We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Great Location”

The Carpenters Arms
Reserve with OpenTable
The Carpenters Arms is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 70 Restaurants in Thirsk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $72
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: The Carpenters Arms is a traditional village inn located in the heart of Felixkirk village, on the outskirts of the Market Town of Thirsk.The award winning Carpenters Arms specialises in bringing its guests high quality food, drink, service and surroundings, including a superb private dining room for larger parties and 10 en-suite bedrooms.The classic British menus showcase the best local produce available from carefully selected suppliers, whilst the traditional bar is stocked with local beers, hand pulled ales and a considered wine list. The main restaurant is located overlooking the Vale of Mowbray, providing a spectacular backdrop for a relaxed and delicious meal.A more informal dining experience is also accommodated in the bar area, whilst the gardens are a great spot for al fresco dining in the warmer months.The Carpenters Arms has 10 beautifully appointed bedrooms, including 8 garden suites and facilities for shooters, walkers and dog owners.The Carpenters Arms at Felixkirk is open 7 days a week, for lunch, dinner and drinks.Magnificent 7 Menu … 7 dishes, £7 each, before 7pm Sunday–Friday 5.30 – 7pm (best to arrive early to avoid disappointment)
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Staying at a nearby caravan site we were underdressed and accompanied by the dog but received a great welcome and were treated no differently than those enjoying a posh Sunday lunch.

We sat out on the rear terrace which offers fantastic views, not only of the countryside but also the grounds. From where we sat you could see down to the accomodation which looked brilliant, you could also see vegetable beds and herb beds.

Unfortunately (as a previous reviewer has mentioned) there was not enough fish to go around. In the end after a sacrifice was made we managed to get the last lemon sole and the last seabass available! The lemon sole was simply beautiful, the best fish I've tasted in a long time. My Dad had the seabass which apparently was lovely and my husband's roast pork was gorgeous!

Not bad value; 3 main courses, 6 drinks and 3 coffees came to £75 including tip.

Would definitely recommend and definitely go again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Simon_Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (600)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

522 - 526 of 600 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have visited The Carpenters Arms a number of times over the past year and have thoroughly enjoyed the meals and recommended the place to others. However, on this occasion we were left thoroughly disappointed. On arrival we were told that The Carpenters Arms had run out of all fish dishes on the menu bar one starter. Since two members of the party are only fish eaters this was very frustrating and they were left wondering what to have. Wiping five dishes from a good, but limited menu isn't what we would have expected. The only fish dish, a risotto, was bland and contained hardly any fish. It seemed that a busy day would have cleared more than just fish dishes from a menu, yet that was the excuse we were given. Other meat dishes, although tasty, came in small portions considering they cost around £8 for a starter and £20 for a main and no additional vegetables were provided, which had been on previous visits. A dessert was necessary, as the meal was to celebrate a special occasion and quite frankly we were all still a little hungry - it did not disappoint, but then again, a creme brulee, sticky toffee pudding and chocolate brownies aren't exactly that taxing.
The place itself and the refurbishment looked wonderful. I just hope that the food doesn't continue to suffer at its expense. Had one of my friends visited the Carpenters this time on my recommendation, I would have been left a little embarrassed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cj922012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Anniversay meal, and you want it to be good, don't you.
And It certainly was, the service was kind, attentive and thoughtful.
The champagne had been properly chilled and served.
The food was fantastic. We went for the 5 course Gourmet meal for two and it was just awesome.
Canapés were presented and individually explained upon serving, very tasty.
Seafood Platter of Baked Queen Scallops, Mini Prawn Cocktail, Haddock Goujons & Smoked Salmon really got the taste buds excited as we tucked in.
Lemon Sorbet was really tasty and refreshing
Main course of Roasted Chateaubriand, Chunky Chips, Onion Rings, Confit Tomato, Rocket Salad Field Mushroom & Béarnaise was beautifully cooked, tender and very tasty.
Then, and thankfully, a bit of a break in service before the final course
A Plate of Puds - which was actually a large wooden platter just filled with a staggering array of sweet things - all delicious but too much to manage, although we did try!
One of the best meals we have every had.
Very relaxing, very high quality food, well done to everyone at the Carpenters Arms who made our meal so special.
The service in particular has improved over the last few months and it makes a big difference. Thank you.

Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah W, General Manager at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Simply delighted you enjoyed the Gourmet Menu and indeed your anniversary! Thrilled that you were able to describe (mouth wateriningly) each course in detail... always great to be remembered in the detail.
Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes
Deborah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

First visit in a long time. In fact we went twice once on the 18th august with our daughter and her partner, also was our wedding anniversary, then we was taken again, as a thank you on the 27th august, both times were very good. Was very impressed with what has been done to the restaurant. It has been opened up, plenty of room between the tables, a little dark at the far end, but rather romantic in a way. Will definitely go again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sallytomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah W, General Manager at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thanks for your lovely comments, we can't say fairer than "good food and good service"... we've addressed the dark corners, and now have some rather fetching angle lamps... though I have to agree, it's rather romantic to watch the sun go down from such a great vantage point!
Best wishes, Deborah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

First visit since new owners the decor is FABULOUS and the service was good and attentive. Food was very good but would have liked portions of vegetables served with the mains not just the token few underneath. It was disappointing when the main arrived it looked small and then too late to order vegetable sides. Wines were good. Toilets on ground level. Large carpark. 3 wanted sardines for starters only one portion left then one wanted sea bream for main and none left so a little disappointing. This was a lunch time visit. Creme Brulee a little sloppy for our taste. The huge extension makes it, not sitting on top of other tables.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BACNYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah W, General Manager at The Carpenters Arms, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thank you for your feedback, we're delighted you like new 'garden room' and pleased that the service was good. Disappointed that the daily specials had reached their end when you placed your order, however I hop you were offered a fish alternative? Perhaps the Queen Scallops with Garlic & Parsley Butter Gruyere & Cheddar Cheese...?
Do come and see us again soon - with lots of lovely fish dishes on the specials and A la Carte menu, we hope to satisfy your taste buds.
Best wishes, Deborah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carpenters Arms also viewed

Thirsk, North Yorkshire
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
 
Thirsk, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Carpenters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing