We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highcroft House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highcroft House
Ranked #4 of 28 Towcester B&B and Inns
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delightful B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

FIve well appointed and comfortable rooms. Mine was at the rear of the property which reduced the traffic noise from the A5 which runs past the front.

Warm welcome from Karen and Peter and an excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the A5
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swansailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
35
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed at Highcroft House while attending motor racing at Silverstone, and it is ideally positioned for that, being only a few minutes from the circuit. It has a locked private driveway which is ideal for cars or especially motorbikes.

The property is lovely and the owners Peter and Karen have made a real effort with furnishings which are very much in keeping with the traditional feel of the place, but make it extremely comfortable.

Our bed was very comfortable - a four poster - and the bathroom fittings were of an extremely high standard and appeared brand new, but traditional looking with a free standing bath on legs.

Our room was spotless and everything worked a treat with complimentary fresh coffee, water and high end toiletries. Our breakfast was freshly cooked to order and delicious - quite the nicest I have had for ages!

It is very near to the middle of Towcester so there are loads of handy pubs, shops and eating places. We enjoyed a very good lunch at 'The Bull' nearby, and a good lively pint or two in a couple of pubs in town during the evening.

I would not hesitate recommending Highcroft House and will definately return next time we visit the area.

Room Tip: Busy road to the front so if you want to be sure of no traffic noise ask for the back of the House
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martinwilliams10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

We arrived at Highcroft House fairly late on our wedding night (around 1am). The owner waited up to check us in and show us to our beautiful room. The whole experience topped off what was a fantastic day all round. Very welcoming and a lovely property. I would definitely stay again and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The Althorp room is well worth paying the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolenbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

Spent 2 nights here whilst on business in Towcester. rooms are very nicely furnished to a very high standard. Peter and Karen and Hugo (the dog) are very welcoming. had really great nights sleep. Breakfast was superb, fresh fruit, toast, full English, croissants, cereals, tea and coffee..........
was certainly a better stay than what i have been used to in another establishment that i have been using for the last year - a gem of a find highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dabbergirl_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Highcroft House while attending an event at Silverstone. It was excellent. I stay at quite a lot of B&Bs on my business travels and Highcroft is quite possibly the best I have encountered. The proprieters are very friendly and helpful, the rooms very comfortable, an excellent breakfast and it is right in the middle of town, close to all the restaurants and amenities. We've already booked for the same event next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jshiveral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

Four of us stayed at Highcroft House this April and we all agreed it was an absolute gem. The house itself is beautifully furnished and the rooms are extremely comfortable. We stayed in Stowe and Lamport on the top floor. These were lovely, as were the two rooms on the floor below (couldn't help but take a peek!)

Dinner was outstanding. Karen is an excellent chef and the food was really to a professional standard.

A fabulous place and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The four-poster suite looked super romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrandmrs_snuffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2011

I don't normally write reviews but felt I had to share my experience with other travellers. I would not hesitate to recommend Highcroft House, it's owners, Karen & Peter a very friendly and welcoming. The place itself has been very tastefully and sympathetically restored. Everywhere is spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfy. The room I stayed in had a large en-suite bathroom with walk-in shower. The breakfast was one of the best I have had with plenty of choice. Towcester itself is very quaint and the locals I found to be very friendly. Do not hesitate to stay here, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHAL68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Towcester
0.2 mi away
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Towcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
3.5 mi away
Whittlebury Hall
Whittlebury Hall
#3 of 3 in Towcester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Silverstone
Premier Inn Silverstone
#1 of 2 in Silverstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
8.7 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
4.4 mi away
Bartholomew Arms
Bartholomew Arms
#2 of 3 in Blakesley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highcroft House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highcroft House

Property: Highcroft House
Address: 157 Watling Street West, Towcester NN12 6BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Towcester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Towcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Highcroft House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highcroft House is a beautiful Grade II* listed Georgian town house set within the historic roman town of Towcester (Lactodorum). The property was built in 1752 and still retains many of its period features including sash windows, wood panelling and the original oak staircase.Highcroft has recently undergone a programme of renovation and has now opened as a Bed and Breakfast, offering 5 luxury bedrooms all with en suite facilities. The accommodation is set over 3 floors and is the perfect base for both business and leisure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Highcroft House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing