We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of Whittlebury Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Whittlebury Hall
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Towcester
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I booked an overnight stay for myself & my sister in law and must say it was very good value.
The hotel check-in was smooth & easy.
The heat & ice experiences were very good, although there were times it was very full. It's all indoors and it would be nice if there were some jacuzzi outside, especially for the summertime.
I liked the little extra touches I wasn't expecting considering the price paid (cold flannels, in fruit & ice, by the heat experiences to cool you down. Unlimited fruit and fruit tea & water too).
There was only 1 exercise class which we booked (it was more relax than stretch) and we also booked truffle making (plus eating) & wine tasting too. all of which were included in the price.
We didn't nook lunch as we'd booked a 3 course evening meal and didn't think we;d need a 2 course lunch too. It's far better value if you book the lunch too. We ate in the bistro and had champagne afternoon tea. It was lovely but we didn't realise we'd be getting more cakes in the truffle making class too!
We were able to go to our room around 3pm. It was basic but we were only sleeping there, so it didn't bother us. there was a fridge too.
We stayed in the heat and ice experience and the spa chillout area until shortly before 8pm and quickly got dressed for our evening meal in the spa area.
The evening meal was ok (it was a little too salty for me) and we had a nice bottle of red too.
We were very tired from a full day of relaxing, eating and drinking and soon drifted off to sleep.
We had breakfast the following day and it catered for everything anyone could ever think of for breakfast. We were able to stay and use the leisure facilities until 11am and so we use the pool,sauna and hot room but the heat & ice spa experience is far nicer!
Staff here were very friendly, attentive & provided excellent service. Nothing seemed too much trouble.
I'd certainly go again, especially as they have such good offers all the year through

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Dear Tracy M

Thank you for your recent review following your visit to Whittlebury Hall in February. We are really pleased that you had a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing overnight stay with us and that the service from the staff was so friendly and attentive. The packages certainly are good value for money and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,497)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,378 - 1,384 of 2,497 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

The best hotel to stay at if you're in the Silverstone area - not cheap though in any department.

The food esp in the bar is over priced and small portions - can't say it's good value. Great breakfast buffet though.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Paul T

Thank you for your recent review and for your feedback. We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you really enjoyed the breakfast buffet. Our prices in the bar are compatible with other 4* hotels however we have passed on your comments about portion sizes to the Executive Head Chef and his team.

Kind regards

Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Myself and my sister visited the hotel for an Afternoon Tea last Sunday, which was a gift purchased for Christmas. We had our tea in the Silverstone Bar, and the service was excellent. Started with a glass of champagne and then our sandwiches and cakes were brought to us. The quality of the food was excellent, and our waiter was very efficient.

Was a lovely treat in very quiet and relaxing surroundings.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Anne K

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you and your sister had a fabulous time with us and that you thoroughly enjoyed the afternoon tea experience. Your kind comments have been passed on to the relevant managers and their teams and we do hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I have now been to Whittlebury Hall on 2 occassions and I would happily keep returning again and again.
A friend and I decided to go to celebrate her 30th Birthday it was a wonderfully relaxing break.
Upon arrival we were able to check in (we were before 3pm but we could check our luggage and head straight over to the heat and ice experience), where we were provided with our itinerary for the weekend (ie lunch and any pre booked treatments) towels and a dressing gown. The spa was busy but it was around mothers day weekend so it was to be expected and it was far from overcrowded or uncomfortable.
After spending the day relaxing in the spa we collected our luggage and went to our room which was extremely comfortable and well equipped with a mini fridge, plenty of towels, shampoo etc.
Dinner was served in Astons restaurant (I would have liked Murrays but as it was a Sunday night it wasn't open), and the food and service were top notch, my only complaint is that I ordered fish and it hadn't been filleted so I got an unexpected mouth full of bones, but everything was well cooked and beautifully presented.
After dinner we went to the Silverstone Bar where the cocktails are delicious although the menu is slightly limited.
We were fortunate to have booked into the heat and ice experience the following day and it was lovely to be able to relax and unwind instead of having to get up and drive home first thing in the morning.
Whittlebury hall is a firm favourite which I recommend to all my friends and family and I will most certainly be returning too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaORly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear AnnaORly

Thank you for your wonderful TripAdvisor review following your visit to Whittlebury Hall in March. We are delighted to read that you and your friend had another fabulous and relaxing overnight spa stay with us - and what a great way to celebrate a birthday too. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another excellent break.

Kind regards

Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Visited for afternoon tea. Excellent and really enjoyed it. However, when I walked past the gents toilets I could smell them from the corridor. My husband said they were very smelly. I am surprised by this because the hotel works hard on its image.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Christine45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Christine45

Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review. We are pleased to read that you really enjoyed your afternoon tea experience and thought its contents excellent. It is unusual for the toilets not to be cleaned to a high standard and your comments have been passed on to the Executive Head Housekeeper to address with her team.

Kind regards

Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Great staff and location just shame that it is getting bit rough around the edges. The interior maze of corridors can be confusing so may be time for re think? Food was good and service excellent throughout stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Robert I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Dear Robert I

Thank you for your recent review and for your comments about your works away day. We are pleased that overall you were impressed with your stay and that you thought the food and service was excellent.

Kind regards

Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

The property is beautiful, the service excellent, the presentation of the breakfast/dinner outstanding. The rooms are quite outdated and were the greatest let down for me. Would definitely stay again if chance occurs..

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eve000900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Eve000900

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review following your recent visit to Whittlebury Hall.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your overnight stay with us and that you were so impressed with the facilities and surroundings. We do have a redecoration programme planned this year for all of our bedrooms and we hope that you will visit us again soon to see all the fabulous changes that are being made.

Kind regards

Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Towcester
11.6 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
4.6 mi away
Travelodge Towcester Silverstone
3.7 mi away
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Towcester
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Northampton M1, Jct 15
11.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
8.7 mi away
Hilton Northampton
Hilton Northampton
#9 of 27 in Northampton
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whittlebury Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whittlebury Hall

Address: Whittlebury, Towcester NN12 8QH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Towcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Towcester
Price Range: $101 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whittlebury Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whittlebury Hall is a magnificent four star conference and training centre, hotel and spa, set in rural Northamptonshire. Its classical Georgian architecture, complemented by rich furnishings and fabrics has produced an award-winning hotel, recognised for its high standard of accommodation and service. The hotel has 213 spacious double bedrooms including five individually designed suites, all with en-suite bathrooms, decorated to provide a modern yet elegant and restful escape. With a host of personal touches and thoughtful extras. Whittlebury Hall excels in conference, training and meeting facilities, boasting 20 principal training suites supported by 28 fully serviced syndicate rooms, six spacious meeting rooms, executive boardroom and three secluded private dining rooms. The award-winning The Day Spa at Whittlebury Hall is one of the largest in the country and a key selling point for the hotel. Stretching across two levels, the upper floor alone contains 23 treatment rooms, with a choice of more than altogether offering over 60 treatments delivered by a team of highly skilled therapists. It offers the ultimate in pampering with a host of stimulating Heat and Ice Experiences. There is also a Hair Studio for those who want a quick blow dry and style through to a full cut and colour. There is also The Leisure Club in the hotel, which includes a 19-metre pool, whirlpool spa, bubble jet, steam room, sauna, aerobic studio and the latest in equipment with state-of-the-art gymnasium. In addition, the hotel boasts three restaurants; Astons - offering a relaxed atmosphere to meet with family and friends with a blend of classic and contemporary cuisine, 2 AA Rosettes restaurant Murrays at Whittlebury Hall - with creative dishes and the opportunity to taste the latest blends of flavours and ingredients presented by an award-winning chef and Bentleys - the perfect rendezvous for friends, family or colleagues with an Italian pizza and pasta menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Otel, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Whittlebury Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whittlebury Hall Towcester
Hall Whittlebury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing