We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge hotel, very impressed. Very good staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whittlebury Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Whittlebury Hall
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Towcester
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Huge hotel, very impressed. Very good staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

I was here for a conference. Facilities where great and the hotel itself superb. Finding it was easy and the long winding drive off the main road adds to the good feeling.Parking is plentiful. Check in was fast and accurate. Finding your room is fun as you bump into many others all holding a piece of paper looking for directions. The reality is if you follow the signs, the room is there, its just no-one is used to the long distance. My room was fine with twin beds. Nice bathroom and a great shower. Food on offer was good. Breakfast was just ok. Upgrade of choice of sausages is needed.
Bar prices..well its a hotel so on the steep side. Check out was fast, simple and accurate. all staff were very helpful and full of smiles. Pool was serene and warm. I particularly liked the break away mini kitchen stands that let you get a cuppa or cold drink, complimentary. A nice stay indeed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnniepk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louruth, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear JohnPK

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to read that you found the hotel and conference facilities to be great - especially the 'delegate break out areas' !

The hotel is large - 213 bedrooms and rather than being built as a high rise and spoiling the countryside views, we have been built on two floors and a little spread out - delegate / room maps are available at Reception and I hope you found the signs around the hotel to your room.

I duly note your feedback regarding the bar prices and as you say as a 4 star hotel we are in comparison with our local competitors.

Glad you got to get time to use & enjoy the pool especially during a busy conference.

I look forward to welcoming you back for another business trip or perhaps for leisure next time!

Kind regards, Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    674
    445
    230
    175
See reviews for
243
757
40
341
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Whittlebury Hall offers a fun, sociable spa experience for groups of friends or couples at a very reasonable price - especially if you use a special offer! The staff are mostly very nice and the treatments that I've had a fantastic (though a little expensive).

I wouldn't go though if you're after the more traditional relaxing / romantic / peaceful spa as it can get VERY noisy and busy, particularly in the Heat and Ice Experience rooms!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbylimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louruth, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Bobbylimbo

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip advisor following your visit to Whittlebury in August.

Whittlebury Hall does have one of the largest hotel spa's in the country and therefore can accommodate the larger groups and amounts of guests that smaller bespoke spa's cannot accommodate. The spa, especially during weekends is sociable and bustling and I am pleased that you like the 'fun' atmosphere. Only today we have won the Good Spa Guide's Best Spa for the East Midlands.... another accolade that we are very proud of thanks to our guests. I am pleased that the treatments you've enjoyed have been fantastic.

Having said this there are times during the week or even the Twilight Spa when it does have that more tranquil and 'romantic' atmosphere - perhaps worth a visit next time.

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back soon.

Kind regards, Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heighington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here for a recent seminar I attended, the hotel is huge and navigating around is a little tricky at times. A little map would be useful printed on your keycard showing the layout of the hotel and shortcuts to places.

The gym was FANTASTIC, and would make me return just to use it again and the spa was a good size too

The food was good and considering how many people were catered for I couldn’t fault the food or the service.

The rooms are large, clean and well laid out. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: take some breadcrumbs and leave a trail back to your room lol!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SparkyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louruth, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear SparkyG

Thank you for your positive review following your visit to Whittlebury in October.

The hotel is indeed large - 213 bedrooms located over two floors, floor maps showing rooms and conference/syndicate rooms are available and on display at Reception and I am sorry if you missed these.

I am delighted that you felt the gym was fantastic - great feedback, as we have just had the gym re-designed and equipped with new state of the art facilities that are only available in several other gyms around the country.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the food and could not fault our service.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Whittlebury in the near future for both business and leisure.

Kind regards, Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Attended a conference and dinner at the hotel. Food was pretty decent, not great, but it's tricky with large numbers. Didn't have much to do with the staff, but seemed friendly.

Nice room and bathroom. A bit small but nice.

Didn't get a chance to use the spa.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mike1701d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louruth, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Mike1701d

Thank you for your review following your visit to Whittlebury Hall in October.

I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your short stay and evening meal. All of our 213 rooms do vary in size and we do have a variety of bedrooms ranging from Standards to Clubs to Suites. In 2014 we will also be redecorating all of our bedrooms.

It is a shame that you didn't get a chance to use the spa or leisure facilities - perhaps next time.

Thank you again

Kind regards, Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

A girly trip to this spa! Was a lovely day out and whilst not all of us booked treatments there was plenty to entertain us during the day.

Treatments - the facial and massages were particularly good.

Spa facilities - there was the usual sauna and steam rooms as well as a lovely pool which had amazing roman bath type decor. The jacuzzi was nice as was the foot spa!

Lunch - they cater very well for both vegetarians as well as meat eaters. There was plenty of food and healthy fruit salad for dessert.

Afternoon tea - yummy cakes costing only £1.99 each and hot drinks were reasonably priced. There were packages for afternoon tea but as these were priced on an individual basis, it worked out to be more costly.

The best facility was the floatation beds which were very relaxing and free to use. The only downside to these were that the staff recommended one should only stay on the bed for 10 minutes yet no clocks or timers were anywhere to be found, so often there were queues outside the curtains surrounding the beds!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louruth, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Rina B

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review following your visit to Whittlebury Hall in September.

I am delighted that overall you and your friends were able to use and enjoy all of the facilities, including the floatation beds - your feedback regarding the clocks has been duly noted and passed on to the Spa Manager.

We have three Afternoon Tea Options as an alternative to the cakes - but all are delicious and yummy!

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Whittlebury in the near future.

Kind regards, Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Have been several times to event evenings and had great time
Spa is really good. Great bar. Ask for a suit when you arrive and they may upgrade you for £60,well worth it
Very good value. Will go again





Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank colmanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louruth, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear colmanLondon

I am delighted that you had another great time at one of our tribute events and thank you for your nice review following your visit.

Our Suites are usually £110.00 to upgrade - but glad you were able to get a very good deal...lucky you!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another fab time.

Kind regards, Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Just got back from a stay at Whittlebury Hall and found it a great place to stay.
We stayed for a Charity Ball and was treated very well throughout our stay.
The room was modern with a fridge , tv iron trouser press hair dryer etc.
I forgot my razor and after calling reception one was at my door within minutes I could not fault the staff at this hotel at all. The bar staff and waiting staff were very pleasant and could not do enough for you, other hotels could learn alot about service from this hotel.
Cant wait to stay again next year

Room Tip: Ask for a room not near the courtyard our room 411 was very noisy during the day which may annoy som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louruth, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Trevor C

Delighted to read your review following your recent visit to Whittlebury when you attended a charity event. I am pleased that you found all members of the team to be helpful and found the service to be excellent - it is something we certainly pride ourselves on - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Whittlebury next year....or if not before!

Kind regards, Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Towcester
11.6 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Silverstone
Premier Inn Silverstone
#1 of 2 in Silverstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
#1 of 3 in Towcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel
23.6 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
1.5 mi away
Snoozebox Hotel at Silverstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whittlebury Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whittlebury Hall

Property: Whittlebury Hall
Address: Whittlebury, Towcester NN12 8QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Towcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Towcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Whittlebury Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whittlebury Hall is a magnificent four star conference and training centre, hotel and spa, set in rural Northamptonshire. Its classical Georgian architecture, complemented by rich furnishings and fabrics has produced an award-winning hotel, recognised for its high standard of accommodation and service. The hotel has 213 spacious double bedrooms including five individually designed suites, all with en-suite bathrooms, decorated to provide a modern yet elegant and restful escape. With a host of personal touches and thoughtful extras. Whittlebury Hall excels in conference, training and meeting facilities, boasting 20 principal training suites supported by 28 fully serviced syndicate rooms, six spacious meeting rooms, executive boardroom and three secluded private dining rooms. The award-winning The Day Spa at Whittlebury Hall is one of the largest in the country and a key selling point for the hotel. Stretching across two levels, the upper floor alone contains 23 treatment rooms, with a choice of more than altogether offering over 60 treatments delivered by a team of highly skilled therapists. It offers the ultimate in pampering with a host of stimulating Heat and Ice Experiences. There is also a Hair Studio for those who want a quick blow dry and style through to a full cut and colour. There is also The Leisure Club in the hotel, which includes a 19-metre pool, whirlpool spa, bubble jet, steam room, sauna, aerobic studio and the latest in equipment with state-of-the-art gymnasium. In addition, the hotel boasts three restaurants; Astons - offering a relaxed atmosphere to meet with family and friends with a blend of classic and contemporary cuisine, 2 AA Rosettes restaurant Murrays at Whittlebury Hall - with creative dishes and the opportunity to taste the latest blends of flavours and ingredients presented by an award-winning chef and Bentleys - the perfect rendezvous for friends, family or colleagues with an Italian pizza and pasta menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotel.de and HostelWorld so you can book your Whittlebury Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whittlebury Hall Towcester
Hall Whittlebury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing