We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not even average”
Review of The Pumphouse Cafe

The Pumphouse Cafe
Ranked #14 of 133 Restaurants in Wellingborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Northamptonshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not even average”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We decided to go based on some of the reviews however the food was very poor quality and we didn't eat most of it. It was so cold in the cafe we went up to the top floor to see if it would be any warmer. Although slightly warmer there was a lot of mildew on the walls and a small dehumidifier in the corner which obviously wasn't working. Not a very pleasant environment in which to eat breakfast!

When our food arrived the toast was barely toasted and covered in spread not butter. It was horrible. The sausage was cheap and poor quality. The bacon was also barely cooked. Needless to say will not be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K_and_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    37
    15
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seaham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Regular Haunt”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We drop down the pump house on a regular basis, the BLT with a bit of mango chutney is to die for, and the other sandwiches are very good, so much so that the choice is too large.

Staff are friendly & welcoming, and I recommend you take some time out to visit and chill-out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always look forward to our weekly breakfast here!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I have been eating breakfast at the pumphouse on a regular basis now along with family members and I can assure you that the breakfast is absolutely gorgeous. Free coffer/tea refills and the staff are very friendly,always happy to say goodbye on our leave with a smile. I like the fact that they often provide tiger bread with the breakfast however this is not always an option. I do not like greasy breakfasts and although on odd occasions the mushrooms or bacon has been slightly greasy, on most occasions it is just perfect. Newspapers are always readily available to read and service is very quick from the time you order to when it arrives in front of you. Very pleased and will continue to go....you should too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wyleydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good for lunch”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My sister-in-law and I had lunch here. The menu is fairly basic but the food was tasty and the service good. The atmosphere was ok, the background music not too loud. Reasonably priced.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeatherSaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“child friendly and good atmosphere”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Been here several times and just read the previous review and totally disagree, me and my sister come here all the time with our babies and the staff are always very friendly to us and our babies, there is toys for them to play with and high chairs for them to sit in.
Food is good and the atmosphere is great!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lizmee84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pumphouse Cafe also viewed

Wellingborough, Northamptonshire
Wellingborough, Northamptonshire
 
Wellingborough, Northamptonshire
Wellingborough, Northamptonshire
 
Wellingborough, Northamptonshire
Wellingborough, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Pumphouse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing