We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great break”
Review of Whittlebury Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Whittlebury Hall
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Towcester
Hertfordshire, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great break”
Reviewed September 7, 2008

Lovely hotel with amazing spa and great restaurant. Location accessible to many places for days out, friendly staff and a luxurious experience. Great value for money and have been back 3 times - each a great stay.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Chickpea_IglePiggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    715
    479
    255
    194
See reviews for
269
815
42
370
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2008

Myself and a friend decided to book a spa break, we booked it on lastminute.com and got a great deal! We stayed for 1 night. We arrived early on our first day and went straight to the spa for some treatments we had booked, we were greeted by a very helpful man named Ian he instantly put us at ease, the treatments we had were fantastic and all the staff were very professional and helpful. After our treatments we went and enjoyed the fire and ice experience and generally relaxed, I went to the relaxation room where I promptly fell asleep, what can I say it was very cosy!

We then went to the hotel to check in, again the staff were very nice, we had booked a twin room which was very spacious and very clean, no complaints there, we had an evening meal which was very nice. The next day we went down for breakfast which was fantastic and the selection was great. We then spent the rest of the day in the spa again before we headed home. All in all this is a great hotel and spa and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — The spa
  • Disliked — I liked everything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hlbutcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2008

11 friends and I stayed at Whittlebury Spa last weekend and it was a lovely relaxing break. Included in the package was a 3 course evening meal, breakfast and lunch the following the day. All the meals were excellent and plentiful. The 'heat and ice experience' was most enjoyable. The rooms are clean and the staff are friendly. The only small complaint I have is that we queued for 30 minutes for a locker key and towel.

  • Liked — The heat and ice experience and the food!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank amz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2008

Stayed at Whittlebury on 16th August 2008. Booked into a standard double room with a bed, breakfast and dinner package (upgrading the dinner to Murrays)
Room good considering only a standard room, dinner in Murrays - absolutely fabulous - would return for more as it was completely perfect content, choice and quality was second to none. Waitress Maria was a dream nothing was too much trouble and she was very personable. Bar friendly and cosy. Breakfast in room was delightful - all in all an experience that I would do again.

  • Liked — room, food, service, location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2008

Enjoyed my third break at Whittlebury, and as usual, had a very pleasant, relaxing stay.

Upgraded to a Club Room which was well worth the extra £30. Much roomier than the standard room with more attractive furniture and fittings, and a more pleasing view.

Also upgraded to Murrays Restaurant and had a fabulous meal and top notch service.

This hotel is consistently good and I would highly recommend it. I will be back!

  • Liked — Excellent service.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Callycam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2008

My husband and i have just returned from whittlebury hall, we stayed for 2 nights ( got good deal on lastminute.com) the service we received was fantastic! The food was lovely, on the 1st night we ate at astons and on the 2nd night we upgraded to eat at murrays, this is well worth doing, the food was delightful, atmosphere intimate and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Our room was rather warm so we requseted a fan, which was arrived in our room promptly. I have read past reviews about the hotel and the paper thin walls! the walls do appear to be quite thin as it was rather noisy at times but not unbearable! The spa was a dream! we had several treatments all of which were lovely and again the staff were always on hand if we needed them.

So all in all, we had a great time, would definately recommend people to stay there and will be going back in the near future!

  • Liked — spa
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ChicEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth Northumberland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2008

I have been to this Hotel about 4 times now and have never experienced anyhthing like the bad reviews that are on here about this Hotel. The grounds are lovely as you drive in, very impressive building, lovely decor and well maintained, Rooms are a lovely size, well fitted out and large comfortable beds. Yes the meals are not quite silver service and as its used by many companies for courses etc you get large tables of people that need serving all at once and that takes up the staffs time. We found the Restaurant Staff to be very helpful and pleasant, and the food to be quite nice, the service was very quick in fact maybe a little to quick for a relaxing evening. When we arrived it was to early for check in, but when we returned the recepionist knew straight away who we were. There is a Day Spa area with a small pool which is also a spa bath and has a number of power jets and power showers, as well as a Sauna, and two types of steam room, and ice cavern to cool down in etc, all very clean and well maintained, lovely soft robes and slippers provided. This is reserved for the Spa guests and there is a bigger pool , sauna , steam room, spa bath etc which is used by members but also available to guests. The Hotel offers overnight DBB packages including Spa treatment which is good value for money and even more so if you book it when there is an offer on. Had a fantastic time, just go for it and relax, don't let tiny things wind you up and you will to.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotty19190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Towcester
11.6 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Towcester
420 reviews
4.6 mi away
Travelodge Towcester Silverstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
#3 of 34 in Milton Keynes
832 reviews
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Northampton M1, Jct 15
14.6 mi away
Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whittlebury Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whittlebury Hall

Property: Whittlebury Hall
Address: Whittlebury, Towcester NN12 8QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Towcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Towcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Whittlebury Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whittlebury Hall is a magnificent four star conference and training centre, hotel and spa, set in rural Northamptonshire. Its classical Georgian architecture, complemented by rich furnishings and fabrics has produced an award-winning hotel, recognised for its high standard of accommodation and service. The hotel has 213 spacious double bedrooms including five individually designed suites, all with en-suite bathrooms, decorated to provide a modern yet elegant and restful escape. With a host of personal touches and thoughtful extras. Whittlebury Hall excels in conference, training and meeting facilities, boasting 20 principal training suites supported by 28 fully serviced syndicate rooms, six spacious meeting rooms, executive boardroom and three secluded private dining rooms. The award-winning The Day Spa at Whittlebury Hall is one of the largest in the country and a key selling point for the hotel. Stretching across two levels, the upper floor alone contains 23 treatment rooms, with a choice of more than altogether offering over 60 treatments delivered by a team of highly skilled therapists. It offers the ultimate in pampering with a host of stimulating Heat and Ice Experiences. There is also a Hair Studio for those who want a quick blow dry and style through to a full cut and colour. There is also The Leisure Club in the hotel, which includes a 19-metre pool, whirlpool spa, bubble jet, steam room, sauna, aerobic studio and the latest in equipment with state-of-the-art gymnasium. In addition, the hotel boasts three restaurants; Astons - offering a relaxed atmosphere to meet with family and friends with a blend of classic and contemporary cuisine, 2 AA Rosettes restaurant Murrays at Whittlebury Hall - with creative dishes and the opportunity to taste the latest blends of flavours and ingredients presented by an award-winning chef and Bentleys - the perfect rendezvous for friends, family or colleagues with an Italian pizza and pasta menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Whittlebury Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whittlebury Hall Towcester
Hall Whittlebury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing