We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Spa Break with my daughter”
Review of Whittlebury Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Whittlebury Hall
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Towcester
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Experienced Whittlebury Hall for the first time as a present from my daughter , we had the ice / get experience and stayed over night on the deal . Have the buffet lunch for £10 definitely worth it and the food was fab , as was the evening meal at £25 per head ... I am a real foodie and I loved the food . The whole trip was lovely and look forward to going back ....

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louruth, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Dear Lples

Thank you for your lovely TripAdvisor review following your recent visit to Whittlebury Hall.

We are delighted that you had an amazing spa break with your daughter and that you thoroughly enjoyed both your lunch and dinner. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,566 - 1,572 of 2,520 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013

Just back from overnight stay with good friends , had read some of the reviews and was not sure what to expect but can honestly say had lovely stay, rooms were spotlessly clean and spacious,staff very friendly and helpful. Food delicious with great service. Enjoyed the spa experience and the treatment (massage) which was included in price. Honestly don't know what some people expect! Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louruth, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Dear Juie B

Thank you for your excellent TripAdvisor review following your visit to Whittlebury Hall in December.

We are so pleased that you had such a lovely stay with us and that you enjoyed every aspect of your visit from the Spa and treatments to the food and service.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards

Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

stayed here in October, our room was miles away from anywhere and very small indeed. Rooms were however pleasant but it looked out onto a roof space so not even a view. It's a big conference hotel more than anything so it lacks personality but the staff are incredibly pleasant. I'd go back if I was on business but not for a weekend away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louruth, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Kathy S

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review following your visit to Whittlebury Hall in October.
We are pleased that you found the staff to be incredibly pleasant but are sorry that you weren't entirely satisfied with the location of your room, however we do hope that you will visit us again in the future!

Kind regards

Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Been to Whittlebury hall on a number of occasions and as usual we were impressed by the whole experience. Had some lovely treatments, spent time relaxing and enjoyed the heat and ice room. Lunch and Dinner very tasty and a number of choices to suit every palette. Rooms are clean, large and I love the bathrooms with his and her sinks. The only reason I have give 4 stars is on this occasion the breakfast was not hot, it's self service and the food was warm when taken which meant to went cold quite quickly and as a slow eater my breakfast was cold by time I got through it. Outside of that a lovely post Xmas treat and I have no hesitation in recommending Whittlebury Hall.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlindajen2427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louruth, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear jlindajen2427

Thank you for your lovely Tripadvisor review following your visit to Whittlebury Hall in December.

We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay and that you were once again impressed by the whole experience, from your treatments to your room and the food choices.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Whittlebury Hall in the future for another great stay!

Kind regards

Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My fiance and I had our second visit to Whittlebury Hall as a Christmas treat to ourselves, reception staff at the SPA were very polite and took the time to explain what they recommend my fiance steers clear of as shes pregnant.

We enjoyed the heat and ice experience my fiance enjoyed pulling the chain on the bucket shower while i stood underneath trying not to scream like a little girl. We both had different spa treatments, i went for the back shoulders and neck massage and she had the facial massage both were really enjoyable and relaxing.

The room 313 was massive with a his and hers sink in the ensuite with bath and complementary toiletries and towels, room had a tea and coffee and mini bar with iron and ironing board. There was no view from the window it just looked in to another bedroom opposite to a bloke in his pants watching TV.

Lunch was served at the terrace cafe as a buffet and was excellent there was plenty to choose from and the buffet was always topped up and it never ran short on choice my favourite was the roll mop. We ate our dinner in the Astons restaurant this was awesome its a set menu but with plenty of choice i went for the lamb and it did not disappoint. Breakfast is served in Astons and like lunch is severed as a buffet with everything you can think of from continental to full English,

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aiden F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louruth, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Aiden F

Thank you for your lovely TripAdvisor review following your visit to Whittlebury Hall in December.

We are so pleased that you and your fiancé had such a fabulous stay and that the spa and your massages were so enjoyable and relaxing. We are also delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed the food, especially the lamb!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

From start to finish our experience of this hotel was superb.A little wary having read previous reviews but to our absolute pleasure we found our four night stay outstanding and are already excited about booking Christmas again next year.The hotel porter Ian was most helpful, given that the rain was coming down in torrents he insisted on helping my husband with our (excess!!!) luggage.The reception staff were very welcoming and provided an efficient check in.
Our room did not disappoint it was an upgraded club room which was spacious and well serviced daily by courteous and friendly staff.Our room overlooked the golf course which was lovely and was a daily tease for my husband who was itching to play!
We have stayed in hotels for Christmas for the last four years and Whittlebury Hall is by far the best to date.The attention to detail made the stay just that little bit extra special for example daily replenished snacks and wine were hugely appreciated.
The food was first class on the first night we ate in the Astons restaurant a la carte and I had the best tasting steak in years,unfortunetly my husbands steak was not as blue as he would have liked but he is chef trained and can be critical if not to his standards.The wine was superb and the restaurant staff friendly and accommodating.
The arranged champagne and canapes on Christmas eve and the Boxing Gala evenings were outstanding,the oxtail canapes were embarrassingly devoured with much gusto by myself, husband and our friends.
The mulled wine and mince pies were also delicious along with afternoon tea.To be honest we found all the food to be excellent and of a high quality.Not that we are motivated by food or anything!
The leisure area and spa were fabulous my husband had a massage which was also very good,I'm a trained therapist and he was impressed having been my guinea pig for many years.All the facilities were well maintained and the readily available fruit and water were a nice touch.We will be back for a spa night break I'm sure in 2014!
I really appreciated the visit to church Christmas eve the service was lovely and really set the peaceful mood for the rest of our staff.
Panto was great and also set a joyous mood for the evening events.
My husband and our friends husband were very happy that the Gala dinner required black tie as they both often do this at other hotels we have stayed previously and have always been the only ones to do this.We all agreed the Gala Boxng night was a perfect end to a perfect stay.We were also impressed with the managers presence throughout supporting their staff.
Thank you for making Christmas 2013 very special for us and our friends.We will be back and as we live near Bedford not too far away we intend to visit more regularly.

Room Tip: Club rooms excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louruth, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Amanda N

Thank you for your wonderful TripAdvisor review following your Christmas visit to Whittlebury Hall.

We are absolutely delighted that you had such an outstanding stay and that you enjoyed every aspect of you four night break with us. The Christmas itinerary is certainly packed with things to do and it is great that you were able to enjoy the spa and treatments, the midnight mass and especially the Gala Dinner. We are so pleased that the staff were so friendly and efficient and that we made yours and your friends Christmas so special!

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Whittlebury Hall in 2014!

Kind regards

Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

I went with a friend last year and it was absolutely abominable. The service was so shocking that, even though the food, location and spa were average and the treatment I had was absolutely fab, I could not give this more than a 1 rating. The staff on the whole were extremely rude, our cream tea came in very dirty stained cups, the staff in the spa denied us having booked our treatments even though we had called to confirm them and the heating in our room was broken and it was freezing. Even though its cheap its totally not worth the money. Go elsewhere!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank altitude01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louruth, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear altitude01

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review following your visit to Whittlebury Hall in January 2013.

We are sorry that your visit in January did not meet your expectations but are pleased however that you had a fabulous treatment. Your valuable comments regarding your visit have been passed on to the department Managers.

Kind regards

Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Towcester
11.6 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
4.6 mi away
Travelodge Towcester Silverstone
3.7 mi away
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Towcester
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Northampton M1, Jct 15
5.9 mi away
Travelodge Milton Keynes Old Stratford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whittlebury Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whittlebury Hall

Address: Whittlebury, Towcester NN12 8QH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Towcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Towcester
Price Range: $99 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whittlebury Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whittlebury Hall is a magnificent four star conference and training centre, hotel and spa, set in rural Northamptonshire. Its classical Georgian architecture, complemented by rich furnishings and fabrics has produced an award-winning hotel, recognised for its high standard of accommodation and service. The hotel has 213 spacious double bedrooms including five individually designed suites, all with en-suite bathrooms, decorated to provide a modern yet elegant and restful escape. With a host of personal touches and thoughtful extras. Whittlebury Hall excels in conference, training and meeting facilities, boasting 20 principal training suites supported by 28 fully serviced syndicate rooms, six spacious meeting rooms, executive boardroom and three secluded private dining rooms. The award-winning The Day Spa at Whittlebury Hall is one of the largest in the country and a key selling point for the hotel. Stretching across two levels, the upper floor alone contains 23 treatment rooms, with a choice of more than altogether offering over 60 treatments delivered by a team of highly skilled therapists. It offers the ultimate in pampering with a host of stimulating Heat and Ice Experiences. There is also a Hair Studio for those who want a quick blow dry and style through to a full cut and colour. There is also The Leisure Club in the hotel, which includes a 19-metre pool, whirlpool spa, bubble jet, steam room, sauna, aerobic studio and the latest in equipment with state-of-the-art gymnasium. In addition, the hotel boasts three restaurants; Astons - offering a relaxed atmosphere to meet with family and friends with a blend of classic and contemporary cuisine, 2 AA Rosettes restaurant Murrays at Whittlebury Hall - with creative dishes and the opportunity to taste the latest blends of flavours and ingredients presented by an award-winning chef and Bentleys - the perfect rendezvous for friends, family or colleagues with an Italian pizza and pasta menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Whittlebury Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whittlebury Hall Towcester
Hall Whittlebury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing