We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best holiday rental we've ever stayed in”
other travelers have booked this property
The Mistal
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Mistal
The Mistal with view over fishing lake View of living/dining/
kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
The Mistal
The Mistal with view over fishing lake
View of living/dining/
kitchen
Further view of living/dining/kitchen
View of staircase and galleried landing
View of kitchen
One of the two ensuites
Downstairs w/c
Bedroom 1 with super king zip and link bed
Bedroom 2 with king sized zip and link bed
Galleried walkway
View of the Mistal
View of Hambleton Hills from property
View from Bedroom 1
Patio overlooking fishing lake
Fishing lake
Fishing in the lake
Horses in one of the paddocks
Tennis court with stables in background
Stable block
Rear view of Mistal
Children’s play area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Thirsk, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nicola m
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best holiday rental we've ever stayed in”
Reviewed November 8, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed at The Mistal for a week and it couldn't have been more perfect. It's in a very quiet location yet just a couple of minutes from the A19. The barn itself had everything you would need for your stay. It's been renovated to the highest standard with tasteful furniture and decorative touches. The beds are super comfortable and the showers have plenty of pressure. We loved the wood burner. There is a tennis court for the warmer months and a fishing lake is currently being constructed which I think will be very pretty when finished. We can also recommend the Dog and Gun pub in Knayton which is within walking distance and does great food. Karen and Jeff and their lovely dog Tangles were very welcoming. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidhowa...
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous cottage, lovely surroundings”
Reviewed October 22, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Very comfortable cottage equipped to a very high standard. Spotlessly clean. Situated in lovely countryside on edge of North York moors. Very friendly and helpful owners with lovely dog Tangles. Highly recommended and we will certainly return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stirling...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed October 13, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Spent four great days at The Mistal. The barn has been renovated to the highest of standards with top quality fittings with no expense spared. The hosts Karen and Jeff were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. The super king size bed was the best I have ever slept in. The location is so relaxing with the hills in the background. Would highly recommend and hopefully will make a return visit soon, I might even venture on the tennis court!!. Tangles the dog was a great character.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen D
Thursford Green, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Everything needed for a great weekend”
Reviewed September 10, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

What a find! This is a beautifully converted barn in a fantastic setting. We had everything we could need for the weekend. The owners are incredibly hospitable and have spared no expense in creating this holiday cottage. Spotlessly clean and comfortable beds with a showeroom for each of the two bedrooms.
The living area is spacious and all the utensils one could need right down to the Nespresso machine.
There is a lot of work going on outside as the owners are creating a lake so may not be perfect yet for young children, but we found fascinating to watch the progress.
Tennis court, trampoline and horses, an adorable dog called Tangles, and loads of walking around.
Thirsk only four miles away.
Would be happy to return. Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet and homely feel
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie Y
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing cottage”
Reviewed September 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

What a beautiful cottage, everything you could want is there. Karen and Jeff were great very helpful and couldn't do enough for us. Will be recommending this cottage to all my friends thanks again Karen

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Expeditio...
1 review
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed August 25, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at Mistal cottage for 6 nights and I have to say the cottage was fantastic, it was spotlessly clean, beautifully presented and in a lovely and peaceful location. The owners were very welcoming and friendly and we loved their dog Tangles. The owners are currently creating a fishing lake which will be a great addition once up and running. We had a lovely meal in the Dog and Gun pub in Knayton, I would recommend booking as it is a small pub but the food is fantastic. The market town Thirsk is about a 10 minute drive away, with York and Harrogate around 40 minutes drive. I would thoroughly recommend staying at Mistal cottage and will be planning a return visit in the not too distant future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property was beautifully presented in a great location
Liked least: The construction work on the lake wasn't ideal but didn't cause us any problems
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil W
1 review
“Outstanding property and location - with lovely helpful owners”
Reviewed July 6, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I spent five days at the Mistal with my two adult children, who were taking part in local cycling events.
From the start it was a pleasure to book with the owners - helpful, prompt whenreplying and flexible. They live in a neighbouring house, and were just as friendly and helpful during our stay, while not being at all intrusive.
The barn is simply outstanding - recently converted to a very high and stylish standard. Great facilitates, appliances and furnishings. It even has good wifi and a really nice welcome pack!
The location is just as good - very quiet rural setting in lovely grounds, all within very easy reach of places to walk, cycle, shop and eat.
A true home from home - and just beautiful. We would stay again in a blink.
Oh, and it's a great value too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The standard of internal layout, decor and furnishings
Liked least: Nothing, absolutely nothing.
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing