We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short pleasant stay”

Oak House Private Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellingborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oak House Private Hotel
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I stayed at this Oak House for one night in late July and found the hotel to be clean, quiet and comfortable. It is within walking distance of the high street/ town centre. The price was keen for the quality of room and the service was friendly. Room was on suite, roomy clean, tidy and well appointed. TV. DVD and free WiFi all included. Breakfast was ample. I can recommend this hotel for anyone looking for quality and value. Anthony

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 66 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2012

Thank you very much for our stay ,clean rooms great breakfast , like help your self at the bar ,and write your own tab trust!! very good
great position for the town , lots of history round here..
once again thanks

stewart (rockline)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stewy1579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

The accommodation was clean, comfortable, with everything I needed thoughtfully supplied. As the weather was unseasonably chilly Gayle immediately turned on the heating in my room. When I mentioned that I was re-visiting Wellingborough where I once lived as a child, she helpfully pointed out some books on the lounge shelves with old photographs of the town. She also directed me to the new local museum, and all of this added greatly to the interest and enjoyment of my stay.
I can thoroughly recommend Oak House Hotel, and hope to visit again before long.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

I hadn't realised this hotel was here, only for the failing of another hotel did I broaden my search, a blessing in disguise.
What a warm friendly welcome from Gayle! first impressions, crisp clean reception area and everyone with a happy face. I was shown to my room which was large, clean,modern,TV Dvd, everything you would expect including fluffy towels and a great en suite shower bathroom. When I returned from my trip out for dinner, I parked myself at the quirky little bar for a couple of nightcaps with good banter all round. Slept well, quiet room and a hearty breakfast in the morning to set me up for the day.
It's 10 out of 10 for me ( seasoned traveller )

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ross9992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We had a family wedding to attend and the Premier Inn was being sniffy about a single night booking so we found Oak House Hotel. It was fairly basic but clean and the hosts were very welcoming. We didn't spend a great deal of time in the place and we didn't have breakfast but we were happy with our stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZebFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We booked the Oak house hotel as we travelled down from Yorkshire for a soul weekend,
As soon as we parked the car our lovely host was out with a welcome,
We were shown to our rooms and given fresh milk for our coffee (which is not readily available in most accommodation )
The rooms were spotless with everything we would need including satellite tv and dvd player,
Excellent breakfast enjoyed by all,
The hotel is only a short walk to the centre of Wellingborough
I would recommend this hotel for anyone visiting the area ...you will not be disappointed
I will definitely be returning

Room Tip: The hotel is on a quiet road and with double glazing to help with a good sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allisonjewitt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

We booked the weekend in the hotel on the recommendation of a nearby competitor. The owner went to great lengths to make sure everything was satisfactory and her cheerful and bubbly character was very welcome after a long walk.
The rooms are clean and comfortable with TV and DVD player installed. The full english breakfast was of a very good standard and over the Waendal weekend there was the option of the continental breakfast too!
The hotel is just a short walk (10 minutes) to the start for the Waendel walk although be warned it is up hill on the return!
This is not a five star hotel but is clean, comfortable, friendly and is good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amanwithnoname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellingborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Hind Hotel
The Hind Hotel
#3 of 4 in Wellingborough
258 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Wellingborough
Ibis Wellingborough
#2 of 4 in Wellingborough
395 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Wellingborough Hotel
Premier Inn Wellingborough Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wellingborough
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Canberra Guest House
#3 of 4 in Wellingborough
9 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Oak House Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak House Private Hotel

Address: 8-9 Broad Green | High Street, Wellingborough NN8 4LE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Wellingborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wellingborough
Price Range: $50 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned, licensed hotel with 14 en-suite bedrooms all with colour TV (not satellite) and tea making facilities, residents lounge, double glazed throughout, central heating and enclosed car park (free). Wireless broadband is also available. All prices include breakfast and VAT. Special requirements can be catered for. A warm welcome is extended to all. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing