We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super relaxing”
Review of Whittlebury Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Whittlebury Hall
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Towcester
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Super relaxing”
Reviewed February 15, 2011

Having read the reviews on here, we didn't know what to expect with this hotel, so my real aim is to give a very accurate review.

Myself and my partner were both very impressed when we drove up to the hotel, it's huge! And although we went in winter, the grounds looked like theyd be lovely in high summer. The hotel instantly seemed upmarket as we made our way to reception. We arrived about 12.30, and checked in, and left our bags to be put in our rooms.

We then made our way to the spa, which is gorgeous! We went on a Sunday and as we expected for Valentines weekend, it was busy. We collected our dressing gowns, towels and slippers from reception, and then went on a tour. In all honesty the tour only led us to be confused about the spa... which is a maze of different rooms and facilities. The guide was difficult to understand and didn''t really explain things very well. We then went to get changed, the locker rooms are lovely, with the ladies having a whole dressing area with hairdryers etc. We made our way to the spa area (there is also a leisure area with the pool and jacuzzi) and spent aaaages enjoying the hydrotherapy pool, We tried the other rooms, which were all lovely, except for the ice cave which was just funny to watch as people gasped at the cold water. My partner and I have never been to a spa before, but Whitlebury Hall seemed to have everything. Everything was clean and tidy and even though it was busy, we still felt relaxed and pampered. The only place that needed a bit of TLC was the ceiling above the jacuzzi where paint was peeling, but i didn't even notice that until my partner pointed it out.

About 4 o'clock we went back to our room, where our bags were waiting as promised. The room was very clean and tidy, and tastefully decorated. Our initial impression of the bed was WOW as it was huge, however my partner pointed out it was 2 beds put together, so not a proper double. However the bed was lovely and comfy and didn't really feel like two beds put together. Our package included a bottle of champagne, which was not in the room, but a quick visit to reception and a bottle was brought up very quickly.

My partner developed a migraine that night, and when I asked the receptionist if I could change our dinner reservation time, he couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating. Even informing me the toilets had a vending machine with paracetomal in.

We went for dinner at 9.00pm, and were shown to our table, and i was given a rose which was a nice touch. We had to wait quite a while before our waitress appeared, but my partner and I could plainly see that there weren't enough waiters for the size of the dining room. Eventually Jo (our waitress) came and apologised for the wait, and although we were initially annoyed about the wait, both took to her immediatley as she was so friendly and down to earth. Her style might not be to everyones taste but we really enjoyed talking to her and she was very helpful and funny. Dinner itself was a pleasant suprise, as we arrived so late we were a bit worried we might just be left with what hadnt been used earlier, but the food was very tasty and nicely presented, with only a couple of things sold out.

After dinner, we went back to our room. The next morning we went to breakfast and were very impressed with the selection of continental and cooked breakfast. We then went back to the room for a little sleep, planning to go back to the spa after we had checked out, as our booking said 'full use of the heat and ice experiences'. On arriving at the spa we were informed that the heat and ice experiences were only for the day of arrival, and we could have used the leisure centre, but only until eleven. Admittedly, we should have asked for the exact details, but I certainly felt that our package deals were misleading (we booked with lastminute.com) and because we had planned to spend most of Monday at the spa, felt we missed out a bit. The spa was a lot less busy on Monday as we had expected and were disappointed we couldn't go back. After we found this out I booked myself in for a massage and we spent the time between in the Silverstone bar, which is fascinating with all it's racing memorabilia. The massage was FANTASTIC, I had the deep tissue back massage and felt fantastic afterwards, definatley worth the money and the treatment rooms are really quiet and gorgeous.

I certainley would recommend this hotel to anyone, we had a lovely time and came back super relaxed. I would only say that you need to check your spa times, as it wasn't made clear to us that we couldnt really use it the second day. Thankyou so much to all the staff, who were all lovely, and we hope to go back very soon

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linzi89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    694
    463
    239
    183
See reviews for
258
786
41
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We bought the Twilight Spa package for two people at the Whittlebury Hall. The Hall itself was beautiful and it wasn't hard to find. The scenery was just right for a relaxation day. We tried the Ice and Heat experiences, which were fantastic! The spa facilities were clean, relaxing and quiet (unlike some of the reviews that I read online). The receptionist advised that it is quiet during mid week, but can be very busy during the weekends. She was so helpful and friendly. Thank God we went on a Tuesday evening. We did not have enough time to try the Leisure Club facilities, which included the gym and classes. The Twilight Spa included an antipasti meal, which was very light but enough to fill your tummy. We would definitely return to Whittlebury Hall again. For the price of £32.50 per person, it is definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mewmew3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We had booked a one night spa break and added one extra night. Our first night was spent in a cold room, next door to the pool plant - so we didn't get any sleep, due to the constant noise of the machinery. However this was nothing compared to our second night - after being moved to a different room. The noise from a disco upstairs spoilt our evening meal in the restaurant, but this was just the start of a second sleepless night, due to wedding party guests fighting, swearing and shouting in our corridor throughout the night. At approx 1am a female guest kept ringing our phone and being abusive - for no apparent reason. A fire alarm was sounded for no reason. However we felt trapped in our room, as we would have been terrified to even open our door with the unbelievble behaviour and language going on directly outside our room. By 4am we hadn't been able to get any sleep. We called reception twice, but on no occasion did anyone call us or check on us to reassure us or to see of we were ok - as two females we felt vulnerable.We understand the Police were called, but the roudy wedding party were still there the next day, for the wedding to take place! (That was just the pre wedding party).We were then infomed that a gypsy wedding was taking place at Whittlebury Hall. Other small complaints such as blocked sinks in our bathroom and empty food dishes at the lunch buffet seem insignificant in comparison to what we had experienced. Instead of staying to use the spa on our last day, we checked out early and couldn't wait to leave. We were offered 20% off our checkout bill, but are currently pursuing a full refund for the biggest waste of money ever spent. HIGHLY UNRECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Towcester hotels

south east uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2011

We Booked a Spa day at short notice. In need of a day of relaxation, it turned out to be anything but serene.
Firstly our booked treatment times over the phone were totally different tto the times when we arrived, which meant a rushed lunch. Where you sit for lunch, the tables are very close to one another and it seemed very busy in this area. The food was of an ok standard, but nothing special.

Next stop the changing rooms, tiny, lots of used towels lying about. Lockers so small that you couldnt fit your clothes in. No spare towels and only 1 small cubicle shower which was not clean.

We then went to the waiting area for the main treatment, it was spacious but not overly relaxing, just some sofas dotted around. The 90 minute massage was spoilt due to the room being so cold, even after requesting the temperature to be raised it was still uncomfortable.
The massage therapist, although friendly, did not deliver a memorable treatment.

After the treatment it was time to try the main spa area, the biggest dissapointement. Far too many people, the jacuzzi was packed. The steam room was so hot you couldnt stand more than 30 seconds max. The sauna didnt feel clean and had a strong odour of body odour.

Back to the changing area, again cramped and busy, no spare towels to dry. Walking to the main swimming pool, you go through a seperate passageway which is not heated, so again a feeling of being cold. The pool is big but again lots of left towels on the loungers.

Around the pool is another steam room and sauna, these are in desperate need of refirbishment, so old and smelly.

It was at this point that you have an urge to leave the place as you feel that you have been ripped off. For over £300 for 2 people the standard of this spa is well below what you would expect. The small touches are not present and the management have not maintained the facilities to a high standard.
Unfortunately I would not recommend Whittlebury for a spa day and we will not return.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana_dors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desborough
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

We booked a one night spa break for our mini honeymoon break. We'd visited the spa once before - just for the day - and had a great time. I would definitely recommend the spa. My main gripe was when we got to the hotel. The evening meal was nice enough as was the room.. the trouble started when we got to sleep around 10.30, when a very noisy party kicked off downstairs in the bar (directly below our room)! think it was some kind of corporate do. We called reception and asked to be moved to a different room, which was done very quickly. It was a shame about this part of our stay, because we'd had such a nice time in the spa, and it kind of undid all the hard work of the lovely staff who'd looked after us.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomienick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middx
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

The Hotel is fantastic , food wonderful and staff friendly, we had an overnight stay and couldn't fault it. However the spa was terrible, when we arrived we had to go on a tour, as its so disjointed finding your way around isn't easy. The air temp was cold, there must have been at least 200 people there with only 40 beds around the pool, most of these were reserved with towels, with nowhere to sit we tried the heat and ice rooms, they were all so busy it was standing room only in the sauna and steam rooms. We arrived at the spa at 930am , and still tours of more and more people arrived for the next 2 hours. We found ourselves clock watching and longing for 3pm to come when our room was ready in the hotel .,. The hotel is really let down by the spa, the pool feels like its set in a basement with paint peeling from the ceiling and uncollected cups and dirty
glasses remain uncollected.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coupleMiddx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

I took my mother to Whittlebury Hal for a one night spa break. We had a lovely stay with a lot to praise and not a lot to criticise.

I booked the break knowing that Whittlebury Hall is a conference venue, so inevitably the hotel is big and has a corporate feel: this is not a boutique hotel! However, the hotel is smart, it has a few old pieces of furniture dotted around to add a bit of character, there are real fires in a couple of places and, based on our experience, the staff offer excellent customer service, which really makes a difference to your stay.

Our room was fine: I can't say it was a memorable room, but everything worked and it was quiet; a big plus was the fact that the lady on reception allowed us to check into our room when we arrived at around 10.00am. That helped us to settle in quicker and was a nice touch when she didn't have to do it.

We had booked a spa break, so we spent most of our two days at the hotel in and around the spa. We thought it was a really fantastic spa! There were plenty of other people there, but it is a big spa with a leisure club containing a swimming pool alongside, and we didn't find ourselves unable to use the facilities, nor were we cheek to jowl with other people. There are saunas, steam rooms, an ice experience room, and water jets and jacuzzis in a hydrotherapy pool. We had two treatments booked during our stay and we really enjoyed both. If I were being critical, I would mention that they have a bit of a damp problem in one area of the roof, two showers were out of order, and some of the staff around the 'terrace cafe' alongside the spa seemed a bit dozy and needed to be asked twice for drinks, salt and pepper etc. However, these minor things did not impair our enjoyment and it appeared that others around us were having an equally pleasant visit.

Lunch was included with our day in the spa and this was a buffet offering hot and cold food: salad, cold meat, cold fish, prawns, jacket potatoes, plus a couple of hot dishes like lasagna or veg curry. There was fruit or fruit salad to follow. The food was fine and there was enough choice to enable you to eat light or heartily, as you chose.

In the evening of our stay, we had dinner included and I had opted for a package with dinner in the smarter Murrays restaurant. I enjoy eating well and we had a great meal. This was a very pleasant surprise. Between the two of us, we had scallops and foie gras as a starter; veal and red mullet with squid ink pasta for a main; and a trio of desserts and cheese to follow. I can't criticise the quality or execution of any of it. We also received very friendly and attentive service from our waiter and, all in all, I had a lovely evening.

I definitely plan to return to Whittlebury Hall for a similar spa break deal. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SlapstickBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Towcester
11.6 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Silverstone
Premier Inn Silverstone
#1 of 2 in Silverstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Towcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel
23.6 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
8.7 mi away
Hilton Northampton
Hilton Northampton
#7 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whittlebury Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whittlebury Hall

Property: Whittlebury Hall
Address: Whittlebury, Towcester NN12 8QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Towcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Towcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Whittlebury Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whittlebury Hall is a magnificent four star conference and training centre, hotel and spa, set in rural Northamptonshire. Its classical Georgian architecture, complemented by rich furnishings and fabrics has produced an award-winning hotel, recognised for its high standard of accommodation and service. The hotel has 213 spacious double bedrooms including five individually designed suites, all with en-suite bathrooms, decorated to provide a modern yet elegant and restful escape. With a host of personal touches and thoughtful extras. Whittlebury Hall excels in conference, training and meeting facilities, boasting 20 principal training suites supported by 28 fully serviced syndicate rooms, six spacious meeting rooms, executive boardroom and three secluded private dining rooms. The award-winning The Day Spa at Whittlebury Hall is one of the largest in the country and a key selling point for the hotel. Stretching across two levels, the upper floor alone contains 23 treatment rooms, with a choice of more than altogether offering over 60 treatments delivered by a team of highly skilled therapists. It offers the ultimate in pampering with a host of stimulating Heat and Ice Experiences. There is also a Hair Studio for those who want a quick blow dry and style through to a full cut and colour. There is also The Leisure Club in the hotel, which includes a 19-metre pool, whirlpool spa, bubble jet, steam room, sauna, aerobic studio and the latest in equipment with state-of-the-art gymnasium. In addition, the hotel boasts three restaurants; Astons - offering a relaxed atmosphere to meet with family and friends with a blend of classic and contemporary cuisine, 2 AA Rosettes restaurant Murrays at Whittlebury Hall - with creative dishes and the opportunity to taste the latest blends of flavours and ingredients presented by an award-winning chef and Bentleys - the perfect rendezvous for friends, family or colleagues with an Italian pizza and pasta menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Whittlebury Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whittlebury Hall Towcester
Hall Whittlebury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing