We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and Music”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Golden Lion

The Golden Lion
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Within walking distance of Wellingborough town centre this historic grade II listed building is a magnificent Tudor build that has been standing since 1540. Many of the original features remain including our restaurant/dining room 'The Hall'with its vaulted ceiling, exposed beams & minstrels gallery. This unique room is available to hire for private functions & is ideal for weddings/anniversary party's.Open fires in the winter & an outdoor seating area for the warmer nights, a warm welcome always greets you.Our seasonal menu has a fabulous range of mouthwatering dishes to choose from.The Lion is open every day, all day from 11am & serves food Monday - Saturday 12noon-3pm and 6pm-9pm and on a Sunday our 3 course Sunday Lunch is served from 12noon - 6pm . Table bookings are highly advisable.We have 8 real Ales & Ciders.All Rugby & Sports are shown live on our screens & we bring you live bands every Friday night at 9pm.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food and Music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

A great place Friday evenings if you like live music. Haven't been there on a Thursday Mic night yet......Always good food, nice atmosphere and staff.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank barbzzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulatb65, Public Relations Manager at The Golden Lion, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Friday evenings are always popular at The Lion, we serve food from 6pm-9pm followed by a different live band each week at 9pm. Our website www.thegoldenlionwellingborough.co.uk has a event page that shows forthcoming bands so you can plan your night out. We do not hold the mic night on a Thursday anymore but do have a Quiz Night that is good fun & has good cash prizes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    69
    13
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Pub and Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Visited this pub on a few occasions for a drink. Food has always looked good, not the run of the mill chain pub food. Decided to eat here for my recent birthday and was very impressed. Great quality, excellent service. Will definitely bring house guests here in the future.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulatb65, Public Relations Manager at The Golden Lion, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your birthday at the Lion & took the time to write this review. Excellent Quality and Service is what we strive to give to all customers, we look forward to you joining us again with your guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Nicely presented”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Food is good nicely presented & friendly staff, only had a snack here but it was very filling, full meals can be a bit on the pricey side, a very old & quaint pub with nice seating outside.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulatb65, Public Relations Manager at The Golden Lion, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thanks for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit to the Lion. As we do not serve run of the mill pub food & choose to offer something different of good quailty & freshly made our prices do reflect this. We look forward to your return visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Ate at the Golden Lion in December 2013. It was a Christmas do and us girlies were not disappointed. Food was really good and excellent value, The restaurant is just off the bar and it's really atmospheric. Beams, vaulted ceiling, inglenook fireplace - delightful. Definitely recommend it based on my experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebLeeBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulatb65, Public Relations Manager at The Golden Lion, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
We are pleased you have taken the time to write a review with regards to your visit to the Lion. We are glad we made your Christmas visit special, the Hall restaurant is certainly a talking point and is even more atmospheric with the decorations up at Christmas. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another lovely visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

After my husband & I enjoyed our first visit here so much,we decided to come again last night.It was very busy at the bar and we thought we may not get a table,but I thought I'd ask anyway just in case.We were lucky enough to get a table as the head waitress managed to squeeze us in.
Thank you so much!
We each had a main and dessert.My husband had the venison & chorizo burger again as he enjoyed so much the first time!I had one of the hand made steak & kidney pies with fat chips,veg & gravy.All very yummy & filling,I had to leave some chips so I could manage dessert!I had chocolate torte which was absolutely divine,my husband had sticky toffee pudding with custard (he did ask for the clotted ice cream) but he was still happy.i told him to ask for the ice cream as I'm sure that he would have been given it, but he said he didn't want to be any trouble & it was quite busy.
Very pleased & happy with our second visit... the staff are friendly & lovely, nothing is too much trouble for them.Plus the head waitress remembered us from our first visit & had read my review!thank you once again,we think you're great :-)

Helpful?
Thank KateW82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulatb65, Public Relations Manager at The Golden Lion, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thanks for your continued support we are glad you once again had a fabulous meal with us, our desssert's are all divine it is always so hard to choose which one to have! Nothing is too much trouble for our staff & if he had ordered the ice cream should have sent it back to have it rectified. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golden Lion also viewed

Wellingborough, Northamptonshire
Wellingborough, Northamptonshire
 
Wellingborough, Northamptonshire
Wellingborough, Northamptonshire
 
Wellingborough, Northamptonshire
Wellingborough, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Golden Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing