We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great homemade, food relaxed service and good value”
Review of The Stables

The Stables
Ranked #5 of 39 Restaurants in Towcester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $31
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
395 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Great homemade, food relaxed service and good value”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just back from a very relaxed 4 hour lunch with our friends, menu was varied, also good list of specials in addition to an already attractive menu. Food quality was very good indeed, proper home made dishes with fresh veg, Steak Pies, Casseroles , Fish Pie Salads mixed grills lots of choice. We had 2 courses, a round of drinks and coffees all worked out at £20 a head, felt like good value to us. Service was relaxed, friendly, not rushed but just right. Only think we could say could be better was the coffee was a bit average but as the rating denotes was excellent overall experience. great to see a Pub doing proper cooking rather than from the freezer to the fryer. Thanks great meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shart7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    73
    16
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silverstone
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Had a lovely meal, great service great menu. Prices are ' wine bar ' prices varying between £8.00-15.00 for a main course. Would recommend without question.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Birg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towcester
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Top marks on all counts”
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

As I live not far away I watched with interest as the White Bear was refurbished and became the Stables. I was disappointed at the loss of yet another pub.
But today I actually went there and Wow! I was looking for somewhere reasonably local, reasonably priced, with a reasonably wide menu that delivered good food for my aged parents for Sunday lunch. The Stables came up tops on everything with friendly stff and good service as well. And for a bonus the beer was excellent as well - next time (there will definitely be a next time) I'll walk down and have more than one of the superbly kept Doombar!
Just one tiny minus - the children's portions were on the large size ! :)

Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisTowcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice pub!”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

we love the atmosphere, the food is great and good prices, the staff are excellent, Brian and Denise are doing a great job and are very helpful..

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank markngill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a great night!”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

As the title says really, we decided to treat the parents to a meal out and there was certainly no dissapointment. The staff where really friendly and courteous, the service was brilliant and the food was great, what more could you ask from a night out? The pricing is really reasonable especially when you consider the quality of the food and surroundings, we will certainly be returning again and look forward to it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stables also viewed

Towcester, Northamptonshire
 
Towcester, Northamptonshire
Towcester, Northamptonshire
 
Shutlanger, Northamptonshire
Towcester, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing