We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vietnamese for Sunday lunch”
Review of Mien Tay - CLOSED

Mien Tay
Price range: $24 - $33
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Aylesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Vietnamese for Sunday lunch”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

If you're interested in sophisticated or themed decor walk on by. However if you taste buds are in need of a something new then give Mien Tay a try.I inderstand it is part of a 'mini-chain' with two other venues in London. Located in a Tudor building on Sheep Street it is easy to miss - and, from appearances alone, had I not heard good things about the menu I may have given this one a miss. We visited on a Sunday lunchtime.

The menu is original and imaginative, matched by an excellent wine menu. A good Italian red was approx £13. With advice from the waiter we had chargrilled quails and beef wrapped in wild Betel leaves for starters. For mains stir fried goat with and sea food curry - this was acompanied by Morning Glory (a kind of water spinach) and fried rice.

Everything was delicious, fresh and full of flavours that stimulated a tired pallette. We finished with a deliciously sweet Vietnamese coffee (made with condensed milk). Service was friendly, knowledgable and discrete. Would recommend. Only draw back is payment by cash only (there is a cash point three doors up from the restaurant). Can't wait to sample other dishes like eel and frog on the menu plus, clay curry pots.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    22
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Higham Ferrers, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent food and cheery helpful staff”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

What a lucky find this place is form: just a few miles from home. Stumbled upon it and took a chance on the reviews that said ' great food'.
They were right! Delicious, absolutely top notch. Adorned with vegetables and leaves that I have not seen before, I tried the signature starter dish of quail and the vietnamese traditional goat main for the first time after listening to very caring and interested advice from the waitress. What I really liked was the advice about balancing the intense flavours of the main dish with plain steamed rice. It was really pleasurable to be both both involved educated at the same time.
My partner tried Sea Bream. Lovely. If, like me, you are interested in the food and dont mind about paper tablecloths or the place being devoid of finery then you are likely to enjoy a real treat in a small country town restaurant. Niot expensive for what we had. Will definitely go back to check out further.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RL_0156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing value and good food”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Came for lunch with a group of colleagues on a Tuesday lunchtime. The restaurant is housed in a very old and traditional English building, which is a bit of a contrast against the Vietnam inspired decor! However the food was excellent, very fresh and tasty and the service was pretty quick. We paid only £6 each for soup followed by a large main course, which is excellent value. Very pleased to have this restaurant in Wellingborough where dining options are otherwise quite limited. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moorefa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“quirky and delicious”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

If you want authentic, delicious, healthy food, great value, served in a very quirkily decorated restaurant, this is the place for you. I have eaten Pho noodle soup all over the world, and this ranks amongst the best. Fabulous! Have been 3 times in 3 weeks!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank milstead01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Take Away”
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

I almost don't want to review in case they get too busy for take away on a Saturday night but I have to because the food was amazing.

After reading reviews I ordered the quail to start which was good and also shared some satay chicken, also very good. I then had the noodles with beef which was delicious.

I thoroughly recommend this restaurant

    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GemsieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mien Tay also viewed

Wellingborough, Northamptonshire
Wellingborough, Northamptonshire
 
Wellingborough, Northamptonshire
Wellingborough, Northamptonshire
 
Wellingborough, Northamptonshire
Wellingborough, Northamptonshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing