We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hind Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Wellingborough(Wellingborough)(Great Value!)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Columbia Hotel(Wellingborough)
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$68
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$43
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oak House Private Hotel(Wellingborough)
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Canberra Guest House(Wellingborough)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (285)
Filter reviews
285 results
Traveler rating
79
93
55
26
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
93
55
26
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teaold buildingmiddle of townwedding receptionlots of charactersunday lunchpriest holeformer glorybeautiful buildingthemed weekendhistoric hotelnew ownersoliver cromwellwedding partyfull english breakfastoverflow car parkcoaching inn
Filter
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 285 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here on July 13th room 201 ,lovely spacious room with a massive comfy bed and friendly helpful staff,it was noisy (sat night) but expected that being on the High st in the middle of town and our room was on the front.I personally would stay in a hotel full of history and character than your normal chain hotels and all the history and olde artefacts around the place are brilliant,my Mrs had a negative though,no sausages and over done toast at breakfast,apart from that would stay here again and great value for money (£55) .

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back to avoid street noise
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bettsy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just come back from a great weekend and stopped at The Hind Hotel - We were not sure what to expect after reading some of the reviews but the room was more than good value for money, the bed was comfortable, the room was basic but clean and breakfast Saturday & Sunday was more than filling.

We had to have the window open due to the weather this weekend but if there was any noise we did not hear any but you would expect that from a City Centre Hotel, and after spending a weekend at Santa Pod it would have to be loud to wake us.

The Hotel is a former 17th-century coaching inn and yes it could do with a bit of TLC and decorating but we are not aware of the facts and as it is listed building all repair work will need to be authorised first (lots of red tape) but hey ho I am diversifying now but we enjoyed our stay and even found parking ok although the car park is COMPACT... Everybody will have different reviews but that is one of the joys of being a UK citizen.... 'Freedom of Speech' and all that :)

Room Tip: We laughed when we stopped but we were in Room 101
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel on the 29th and as the review below mentions there was a party on the first floor. We were not told of this and it felt as though we were staying in a nightclub rather than a hotel. Luckily we had a night out planned but if you were trying to get an early night it really would have been impossible

On the plus side the staff seemed friendly and the bar food was really nice.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hindhotel, Manager at The Hind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for your comments, I apologise for the disappointment surrounding your stay with us and would like to address some of the key issues you bring to attention.

With regards to the noise for outside the hotel we have no control over this however we have spoken to the local council about it and they are going to look into the matter further. However when booking it does state that we are in the town centre so some outside noise maybe likely to be heard at times.

On your second night you complained about the function we had on, I apologise for you not being informed about the fact that we had a function booked. After your complaint I have made sure that all staff on reception follow their training and keep an eye on what is booked and make sure they inform guests if a function is booked so this mistake does not happen again. With regards to the issue about the noise from the function the volume level was reduced by the DJ at 10.30 pm with regards to any guests staying in the hotel and then the music ended at 11.30 pm and all guests left by 11.45 pm so it was not a late function.

Following on with the noise issue, unfortunately we were fully booked on both of the nights otherwise we would have moved you to another bedroom, however we did reduce the room rate for both nights by a considerable amount for you because of the disruptions to your stay.

Regarding your complaint about the distance to Silverstone, it is only 27 miles from the hotel and this is considered local to us, the hotel cannot accept any responsibility for the distance we are from your destination. It is your responsibility to check how far we are from where you want to be, surely someone who is going to an important event check’s where the hotel is before booking it? It takes 40 minuets in a car to get from our doorstep to Silverstone this is close and I feel anyone else would feel the same.

During your stay you complained to us regarding your issues, the staff here dealt with your complaint the best way they could. Overall I apologise that you had a disappointing stay with us and hope that you would return to the hotel in the future to have a more positive stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Quite possibly the worst place you could ever stay in. First night kept awake with all the locals coming out of the local weatherspoons drink and trying to shout the town down from 1am till 3am. Including our neighbours rolling in at 2, also drunk, staying up till 4:30am, which isn't a problem if the walls are not paper thin.
Second night, topped off with a party directly underneath our room till midnight. No one mentioned any of this at time of booking so slightly surprised, especially as up at 6am both mornings to go to Grand Prix at silverstone. Oh also at time of booking was told it wasn't far from Grand Prix... Which turned out to be a 'not far' £40 each way cab ride away! Awful awful awful awful place. Stay away, never ever stay here, the park bench across the road is much more comfortable and quiet, as don't get me started on the state of the rooms.....

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guilly473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hindhotel, Manager at The Hind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for your comments, I apologise for the disappointment surrounding your stay with us and would like to address some of the key issues you bring to attention.

With regards to the noise for outside the hotel we have no control over this however we have spoken to the local council about it and they are going to look into the matter further. However when booking it does state that we are in the town centre so some outside noise maybe likely to be heard at times.

On your second night you complained about the function we had on, I apologise for you not being informed about the fact that we had a function booked. After your complaint I have made sure that all staff on reception follow their training and keep an eye on what is booked and make sure they inform guests if a function is booked so this mistake does not happen again. With regards to the issue about the noise from the function the volume level was reduced by the DJ at 10.30 pm with regards to any guests staying in the hotel and then the music ended at 11.30 pm and all guests left by 11.45 pm so it was not a late function.

Following on with the noise issue, unfortunately we were fully booked on both of the nights otherwise we would have moved you to another bedroom, however we did reduce the room rate for both nights by a considerable amount for you because of the disruptions to your stay.

Regarding your complaint about the distance to Silverstone, it is only 27 miles from the hotel and this is considered local to us, the hotel cannot accept any responsibility for the distance we are from your destination. It is your responsibility to check how far we are from where you want to be, surely someone who is going to an important event check’s where the hotel is before booking it? It takes 40 minuets in a car to get from our doorstep to Silverstone this is close and I feel anyone else would feel the same.

During your stay you complained to us regarding your issues, the staff here dealt with your complaint the best way they could. Overall I apologise that you had a disappointing stay with us and hope that you would return to the hotel in the future to have a more positive stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed at the Hind for two nights.Very noisy at night esp. after midnight. Reception just shrug their shoulders.. Breakfast was limited..... Four of us were on a Juice Factory.. 'fruit fast'..but not a lot of fruit available....... NO PORRIDGE!!!!....The pot of tea was tiny...not a lot of choice either..

Decor could do with some updating but clean otherwise.


The only hotel that I've ever encountered drunken idiots in the breakfast room at 7:30am shouting " Here we go...here we go.".....Lovely. I really need that at 7:30 in the morning!!!.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 785belladonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews