We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You need to run for a table!!”
Review of The Dolphin Cafe - CLOSED

The Dolphin Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: We are a small family business serving homemade food using local produce, delicious cakes and Illy coffee. Open 7 days a week, we are licensed, have free wifi & a rear garden for the summer months. Look out for our monthly Art exhibitions & Book-Crossing Zone
northamponshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“You need to run for a table!!”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

You really do!! This place is amazing!! Always busy - you really are lucky to get a table at breakfast, morning coffe, lunch or afternoon tea! And whichever you chose Its ALL fab!! And the homemade cakes are to absolutely die for !!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debbie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    15
    5
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely alternative to the rest”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I wander into this little cafe at least twice a week with my little girl. The staff are always smiling, the drinks are better-priced than those chain stores, and there is colouring available to keep a 3-year old busy! These are the types of places that make little towns so special.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ssmith4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A Truly Beautiful Traditional Cafe.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The dolphin is my most favourite place to eat. I can not fault it in the slightest. All the staff are very friendly and welcoming and I always look forward to going. Compared to other cafes in the area the dolphin has by far the best atmosphere and very delicious food. Oh the food! The food is to die for, my favourite is their homemade burger.
Absolutly brilliant wouldn't change a single thing!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ruthish90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“What a town cafe should be”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The Dolphin is exactly what a local cafe should be - friendly, inviting and with excellent food and service. Panni's are light and tasty and the Rocky Road is the best I've ever had. Their support of local artists is to be commended too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jantours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly service & good food.”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This is a small and friendly cafe in the heart of Towcester. It's a great place to meet up with friends and family (though if you're looking for a quiet child-free place, this is possibly not for you as it is often full of families or mums with little ones!).

The food is good, as are the drinks.

The only downside is that they close early and so afternoon tea has to be rushed!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sophie_matters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dolphin Cafe also viewed

Paulerspury, Towcester
Towcester, Northamptonshire
 
 
Paulerspury, Towcester
Towcester, Northamptonshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing