We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hen Party”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Whittlebury Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Whittlebury Hall
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Towcester
MK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hen Party”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from an overnight stay following a friend's Hen Party. Positives - we all had fun! The entertainment was very good, the food was pretty decent (but not top notch), my room was clean, nicely equipped and reasonably quiet, the staff were friendly and the receptionists very efficient. I had a massage as part of the package and it was very good. Negatives - the Spa was noisy and overcrowded so not particularly relaxing. The main pool area was hot and a lot of towels were left on the sun beds for long periods. The venue for the evening meal and entertainment was excessively hot and, despite several requests, ventilation or aircon were not forthcoming. Would I recommend Whittlebury for a Hen Do? - yes; for a quiet romantic getaway? - probably not.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JackDanielsMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear JackDanielsMK

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review following your recent visit to Whittlebury Hall.

We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found your massage and the evening entertainment to be very good. Your feedback regarding the spa and temperature of the dining room have been passed on to the relevant teams and we do hope to welcome you back to Whittlebury Hall in the future.

Kind regards

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    687
    453
    234
    180
See reviews for
256
773
40
345
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Stayed here as doing a trade show at Silverstone, what can I ay the hotel, staff, food etc are excellent. The hotel is spotless throughout and the bedrooms are a good size with very comfortable beds. A must stay if in the area

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClanGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear ClanGraham

Thank you for your fabulous TripAdvisor review following your recent visit to Whittlebury Hall.
We are so pleased that you had a really enjoyable stay with us and that everything, from the hotel and rooms to the food and staff, was excellent.
We certainly look forward to seeing you again next year!

Kind regards

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Stayed overnight here on the deluxe package which was a deluxe room, lunch, evening meal in Murray's restaurant, breakfast and a 50 min treatment. Well worth the extra money! We even got an upgrade into the Eden Suite. Huge room with views over golf course, although somewhat dated compared to the deluxe rooms but good experience and extras like wine , snacks and fruit included.
The hotel is heaving and seems to go by bums on seats rather than relaxing spa surroundings. That said, it was actually nice to talk in the sauna without being told to be quiet, but annoying that so many seats were saved with towels around the pool area that we never actually got to stay around there. Enough other places to relax though and would recommend you have the spa tour otherwise its difficult to find your way around.
Meal in evening was superb and staff very attentive so would highly rec Murrays!
All in all and good experience and treatments were not compromised even though they were extremely busy,
Would go again.

Room Tip: We got upgraded due to birthday celebrations but did state this on our booking before arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Pauline M

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review following your recent visit to Whittlebury Hall.

We are so pleased that all in all you had a good experience with us especially as you were celebrating a birthday. The food and service in Murrays is fantastic and we are glad that you really enjoyed it and the suite upgrade was a nice little touch too for the special occasion.

We do hope that we will see you again soon.

Kind regards

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Whittlebury Hall on a spa stay package and were very impressed with the whole stay. We arrived at approximately 9am and were pleased to find our room - a club room - was already avaliable so we could check in straight away. The room was very clean and large, facing over the small courtyard. The bed was very clean and comfortable and we had no problems with noise at all. The extra nibbles supplied was a nice touch.

We then checked in at the Spa and had a really relaxing time. We were able to use all the facilities and had no problems getting into any of the rooms - this was a Tuesday though and I have been before and found it much busy last time so understand how disappointing it can be when it is busier and also understand the need to restrict the number of people using the spa. The lunchtime buffet was so tasty and there was plenty of choice that was regularly topped up. We had a wonderful massage and although we were told they could not guarantee we would be able to have the massage together they were able to accommodate this which made the day really special. Both girls were fabulous and made us feel very relaxed.

We had a lovely meal in Astons in the evening - the chocolate desert was to die for! - and the wait staff were friendly and accomodating. The morning buffet breakfast was very tasty with plenty of choice and did not feel rushed at all.

If i had one criticism it would be the robes supplied. When you are in them all day, as you are when using the heat and ice experience, the need to be of better quality and, as a larger lady, a selection of sizes would be most welcome. A minor criticism but one that needs to be addressed as other reviewers have stated the same.,

Room Tip: Upgrade to the club rooms - great quality and very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussiepomgirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Aussiepomgirl11

Thank you for your super TripAdvisor review following your recent visit to Whittlebury Hall.

We are delighted that you had such a fantastic and relaxing overnight stay with us and that you were able to thoroughly experience all the fabulous facilities we have to offer. We are also so pleased that your dining experiences and massages were wonderful and that the spa was able to accommodate your treatments at the same time.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 1 night with dinner bed and breakfast. We found that although the hotel was very busy the staff were very attentive to our requirement and needs. The rooms were a good size, well presented and were very clean and tidy. The evening dinner was exceptionally good as was the buffet breakfast. When arriving at the hotel it felt very grand for a modern building. the communal areas, the reception, bar and restaurant were well presented with the feeling of quality throughout.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chris n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear chris n

Thank you for your lovely TripAdvisor review following your visit to Whittlebury Hall in March.

We are so pleased that you and your partner had a really enjoyable stay with us and that the staff were so attentive and looked after you throughout your stay. We are also delighted that you found both the evening meal and breakfast to be exceptionally good too.

Kind regards

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

We arrived Monday morning and even though it was quite busy going that we could comfortably use all the facilities available, reading other reviews on how poor it is I can understand that at a weekend it would be overwhelming due to the spas size but this just shows how popular it is and speaking to other guests a lot were people that had visited in the past so they must be doing something right! but it is what it is! A spa hotel that caters for all including conference meetings, Knowing this when you book if it's just a spa you are after then look else where, but the service and price is brilliant ! I was also impressed with the food which was an help yourself buffet at lunch and the evening meal really impressed me! The room we had was a club room and found the complementary nibbles was a nice touch, it was clean with plenty of room, and experienced no noise from other guests, I would defiantly stay here again! thank you got such a great experience

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missmoneypenny1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Missmoneypenny1984

Thank you for your excellent TripAdvisor review following your recent visit to Whittlebury Hall.

We are delighted that you had such a great experience with us and that you really enjoyed every aspect of your overnight stay, from the rooms and facilities to the impressive food. Your lovely comments have been passed on to the relevant teams and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Booked up for one day/night with partner and friend to celebrate friends birthday. This was the first time my partner and I have experienced a spa day and I have to say it was a slight let down in regards to the spa. The hotel and grounds themselves are lovely and with ample car parking available and easy to get to.

I work for a hotel myself and the hotel is large with everything you need for an enjoyable stay.
On arrival we approached reception and was advised that check-in to our bedroom was from 3pm, which we were aware of and was fine, the receptionists were very pleasant and informative and said if we were to ask at the spa reception if the bedroom becomes free any earlier incase we would like to access our room before 3pm, which was great.

We then made our way to the spa reception to get our treatment timings and were given a robe, locker key and asked if we would like to be shown around (as we were first timers) which was a nice touch. Locker room was rather small but fine and all you need, liked the idea of the magnetic bands for the locker which are far better then carrying a key around with you.
We proceeded to get changed and make our way to the spa, I didn't know what to expect and was pleasantly surprised due to the fact of all the negative comments on here that we had previously read through, so far, so good.
Within an hour of us been in the spa (roughly 11:45am), it was absolutely packed out,
he staff looked under pressure and were very busy throughout, purely due to the volume of people within the spa and hotel, which is great for the hotel but has a massive impact on the guests as they are somewhat put off by the immense noise and how busy it was in the immediate spa area. It was not relaxing at all and not what one would expect in a 4 star hotel You could barely get in any of the Heat and Ice experiences as it was far to busy. What rooms we did get in they were ok but not what I would again call relaxing, mainly groups of ladies talking at a volume that would wake the dead, its a shame the management team doesn't put maximum capacities on the spa days as the repeat business would be a lot higher and the comments on here would come through trumps as well. Signs for noise levels are required.
By the time our treatments came at 4pm, we were quite relieved to have 20-30 of relaxation. Dion took me through 5-10 minutes later than book for a back massage as it again was extremely busy, the massage was great and very professional throughout. I was recommended what treatments would be worth looking at afterwards and no pressure to buy, which was great.

The buffet style lunch that was inclusive into the cost was extremely nice and there was extensive options available to you, couldn't really fault. Staff members could have smiled a little more and there was a young waiter that I think needed some TLC from his mother as his shirt wasn't ironed (very scruffy looking) and I would have sent him home before he had even come in to contact with guests if he worked for me. Not a good look for the hotel.
We went back into the spa after lunch but gave up mid afternoon and went back to our room to get some piece and quiet.

Going on to Dinner, the level of service was again very professional and our waitress was very pleasant and attentive. The pork Belly went down well and the overall food options, presentation and taste were extremely pleasant.

The bedrooms were also of a ok standard, 3 single beds with tea making facilities and mini fridge. Bathroom was also ok. Could do with some TLC again in the bedrooms as they are looking some what dated.

Breakfast was extremely nice and lots of choice. Young waiter was back with an ironed shirt, shame he still looked scurfy. We left the hotel after breakfast and check-out went smoothly. We didn't want to make our way to the pool area as we saw groups of people coming to check-in for what I can only say would be very much the same as the day previous, very busy and noisy.

Overall a good 2 days break, would recommend the hotel, but would NOT recommend the spa facilities for the reasons above and I have heard there is better around with a little extra spent.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NBham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear NBham

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review following your recent visit to Whittlebury Hall

We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your 2 day stay with and us and that you were pleased with the hotel facilities, food and service. We duly note your comments about the spa and the volume levels of other guests. Your feedback has been passed on to the Spa Manager and the team as well.

Kind regards

Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Towcester
11.6 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Silverstone
Premier Inn Silverstone
#1 of 2 in Silverstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Towcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel
23.6 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
8.7 mi away
Hilton Northampton
Hilton Northampton
#7 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whittlebury Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whittlebury Hall

Property: Whittlebury Hall
Address: Whittlebury, Towcester NN12 8QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Towcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Towcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Whittlebury Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whittlebury Hall is a magnificent four star conference and training centre, hotel and spa, set in rural Northamptonshire. Its classical Georgian architecture, complemented by rich furnishings and fabrics has produced an award-winning hotel, recognised for its high standard of accommodation and service. The hotel has 213 spacious double bedrooms including five individually designed suites, all with en-suite bathrooms, decorated to provide a modern yet elegant and restful escape. With a host of personal touches and thoughtful extras. Whittlebury Hall excels in conference, training and meeting facilities, boasting 20 principal training suites supported by 28 fully serviced syndicate rooms, six spacious meeting rooms, executive boardroom and three secluded private dining rooms. The award-winning The Day Spa at Whittlebury Hall is one of the largest in the country and a key selling point for the hotel. Stretching across two levels, the upper floor alone contains 23 treatment rooms, with a choice of more than altogether offering over 60 treatments delivered by a team of highly skilled therapists. It offers the ultimate in pampering with a host of stimulating Heat and Ice Experiences. There is also a Hair Studio for those who want a quick blow dry and style through to a full cut and colour. There is also The Leisure Club in the hotel, which includes a 19-metre pool, whirlpool spa, bubble jet, steam room, sauna, aerobic studio and the latest in equipment with state-of-the-art gymnasium. In addition, the hotel boasts three restaurants; Astons - offering a relaxed atmosphere to meet with family and friends with a blend of classic and contemporary cuisine, 2 AA Rosettes restaurant Murrays at Whittlebury Hall - with creative dishes and the opportunity to taste the latest blends of flavours and ingredients presented by an award-winning chef and Bentleys - the perfect rendezvous for friends, family or colleagues with an Italian pizza and pasta menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Whittlebury Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whittlebury Hall Towcester
Hall Whittlebury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing