We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday celebration”
Review of New Bekash

New Bekash
Ranked #20 of 40 Restaurants in Towcester
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Birthday celebration”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Good food and service was quick, a little pricey but enjoyed the meal.
We had booked a early table and were the only ones there, odd for xmas as thought there would be parties etc

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Will A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    24
    15
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, service a disgrace”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

As a local and regular diner at the New Bekash I recently visited the restaurant with friends to use our "new" VIP Dining Card that both couples had been sold the previous week. Basically it allows 2 people dining to have their cheapest main course free of charge. We were assured, when sold the card, that it could be used when eating with friends who also had also purchased the same deal.
The meals was excellent as usual, however when it came to settling the bill we noticed only one dish had been given foc.
This was taken up with the manager after we left the table in the entrance/bar area. The attitude of the manager was an absolute disgrace, as he insisted it was not possible to use two cards on a single table, however if we were sitting at separate tables it would have been ok!!!
The evening ended up with both couples leaving the restaurant extremely disappointed over basically £6 and the standard of customer service we received. The money we left covered the cost of the meal and included a tip.
Our disappointment was not about the money, but the attitude of the management, bearing in mind over the Xmas period we visited the restaurant twice, spending over £300.
I am not sure if we will visit again, as the Dilraj over the road is on par with its food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good value, tasty food, good service”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We've recently moved into the area and we thought we'd try out one of the local Indian restaurants. Everything lovely, staff attentive and the food was absolutely delicious! Thoroughly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude waiter”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I have never experienced such a rude service! One particular waiter was very rude and ignorant. He gestured by waving his hand to pass our finished plate to him, he was most unfriendly. There were four of us having a meal and all paid the bill in cash by paying £20 each. He stood and counted the money out in front of us at the table. There were no Thank you's, good evening, or goodbye on leaving. The food was fair, not great. We will not be eating here again and I do not recommend it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesbrazier11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rude and arrogant just for starters”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Unbelievably rude in following up on a late arrival. Their last sentence was 'you're not doing yourselves any favours'.

Hardly surprising we chose to cancel and went to the Dilraj instead, where they couldn't have been more pleasant - the food was ok too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Bekash also viewed

Towcester, Northamptonshire
Towcester, Northamptonshire
 
Towcester, Northamptonshire
 

Been to New Bekash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing