We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refurbished to a high standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Saracens Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Towcester
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Refurbished to a high standard”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

A better hotel, it looks good and smells of fresh paint, everyone was friendly, room 16 was a bit noisy which the humming of the air conditioning, and then about 3:30am the sound of a massive emersion heater kicked in. The evening i had a beer in the bar and it seemed like a real locals bar, all friendly sort of people. Didn't eat there but had a hearty breakfast in the price, good value in these times, would i go back? Yes i think i would but would want a restful quiet room next time

Room Tip: Ask for a room well away from the air con system around room 16
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Millsy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We are really please that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. The team here will enjoy reading your thoughts and we hope you have the opportunity to visit The Saracens Head in the future. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are currantley looking into the noise iusse with your room and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Saracens Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    127
    58
    33
    27
See reviews for
80
152
7
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Despite a lovely refurbishment we were put into room 9, which throughout the night had a really loud humming noise, loud enough to wake you up. As we checked in relatively late the guy on check in gave us what we thought was the better room of those left (the other choice was noisy he said) as my husband was running a half marathon the next day. We had an awful night's sleep. I had read about a 'noisy' room in two other reviews but couldn't remember the room number. I discussed the loud noise with the duty manager the next day and he basically made out like I had raised something new. Checking the other reviews it was indeed the same room, mentioned both in June and September last year. Either the hotel ignores visitor comments or doesn't share them with employees. Either way we are very unhappy, feel fobbed off.

Room Tip: Don't have room 9!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Kelly1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience here at The Saracens Head, we are sorry we didn't meet your expectations on this occasion. We always appreciate feedback in order to help us deliver high standards. We are currently looking into the noise issue with room 9 which we believe is coming from the new cellar cooling unit. We are also sorry you felt fobbed off by us on check out we can a sure you we do listen to our customers & try to fix issues where ever possible. Before our recent refurbishment we used to have noise issues in the rooms above the kitchen which have now had sound proofing added to them. Once again we would like thank you for your feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The food was dire along with the service. The place was heaving with drinkers and there was one lad behind the bar, the manager was asked whether he could serve and hi reply was "I don't serve drinks" before he disappeared out of a side door. Would not go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We booked in advance for a party of 24 and our evening was ruined. Very slow service. It took 35 minutes from the 1st main course being delivered to the last. It didn't end there. Partly cooked food, incorrect orders and still frozen lasagne. Poorly laid out table and no condiments. Dessert was served but no cutlery. The hotel has been restored very well but the service and food is very bad. Avoid.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Saracens Head Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding The Saracens Head Hotel. We do apologise that your meals did not meeting our normal standard & service was slow. We can assure you we have taken action from your comments to ensure this doesn’t happen again. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chertsey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

we stayed at the hotel a few days after the refurbishment and really enjoyed our stay. The staff were freindly and the quality of rooms were clean and modern our room had a double chandalier.
We had a drink in the bar and also enloyed a two main course for £9.99 and again this was good value. I would recommend this hotel for a pleasant stay. Keep it up saracens head.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryChertsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Towcester
3.7 mi away
Whittlebury Hall
Whittlebury Hall
#3 of 3 in Towcester
2,351 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Towcester Silverstone
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Northampton M1, Jct 15
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
The Walnut Tree Inn
The Walnut Tree Inn
#12 of 29 in Northampton
205 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hilton Northampton
Hilton Northampton
#7 of 29 in Northampton
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saracens Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saracens Head Hotel

Property: The Saracens Head Hotel
Address: 219 Watling Street West, Towcester NN12 6BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Towcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Towcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Saracens Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Saracens Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saracens Head Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing