We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“absolutely fabulous”
other travelers have booked this property
The Mistal
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Mistal
The Mistal with view over fishing lake View of living/dining/
kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
The Mistal
The Mistal with view over fishing lake
View of living/dining/
kitchen
Further view of living/dining/kitchen
View of staircase and galleried landing
View of kitchen
One of the two ensuites
Downstairs w/c
Bedroom 1 with super king zip and link bed
Bedroom 2 with king sized zip and link bed
Galleried walkway
View of the Mistal
View of Hambleton Hills from property
View from Bedroom 1
Patio overlooking fishing lake
Fishing lake
Fishing in the lake
Horses in one of the paddocks
Tennis court with stables in background
Stable block
Rear view of Mistal
Children’s play area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Thirsk, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
OnAir7036...
1 review
“absolutely fabulous”
Reviewed April 11, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Had a 3 night break recently, our stay was amazing, Karen and Jeff were lovely hosts very friendly and made our stay extra special.
The house was truly outstanding, spotlessly clean, attention to detail was out of this world, can not recommend highly enough.
We will be visiting again in the near future.
Thank you for a lovely stay Karen and Jeff x

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 15, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KuwaitHap...
Kuwait
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING - BEAUTIFUL !”
Reviewed February 15, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Absolutely perfect location. Easy access to Moors, Dales, North and South.
Although a winter holiday there is plenty to do in all the surrounding areas. The Mistal is decorated to a high standard and all your needs are thought of before you arrive, including the welcome pack... wow...
Karen and Jeff are the perfect hosts and we really look forward to returning one day soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful dog friendly accommodation”
Reviewed February 6, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The Mistal is a superb barn conversion located in beautiful countryside close to Thirsk which is very dog friendly. This is a very special place to stay, a real taste of luxury with so many thoughtful extras it's unbelievable. With 2 fabulous ensuite bedrooms, beautiful kitchen and sitting room with wood burning stove, private patio and parking The Mistal is a fabulous place to stay.

The owners were very welcoming and friendly; we really felt at home and thoroughly enjoyed our break. We will definitely be back very soon.

Special thanks to Karen for her help and kindness when TripAdvisor lost my booking too.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madam13
Coventry
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Idyllic!”
Reviewed January 28, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We met my in laws here for a pre Christmas weekend. The house is ideal for two couples with having en suites to both bedrooms. The beds are the comfiest we have slept in for a long time. The house itself is spotlessly clean, nicely furnished and very well equipped. There is a log burner but we didn't need to use it even in December as the house is so warm and cosy. The wifi works well. Other people have said the pub is within walking distance but this may depend on your mobility as my in laws wouldn't have managed it. Plus in winter there are no street lights. The owners were very welcoming as was Tangles (he's just gorgeous). We are hoping to return in the warmer months to take advantage of the outdoor space including the tennis court and perhaps the fishing lake. And Karen you're quite right- Alpaca's would complete the outdoor space. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian2437
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hideaway!”
Reviewed December 8, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

My wife and I have been to this property on two occasions, and both times we have had a fantastic stay. We went on the first occasion with our 8 week old son, and again when he was 4 months old. It is a very well furnished open plan accommodation, and newly decorated to a high standard. The beds are large and comfortable, and there is under floor heating along with a log burning fire for good measure!

As you can imagine with a small baby, we only took short trips out and spent lots of time in the cottage, and could find nothing to fault. The owners are really great, and provided us with a cot bed and baby bath which was a great touch. The location is good for Ripon, Harrogate and Thirsk, we also visited Richmond - there's lots to see and do as a result, lots of local attractions nearby.

In all, we would highly recommend this property, I'm sure in summer it'll be great too as there's a tennis court to use and there is a fishing lake being created on the cottages doorstep! In a word: idyllic.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing