We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not relaxing!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Whittlebury Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Whittlebury Hall
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Towcester
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not relaxing!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just returned from an overnight stay at Whittlebury Hall (Sunday). If you want a relaxing stay this is not for you. The Building itself is very impressive inside and outside. However the bedroom we were In was in need of some renovation, especially the bathroom. The breakfast was adequate but could have done with more choice. It would also have been nice to have our own coffee/tea pot instead of having to be 'topped up'. The swimming pool was overcrowded with people always waiting for sun beds. The mattresses on the sun beds were very thin and some filthy! The spa area was very crowded and very noisy and definitely not a relaxing experience! Our dinner in Aston's Restaurant was excellent but the wine very expensive. It is a shame that Whittlebury Hall seem to be maximising customer numbers rather than giving guests the 'Ultimate Spa experience'.
This was my 2nd visit, having previously visited early last year. Things have certainly gone down hill!!

Room Tip: Take ear plugs. There are a lot of 'group bookings'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggienmal_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louruth, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear maggienmal_11,

Thank You for your recent review of Whittlebury Hall Hotel and Spa.

The Spa is a very popular feature here and we do try to ensure every guest receives the "Ultimate Spa Experience". We are constant updating and improving our facilities at Whittlebury Hall Hotel and Spa. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your meal in Aston's Restaurant and I do hope you will return to us in the future.

Kind Regards

Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    686
    453
    234
    180
See reviews for
255
773
40
345
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed here with 20 of my friends for a hen weekend. The spa was beautiful and the massage I had was immense, we had a great day. The food was 5 star both at lunch and dinner and lots to choose from. Unfortunately the hotel had a function on that evening and what was meant to be relaxing turned into a nightmare. Our rooms were all above the conservatory (where the function was held) the music was so loud even with the window closed! It didnt finish until 2am and then carried on into the early hours with the noise of cleaning and moving furniture, we asked to be moved but there were no rooms left, three of my very heavily pregnant friends were shattered the next day. When we were in the bar we couldnt hear the music and asked for it to be turned up just a couple of notches but were told they couldnt because of other guests (shame they didint take this view as a whole) The next day we spoke to the manager who to be fair was lovley and offered us 50% of our next stay and a room upgrade. We went away feeling better than we did during the night. We have now tried to redeem this however are told there are only 3, yes 3 weekends this year we can use it!! What had the potential to be an amazing weekend was let down by other use of the hotel and it really is not fair on other guests who maybe want to sleep before 4am!!

Room Tip: DO NOT stay in any room anywhere near the conservatory or function room unless you are part of the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieMac11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louruth, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear DebbieMac11,

Thank you for your recent review of Whittlebury Hall Hotel and Spa.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your treatment and food but disappointed to see your stay was not as satisfactory as you had hoped. We do try to allocate rooms as guests require. We are often very busy however we do try to ensure that every guest enjoys their stay thoroughly and I do hope we will see you back with in the near future.

Kind regards

Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I'm very surprised by the quantity of negative comments about this hotel, whilst I was there, I experienced everything I had hoped to plus more. I had only assumed it was a given that most people would be leaving this hotel singing its praises. In most cases, I guess I was wrong. Whilst there were a few negative points e.g Prices, busyness and I did not like the fact you have to walk through the cafe to get to the swimming pool. Overall this was a very enjoyable experience. The Spa was very nice, there were numerous different rooms of which you could experience, the room was tidy and all I needed, the hotel was spacious and the food was exceptional. I have already and would continue to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louruth, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Paul B,

Thank you for your recent review. We were delighted to read you had a great stay at Whittlebury Hall Hotel and Spa.

I am glad we exceeded your expectations as this is something we always strive for. I do hope you will be able to visit again in the future and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards, Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Overall great visit. Hotel and spa staff fab! Not overattentive but good balance. Not easy to get that right across whole team. Only down side, spa not prepared to negotiate with rearranging treatments - inflexible in my view and resultantly lost 2 paid for treatments. Food- not as described on menu-somewhat style over substance re evening meal. Definitely shall return!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louruth, General Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Caroline T,

Thank you for your recent review.

We were delighted to read you enjoyed your visit to Whittlebury Hall Hotel and Spa. We do try accommodate every guest in their requests and would love the opportunity to exceed your expectations next time.

I do hope you will be able to visit again in the future and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Spent a night at Whittlebury Hall on Saturday 9th February. After arriving a little early than we was meant to, there was no problem and told our room was ready. The room was large, clean and tidy. we were a little nervous as we were in the room near the lift but no problems. Then went to the spa to check in but once checked in we was told we had to wait for dressing gowns, this wasn't a problem for us as we had gowns in our room due to having a club room. Dressing gowns were a little worn and seem to be one size fits all but that's not quite true. The few hours spent in the spa were relaxing but also great fun. There are a few area's in the spa that needed some extra attention but nothing to major or that will interfere with you day. We returned to our room completely relaxed and satisfied with our spa experience. There was a some problem with the shower it didn't go lower than number 3, fine temperature for me but my husband could of done with it a little cooler. We went to the bar before dinner and found the staff to be quite cold/ hard faced like they were doing us a favour by serving us. Dinner time at Aston's or should I say wedding time, we found the dining experience as if we were at a large wedding just without the Bride & Groom. The food was adequate for the money we spent on the whole package at Whittlebury Hall but when returning we would differently upgrade to Murrays restaurant to see if we could improve that part of the stay, as we both enjoy dining out. Bed and sleep quality were great. In the morning we used the leisure facilities, which was a nice start to the day quick swim and long soak in the jacuzzi. Breakfast was served in Aston's and you couldn't ask for anything more to eat, the only fault was I would have liked a pot of tea, you were served tea/coffee by a waiter but wasn't that frequent. Our overall stay for the money we paid for the package was good value and we had a good night away. We will return at some point but only if we can get a package deal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelaque S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louruth, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Angelaque S,

Many thanks for your review of Whittlebury Hall Hotel and Spa.

I am glad to read that your stay at Whittlebury Hall Hotel and Spa was good value and that you will return to us in the future.

We do have various upgrades available on the packages and would recommend you do try Murrays restaurant when you return. The Club rooms are also great value for the upgrade price.

I hope you will return to us soon at Whittlebury Hall Hotel and Spa.

Kind Regards

Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have just returned from an overnight stay which included a 3-course meal in Astons Restaurant and buffet breakfast. We were so disappointed with the food, we will definitely NOT be returning in the future.. It was of such poor quality and for a luxury place of this size you would have throught they wouldn't skimp on the food. We understand they have to keep to a budget but the quality of the food was not at all up to standard. Such cheap cuts of meat, it's disgusting to think this is what they serve to their guests. I couldn't even bring myself to eat breakfast - the bacon was of such cheap quality. Such a shame they could do so much better if they improved their catering. Very disappointing weekend as the food ruined our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank friendlycats1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louruth, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Friendlycats1966,

Thank you for your recent review of Whittlebury Hall Hotel and Spa.

I am sorry to hear you were dissatisfied with the quality of the food during your stay at Whittlebury Hall Hotel and Spa. We do frequently review our food quality and constantly push our suppliers to provide us with the best quality ingredients for the best price. I am sorry to read that you felt the food served to you during you stay was not up to standard. I hope that you will return in the future to Whittlebury Hall Hotel and Spa and would give us the chance to ensure that you receive the same high standard of quality and service that we offer to all of our guests.

Kind Regards

Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Towcester hotels

Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Having read the reviews of Whittlebury Hall on Trip Advisor, we arrived with relatively low expectations, hoping that some of the more negative comments had prompted the hotel's staff to address some of the more basic issues. Unfortunately, that wasn't the case. We had to ask to move rooms after finding an unpleasant odour in the first; unfortunately, the second room had a very tatty and mould-ridden bathroom and we were told that the other available rooms were above the loading bay, and would therefore be noisy. The decor is tired, and well overdue for a makeover. For a hotel that markets itself as an upmarket spa hotel, it's unfortunate that the attention to detail is so poor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STR675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louruth, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear STR675,

Thank you for your recent review of Whittlebury Hall Hotel and Spa.

I am sorry to read you found your stay at Whittlebury Hall Hotel and Spa disappointing. We constantly review the TripAdvisor comments and aim to rectify any problems that are highlighted to us. We are constantly updating and refurbishing different areas around the Hotel and Spa and we would love the opportunity to welcome you back to Whittlebury Hall Hotel and Spa in the future.

Kind Regards

Ruth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Towcester
11.6 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Silverstone
Premier Inn Silverstone
#1 of 2 in Silverstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Towcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel
23.6 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
8.7 mi away
Hilton Northampton
Hilton Northampton
#7 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whittlebury Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whittlebury Hall

Property: Whittlebury Hall
Address: Whittlebury, Towcester NN12 8QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Towcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Towcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Whittlebury Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whittlebury Hall is a magnificent four star conference and training centre, hotel and spa, set in rural Northamptonshire. Its classical Georgian architecture, complemented by rich furnishings and fabrics has produced an award-winning hotel, recognised for its high standard of accommodation and service. The hotel has 213 spacious double bedrooms including five individually designed suites, all with en-suite bathrooms, decorated to provide a modern yet elegant and restful escape. With a host of personal touches and thoughtful extras. Whittlebury Hall excels in conference, training and meeting facilities, boasting 20 principal training suites supported by 28 fully serviced syndicate rooms, six spacious meeting rooms, executive boardroom and three secluded private dining rooms. The award-winning The Day Spa at Whittlebury Hall is one of the largest in the country and a key selling point for the hotel. Stretching across two levels, the upper floor alone contains 23 treatment rooms, with a choice of more than altogether offering over 60 treatments delivered by a team of highly skilled therapists. It offers the ultimate in pampering with a host of stimulating Heat and Ice Experiences. There is also a Hair Studio for those who want a quick blow dry and style through to a full cut and colour. There is also The Leisure Club in the hotel, which includes a 19-metre pool, whirlpool spa, bubble jet, steam room, sauna, aerobic studio and the latest in equipment with state-of-the-art gymnasium. In addition, the hotel boasts three restaurants; Astons - offering a relaxed atmosphere to meet with family and friends with a blend of classic and contemporary cuisine, 2 AA Rosettes restaurant Murrays at Whittlebury Hall - with creative dishes and the opportunity to taste the latest blends of flavours and ingredients presented by an award-winning chef and Bentleys - the perfect rendezvous for friends, family or colleagues with an Italian pizza and pasta menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Whittlebury Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whittlebury Hall Towcester
Hall Whittlebury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing