We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stayed for a wedding”
Review of The Hind Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hind Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Wellingborough
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed at the Hind overnight which was very central as it is in the middle of Wellingborough. The room was adequate and clean with tea making facilities. Parking was a little difficult until the recepitionist told us where to go. We booked this room with a discount so for us a reasonable price. The hotel is a little tired but OK if you are able to get a good price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 58abc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hindhotel, Owner at The Hind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear 58abc,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Hind Hotel: we aim to please our customers so feedback and comments are greatly welcomed.

We recognise that parking for the Hotel can be confusing and appreciate your patience with this. However, we're glad that you enjoyed your stay and our central location, and we take on board your comment that the hotel 'is a little tired'. This is something we're looking to work on, and hope future improvements will allow the historic characteristics of the building to really shine through.

We hope that you'll stay with us again soon.

Regards
Shasha K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
There are newer reviews for The Hind Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 252 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2014

Noise from the next door room - they weren't being noisy but we could hear their conversation and when they leant against the wall our headboard moved!!
Only 1 VERY thin, lumpy, pillow on each bed.
Not enough milk - in small plastic containers - for both to have a cuppa afternoon and morning.

Carpets on the stairs are very worn; see photo. There are a few dangerous steps; it is just a matter of time before someone is seriously hurt.
Loose newel posts on the stairs; someone could be badly hurt if one fell on them.

Room 204 - had to close window because of noise from restaurant extractor; had hot sleepless night. The shower over the bath is a fixed head one and only a dribble came out.

Only 1 lady on reception, very capable and helpful, but had to do everything and be everywhere, including delivery of extra pillows and milk, to 2nd floor (no lift). This meant there was no one at reception thus giving security and safety issues.

Why don’t they have instructions and or a map on their web site? This is a very difficult place to find. We did not see the tiny brown sign on a side road; we did 2 laps of the long one way system before being ‘talked in’ by the lady on Reception.

Parking is very limited for a large ish establishment; there are only a few spaces, with very limited manoeuvrability. We would not have used it even if there had been space in case of damage. We were concerned about the overflow parking area, in an isolated area – ‘…it should be OK; there haven’t been any incidents for a few months’!!

The staff were excellent and very helpful and the breakfast was good and freshly cooked.

BUT - this should be a lovely place to stay but it is obviously being run on the cheap by absent (?) owners who obviously aren't bothered by customer service, giving value for money etc.

We will not return. I would suggest that you don't go there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road and kitchen extractor fans - or, better still go to another hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LichTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hindhotel, Owner at The Hind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Alan,

We're sorry to hear that you found your stay with us less than satisfactory: providing a high level of customer service and value for money is important to us, and so we're more than happy to receive comments and feedback.

We understand that our parking can be confusing and apologise for the difficulties that you faced in this regard during your visit. We also take on board your comments regarding the hotel décor and this is something we are currently working on improving - the stairwell carpets you mention in your review are in fact to be replaced within four weeks.

We're glad that you thought our staff 'capable and helpful' and enjoyed your breakfast, and hope that, should you change your mind about returning to us, we can show you that we are indeed a 'lovely place to stay'.

Thank you for your review.

Regards,
Shasha K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Thanks again for the lovely weekend we spent again at the Hind, as organiser of the weekend I feel you yet again did us proud

Nothing is ever too much trouble and thanks for opening the top bar up, food excellent .. breakfast superb.

See you next March as we have already booked again :-)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathyHomann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hindhotel, Owner at The Hind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Cathy,

We're delighted that you enjoyed your weekend with us: we only hope that we bought you at least Halfway to Paradise!

We look forward to seeing you next March, if not sooner - please DO Knock Upon Our Door!

Regards,
Shasha K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Had a great comedy night and a really good quality burger meal, however, staff at the bar, while pleasant, appeared to be poorly trained and not very experienced. Why don't companies train their staff any more? When ordering my first drink, one member of staff said to another member of staff, "Well I don't know (how to operate this till). I don't work upstairs do I?" While ordering my second drinks, orange and lemonade and a pint of lager, they took so long to prepare that I began to evolve into a higher life form. I also ordered a glass of soda water which tasted like the water from a loft tank. The hotel is quaint and atmospheric, but tired; a shadow of its former glory and presumed greatness. The comedy, the burger and the quaintness will get me to return however.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hindhotel, Owner at The Hind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Paul,

We're thrilled that you enjoyed our March comedy night and that you think The Hind to be 'quaint and atmospheric: we're proud of the historic nature of our hotel and so your positive comments in this regard are greatly appreciated.

We aim to provide a high level of customer service and so take on board your feedback in this regard. We apologise for the wait you experienced while ordering and are taking steps so that next time there will be no 'evolving' necessary!

We look forward to seeing you again soon: we've got another 'really good quality' burger with your name on it!

Regards,
Shasha K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The hotel is a grade 2 listed building but it is very old and very tired, threadbare carpets and a maze of corridors to drag your luggage around, very limited car parking spaces. The only good points are the staff and the breakfast.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eddie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hindhotel, Owner at The Hind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Eddie,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Hind: we're sorry that your found your stay to be less than satisfactory.

We take on board your comments about the hotel décor and are taking steps to make improvements in this regard - the 'threadbare' carpets you mention are in fact due to be replaced within four weeks. We're glad, however, that you enjoyed your breakfast and the service from the staff, particularly as providing a high standard of customer service is a top priority for us.

We hope that you will visit us again soon and that, should you do so, you will appreciate our improvement.

Regards,
Shasha K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed here for one night whilst visiting relatives living nearby. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel has a lovely central location. Parking was in a lovely quaint courtyard at the rear of the hotel. The building itself was impressive being a grade 2 listed building and offers many interesting features both inside and out. Rooms were clean and spacious although the decor was a little dated. There was plentiful supply of tea, coffee and milk in the room and the bed was very comfortable with extra blankets if required. Bathroom was large with a small selection of complimentary toiletries. The hotel is also offers smoker friendly rooms which is something of a rarity these days. The Full English Breakfast was very good and freshly cooked and there was a reasonable selection of fruit and cereals ect. or other breakfast choices.The dining room was very clean and had a magnificent feature fireplace. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Wellingborough and would definitely stay here again should the need arise

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gharial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous central location with spacious rooms and lots of character.
Breakfast was excellent, better than i expected with a la carte options
Lots of original jacobian features. Very secure car park in courtyard. Would definately return

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesleyb621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellingborough
1.3 mi away
Ibis Wellingborough
Ibis Wellingborough
#2 of 4 in Wellingborough
385 reviews
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Wellingborough Rushden
5.5 mi away
The Stanwick Hotel
The Stanwick Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stanwick
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
4.7 mi away
The World's End
The World's End
#1 of 1 in Ecton
276 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hind Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hind Hotel

Address: 38 Sheep Street, Wellingborough NN8 1BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Wellingborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Wellingborough
Price Range: $69 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hind Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hind is an historic 17th century town-centre coaching inn occupying a Grade II* listed building bristling with many original features. The hotel offers 34 single, twin, double and family bedrooms, 4 meeting / event rooms and suites, 2 bar / restaurants and a formal restaurant. Oliver Cromwell was said to have planned his campaign here en route to the decisive civil war Battle of Naseby in 1645, and guests are sure to find the central England location as handy as he did nearly 400 years ago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hind Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hind Hotel Wellingborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing