We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous luxury cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Thirsk, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bradcaz
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Fabulous luxury cottage”
Reviewed May 17, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This place is just beautiful. Very tastefully decorated and finishing touches were of a high standard. Jacuzzi very very clean as I know a lot of people worry about the cleanliness of them. We were too and were assured of how this is cleaned. I can concur that it is very very clean. Catherine is a lovely host. Doesn't bother the visit at all and states from the beginning that it's ok to knock at any point if we need anything. There's everything you need from dishwasher tablets to tea towels, everything. We will definatly be going back. Felt a sense of calm and refreshed. You won't be disappointed!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2016
Thank you for the lovely review. I am glad you all had a lovely relaxing stay. You were all a real pleasure to have staying and would certainly welcome you back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 16, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The furnishings are really modern. The hot tub was fantastic. The setting is beautiful.
Liked least: We loved everything.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 18, 2016
Thank you and glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
paulR6160...
County Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Chilled right out,just what the doctor ordered after a busy Christmas!!”
Reviewed January 6, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Hi I stayed here with my wife and 3 daughters aged 17,12, 11,and have to say just from emailing Catherine she couldn't have been more helpful and understanding,we arrived to Catherine waiting next to the cottage and showing us about and explaining how everything worked,she was lovely from the start and because it was new year we had champagne,fresh bread,chocolates ect and the cottage was lovely and warm,the WiFi worked great for the kids and Catherine and her husband lent us some 3d dvds and the glasses and even though we went over to there house to borrow them, they made us feel very welcome and Catherines husband fetched the dvds over within 10mins,we were in and out of the hottub all day and just felt totally at home and chilled out for the whole week,it wasn't just the hottub that was great,it was the cottage,the finishing touches and of course none of that would of happened without the lovely Catherine putting it all together to make your stay just perfect.so thank you Catherine and her family for giving us a wonderful holiday xxxx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it xx
Liked least: Having to come home xx
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2016
Thank you for the lovely review. Really glad you enjoyed your stay, you were a real pleasure to have stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lou65a
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Weekend for the girls”
Reviewed November 11, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

From the moment we booked, Catherine was excellent. She greeted us with a choice of wine, how very civilised showed us round and a quick run down of how to use the hot tub.
The cottage was beautifully fitted out, bedding crisp Cotten. The shower was a two large heads with side jets to walk into - gorgeous.
The kitchen equipment was excellent and we cooked each evening - dishwasher was very handy. If we had wanted to venture out there was a well resourced book telling us about pubs etc in local area plus taxi firms.
Hot tub was the reason for booking but the cottage was way above our expectations - already thinking about returning
If we had to be picky the Internet was not always brilliant but hey we were getting away from it.
Thank you Catherine your home is beautiful and relaxing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: Leaving so soon
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely comments , really appreciate your feedback. I apologise for the internet but I must admit it can be a bit on the slow side, I suppose we have got used to that living out in the sticks!
You were all a real pleasure to have stay and will welcome you back anytime. Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly L
1 review
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed September 28, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I stayed here in the farriers cottage with a group of friends for a 21st Catherine was amazing and couldn't of asked for better service the cottage itself was beautiful really big and everything you would need great hot tub and a great location with the town 5 minutes away! When we arrived the cottage was decorated with all balloons and banners it was more then what we expected and will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments. Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelUK2...
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing stay, would definitely recommend it”
Reviewed September 26, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Fantastic. Visited for a big birthday and couldn't have asked for more. The whole lodge felt newly decorated throughout and the hot tub was amazing. A truly peaceful week.

We arrived to a wonderful welcome basket and the host Catherine couldn't have been more helpful, even finding us jump leads for a car battery mishap! Would definitely visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments and really glad you enjoyed your stay. Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 22, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub!! (and The White Company diffuser in the bathroom smelt devine!!)
Liked least: There's nothing to not like!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2015
Thank you very much for the lovely comments and glad you found your stay relaxing.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing