We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“To busy”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Whittlebury Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Whittlebury Hall
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Towcester
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“To busy”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Went at Easter and it really was to busy, no seats in the spa or by the pool. Massage was meant to last 25mins both had just 12mins! Hotel was noisy with travellers in the evening until 3am. Not the relaxing stay that was advertised. Room was dated with empty mini bar and no water.
Food was good as was service in restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richwasp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louruth, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Richwasp123,

Thanks You for your review of Whittlebury Hall Hotel and Spa.

I am disappointed to read that your stay with us was not as you expected. We aim to ensure every guest receives excellent service and leaves feeling pampered. The Spa is a very popular feature here but we do aim to ensure every guest receives the same high levels of service.

I do hope you will return to us in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    684
    452
    233
    179
See reviews for
253
772
40
344
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I attended Whittlebury for my hen do and thought the whole trip was fabulous. A swift check in, followed by afternoon tea, a full body massage and full use of the spa, 3 course dinner and a take that tribute night. Perfect service throughout my whole stay. I would definitely recommend Whittlebury for a girly weekend away. Perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louruth, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Claire G,

Thank You for your recent review of Whittlebury Hall Hotel and Spa.

I am delighted to read that you found your stay with us as fabulous. We do aim to ensure that every guest feels pampered and relaxed when they leave us.

I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stated overnight midweek on the escape and spa stay package. We had been before on this package do we were really looking forward to going again and we were not disappointed. Check in was fast and our room was ready upon arrival so we went to our room first to unpack before going to the spa. The room was clean and very spacious. We had a standard room. We put our valuables in the free safe which was a bonus. We then had our first treatment which was a soothing back & neck massage which was lovely. We then headed to the spa to make full use of the steam rooms and ice cave. It wasn't very busy at as far as we were concerned, but some disgruntled "regulars" were complaining how busy it was for a Wednesday, obviously not used to having to share a steam room or sauna with more than two people. The buffet lunch on our package was held in the Grand Prix suite and was cream of vegetable soup to start, then a choice of beef chilli with rice or a mushroom dish. There were also salads and cold meats on offer. In the evening we had dinner in Astons restaurant which was excellent. We both had the roasted pepper tart to start, then the rump steak for mains which was cooked to perfection. Breakfast the next morning was buffet style and there was a good selection of continental and full English options on offer. The staff were very polite on all occasions we spoke with them. We shall most definitely return again soon.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyann300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louruth, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear sallyann300,

Thank You for your recent review of Whittlebury Hall Hotel and Spa.

I am delighted to read that your stay with us was relaxing and that you will be returning to us in the near future. We do aim to ensure that every guest leaves feeling relaxed and pampered.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Whittlebury Hall Hotel and Spa in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leighton buzzard
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Had an overnight break at Whittlebury Hall midweek which we enjoyed as did the friends who were with us. Facilities are excellent but there were a few minor niggles, which didn't detract from our enjoyment, and one that did. Was looking forward to using the jacuzzi but after a couple of minutes we were all forced to leave, eyes stinging from over-chlorination. In addition it started to cause a rash on my arm and leg. Watching over half an hour or so nobody stayed in there for more than a couple of minutes, all leaving whilst rubbing their eyes. From other reviews I can see this has occurred before so it would seem that their control over chorination isn't what it should be. It was dangerously toxic around the jacuzzi in my opinion. Even in the jacuzzi part of the main pool,when the bubbles were switched on, my eyes started to sting after a few minutes. I've never experienced this at any other facility.
Other niggles: the bathroom door was too small for its frame and neither latched nor locked as the latch didn't reach the striker plate; one wall light flickered continually so couldn't be used; the bath plug wasn't attached to the chain. Didn't use the bath so didn't have the hassle of trying to get the plug out; we arranged to have sheets and blankets, as offered, but that didn't happen. Despite these niggles the room was otherwise excellent and comfortable.
The restaurant: generally excellent though the waitress had a poor grasp of English so it was difficult for her to understand our requirements but she more than made up for it in charm and friendliness. Some starters were a bit small and the soup just warm, not hot. Food was very good though but tending towards meagre portions and no vegetables. Overall we did enjoy it though as they, on request, served up a plate of vegetables for us to share. Shouldn't need to ask though.
Would we return? Yes as it is still a classy hotel with excellent amenities but it needs to iron out some issues. As things are they need to consider providing a chemical warfare suit for using the jacuzzi.

Room Tip: We had a room upgrade so there were little extras such as nibbles, half a bottle of wine, slippers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lfromleighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louruth, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Ifromleighton,

Thank you for your recent review of Whittlebury Hall Hotel and Spa.

I am delighted to read that you and friends enjoyed your visit. We do constantly monitor the chlorine levels and adjust them accordingly. They are always within acceptable limits but I do take on board your comments and will advise the team.

I am glad that to read that you found your room to be excellent and comfortable, and that the food was very good.

I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Me friend and I had booked a one night spa break away in January to Whittlebury Hall. To begin with we had a slight problem finding the actual place but we got there ok and were very impressed with the exterior of the hall.
We checked in perfectly and were shown all the facilities. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The food was delicious, we had dinner and breakfast included and it was a very nice atmosphere created. The spa experience was also great, we had a very relaxing time, the hotel was clean, we thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience and are planning a trip thre again soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mads S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louruth, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Mads S,

Thank you for your recent review of Whittlebury Hall Hotel and Spa.

I am delighted to read that your stay here thoroughly enjoyable and that you are planning on returning. Our one night Spa breaks are very good value and we always aim to ensure every guest has a relaxing time.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Whittlebury Hall Hotel and Spa in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
185 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

This was the third time I had been back to whittlebury hall. My husband and I went and did the "clarins spa and stay sensation" which included a 25 minute back, neck and shoulder massage, use of the leisure facilities, heat and ice rooms, steam rooms etc, an over night stay, lunch, dinner and breakfast the following day. For £99 per person what you get is absolutely amazing value. We had our massage at 10.00 am. Dinner was booked for 9.00 pm which was a little late however the only time available. On reflection it was perfect as we were able to enjoy the use of the facilities for longer and make more of our stay. After our massage we spent some time in the hydro therapy pool and the various steam rooms. We then had lunch which was a buffet style. Having dinner at 9.00 pm we thought we would be very very hungry however lunch saw us easily through to dinner time. After lunch we went to the gym which is fully stocked with decent machines, followed by another round of the hydrotherapy pool and steam rooms. The second visit to the steam rooms was a more pleasant experience as by 5.00 pm it was much more quiet another advantage to eating later. The food at breakfast, lunch and dinner was amazing. I couldn't fault it. Would definitely come here again and again..... such amazing value for the money. If you want to book any other treatments do it in advance. We wanted to book a hot stone massage as felt so relaxed after the neck, back and shoulder massage but they were fully booked all day it wasn't possible. Want to book again very soon!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelli8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louruth, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Nelli8,

Thank you for your recent review of Whittlebury Hall Hotel and Spa.

I am delighted to read that your stay here was very relaxing and amazing value. We do offer lots of different treatments but we do ask you book in advance.

I am glad you will be coming back to visit us and I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My Wife treated me (and Her) on my birthday yesterday 24 March 2013.

Let's get the negative out of the way first and the reason I could not give a 5* rating.
Booking confirmation is a joke. Having waited untill three days before the event we rang, to be told all confirmations go into "JUNK" and this would be headed with the name of the person you phoned, not Whittlebury Hall. When the emails were finaly detected, they contained six attachments which took forever to download.

The positives:-
We went for the "Top to Toe" day and it was excellent. Well organised and with a first class lunch.
The pool area is massive and the "heat and ice" experience is not to be missed. You really get the feeling that you have been on holiday for a day and come away feeling very chilled out.
As we live locally in Silverstone we will be giving serious thought to becoming members.
"Just get the confirmations sorted"
Roger A. Ward

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louruth, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Roger W,

Thank You for your recent review of Whittlebury Hall Hotel and Spa.

I am delighted to read that you found your stay here excellent. We aim to ensure every guest feels pampered and relaxed when they leave.

I hope we can welcome you back to Whittlebury Hall Hotel and Spa in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Towcester
11.6 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Silverstone
Premier Inn Silverstone
#1 of 2 in Silverstone
569 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Towcester
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel
23.6 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
8.7 mi away
Hilton Northampton
Hilton Northampton
#7 of 29 in Northampton
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whittlebury Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whittlebury Hall

Property: Whittlebury Hall
Address: Whittlebury, Towcester NN12 8QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Towcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Towcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Whittlebury Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whittlebury Hall is a magnificent four star conference and training centre, hotel and spa, set in rural Northamptonshire. Its classical Georgian architecture, complemented by rich furnishings and fabrics has produced an award-winning hotel, recognised for its high standard of accommodation and service. The hotel has 213 spacious double bedrooms including five individually designed suites, all with en-suite bathrooms, decorated to provide a modern yet elegant and restful escape. With a host of personal touches and thoughtful extras. Whittlebury Hall excels in conference, training and meeting facilities, boasting 20 principal training suites supported by 28 fully serviced syndicate rooms, six spacious meeting rooms, executive boardroom and three secluded private dining rooms. The award-winning The Day Spa at Whittlebury Hall is one of the largest in the country and a key selling point for the hotel. Stretching across two levels, the upper floor alone contains 23 treatment rooms, with a choice of more than altogether offering over 60 treatments delivered by a team of highly skilled therapists. It offers the ultimate in pampering with a host of stimulating Heat and Ice Experiences. There is also a Hair Studio for those who want a quick blow dry and style through to a full cut and colour. There is also The Leisure Club in the hotel, which includes a 19-metre pool, whirlpool spa, bubble jet, steam room, sauna, aerobic studio and the latest in equipment with state-of-the-art gymnasium. In addition, the hotel boasts three restaurants; Astons - offering a relaxed atmosphere to meet with family and friends with a blend of classic and contemporary cuisine, 2 AA Rosettes restaurant Murrays at Whittlebury Hall - with creative dishes and the opportunity to taste the latest blends of flavours and ingredients presented by an award-winning chef and Bentleys - the perfect rendezvous for friends, family or colleagues with an Italian pizza and pasta menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotel.de, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Whittlebury Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whittlebury Hall Towcester
Hall Whittlebury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing