We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great menu selection”
Review of Yumeijin

Yumeijin
Ranked #11 of 140 Restaurants in Wellingborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed October 14, 2018

Although this may be the only "sit in" Chinese in Wellingborough, the selection is extensive and the 'fixed' menus are also adjustable.
Staff are always helpful and never had a bad meal in there.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank james797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 182 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

Recently visited this restaurant as we had heard good reviews although our experience was far from it. Very slow service between each course for the Sunday buffet. As we were tucking into the main dishes, we found a hair which put us all off eating more food or found ourselves checking the dishes before eating Anymore. Waiters were quick to react (probably due to how busy it was around us). Can't fault the waiters for how they dealt with it.

The dishes for the mains were quite small portions considering you would generally share these dishes amongst yourselves. The plates they were on were also very awkward- I would invest in some proper plates that doesn't make your food fall off the plate when trying to serve. The overall presentation was poor.

Upon the end of our visit, we wanted to split the bill (As you do when your with friends) but this is where we stumbled across a problem. We could only pay if the individual amounts where rounded to a multiple of 5 I.e. 22p to 25p which is ridiculous in this day and age! Even when we questioned the waiter, he said it was stupid and that he'd mentioned an upgrade to his manager. Considering there was 5 of paying individually that's a profit in itself Even though they had a service charge out of us as well. Plus I'm sure it's not the first time they've had people paying seperately within group bookings - just think of the profit they are getting if this happens with all customers.

Moreover, one person was paying my cash to which we found we still couldn't pay an exact amount as they don't deal with pennies etc. This just seems to be a system in place to get as much money as possible due to payments being out of the customers hands in this case.

Another major issue which really ruined our experience here was the manager! Very Rude! No people skills what so ever. Didn't even crack a smile. His body language and how he spoke to us is not acceptable. You wouldn't tolerate this at a retailer why should it be different here. One of us gave the waiting staff a tip (Well we think it goes to them but who knows in this place). Of which the manager didn't even thank us for.
Very poor customer service - we definitely won't be returning again and will make sure advise others not to go here. It's a shame as it is local to us. Maybe you should take a leaf out of Oriental paradise's book - brilliant food, served in a larger portion in comparison to here, quick service and turnaround between courses and excellent customer service. Oh and you can pay whatever amount you want!

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Chloe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2018

Lovely atmosphere, quick service and very friendly. The food was to die for. Will definitely use again

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Anjanette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2018 via mobile

We had the lunch menu and an extra portion of noodles. The starters were all very nice. Of the mains, the crispy beef, noodles, rice, and mixed veg were all lovely especially the mixed veg dish. The chicken and green pepper in black bean sauce was way to salty though, although we managed to pick the chicken out and still enjoy what we had.

The setting is very pleasant and the food copious but parking might be a bit difficult as the local council have closed the nearest one and on street parking is limited and only 1 hour max.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank henchcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2018 via mobile

Lots of lovely food. Dim sum and soup to start then fried rice and Singapore noodles for
Main with crispy shredded beef and Pak Choi in garlic sauce. Superb and delivered on time(!). Worth that little bit extra. Enjoy.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank PadiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yumeijin also viewed

Wellingborough, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Wellingborough, Northamptonshire
Wellingborough, Northamptonshire
 
Wellingborough, Northamptonshire
Wellingborough, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Yumeijin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing