We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently great food!”
Review of Pooja

Pooja
Ranked #81 of 132 Restaurants in Wellingborough
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Kettering, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Consistently great food!”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

My wife and I have been visiting The Pooja for many years and have never been disappointed. The food is the genuine item (the people who run it are Indian wedding caterers) and very different from the usual Bangladeshi "Indian" food you find elsewhere (you can see the menu online at their website). The decor is nothing special however the food is fantastic and the staff always friendly, plus the prices are low.

The front of shop has a counter where you can buy pukka Indian sweets/cakes and savoury snacks. I recently bought a selection for my Indian colleagues in where I work in Cambridge for Diwali (they were feeling homesick) and they were all very impressed with the food and were amazed that it was possible to buy authentic Indian food here!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Jellied_Eel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    10
    5
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An Excellent Evening”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Fortunately, the bad press surrounding their hygiene case doesn't seem to have affected the popularity of this rather good little restaurant. We ate there last weekend as part of a group of 13 and had a marvellous evening. It is true to say that the service isn't the best and the place itself not the most interesting but the food makes up for it. Go there in the right frame of mind, drink a few Cobras, and you'll have a fantastic evening. The food is stunning.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil_and_Alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Good food...weird location....”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Pooja is our local Indian vegetarian restaurant therefore we often go there.

It is located next to a car wash and is hidden away from the main road next to a warehouse. Although the exterior is not really inviting or appealing, it is ok inside. It is modest looking and a larger version of somebody's dining room so capacity is small. Parking can be an issue at busy times.

The food is good...we try to order something different each time we go as there is so much variety. My favourite is the chilli paneer.

Pooja is let down by the service provided. It's usually one waiter for the whole restaurant. He appears to have other duties and spends most of his time in the kitchen rather than looking after customers. Therefore service is slow but we do not mind when the food is good.

Pooja is well known for its thriving catering business rather than the restaurant. It also has a mithai counter which has a variety of mithai to pick from. It is also a mini shop selling other dry and frozen/chilled foods.

I would definitely recommend this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank j2bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to pickup some traditional Indian sweets”
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Was recommended this place by a friend for proper Indian and thoroughly enjoyed what we picked up. Even got our car washed next door while waiting for our order!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank horses4courses11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very friendly with superb, but inexpensive Indian vegetarian food”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

This is a great place. Tucked in behind a car wash just outside the central shopping area in Wellingborough, you probably wouldn't know that there is a restaurant, takeaway and sweet shop lurking just a short walk away. Pooja are mainly caterers, but you can dine in for not too much. The food costs between £2 and £6 per dish; drinks are reasonably priced too. What you don't eat, you can ask to be put into takeaway containers, so there is no excuse not to try lots of novel and exciting foods, not all of which are heavily or hotly spiced. You'll find many Indian families eating there which is always a good sign and it is best to book at weekends. The restaurant doesn't open late and as far as I recall you need to be seated by 9pm at the latest. Service is courteous, but not overly swift on busy nights. On a quiet night, expect food to start arriving within about 10 mins from ordering.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pooja also viewed

Wellingborough, Northamptonshire
Wellingborough, Northamptonshire
 
Wellingborough, Northamptonshire
Wellingborough, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Pooja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing