,at no time were we asked if everything was alright and even if it wasnt we felt at that point nothing was going to be done about it any way.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoodiesNothampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

I am very sorry for your dissapointing experience. We have recently recruited more supervisory staff & hope to make some small changes to the way food orders are taken & served so that these problems do not re-occur. Thank you for taking the time to comment, we appreciate it so that we improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Greene King have spent over £1 million on re curbing his establishment.
It is a very good refurb unless you are disabled as there are steps to enter and also the restaurant/bar is over several levels.
The other negative is that the bar is far too small for he number of covers that tis establishment can hold.
On weekends it can take 10 mins+ to place an order or buy a round of drinks.
The plus is reasonably priced beers and food, good ambiance and very good staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnandMandy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Towcester
3.7 mi away
Whittlebury Hall
Whittlebury Hall
#3 of 3 in Towcester
2,463 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Towcester Silverstone
9.5 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Villiers Hotel
Villiers Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buckingham
506 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Walnut Tree Inn
The Walnut Tree Inn
#13 of 29 in Northampton
216 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Campanile Northampton
Hotel Campanile Northampton
#22 of 29 in Northampton
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saracens Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saracens Head Hotel

Address: 219 Watling Street West, Towcester NN12 6BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Towcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Towcester
Price Range: $80 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Saracens Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Saracens Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saracens Head Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing